Ronaldo's second goal today

• Ronaldo's second goal today

Anyone saw the genius in Ronaldo's goal o make it 4-0 over Bayern today? The Bayern goalkeeper and wall were expecting him to try to go over the wall as he has done so many times in his free kicks just outside the box. Well, Ronaldo kicked low and hard to beat the jumping wall as well as the goalkeeper with a shot that made its way on the ground to goal. Simply brilliant!

I was watching myself and looking for him to go to the top left hand corner. I have to say he had me fooled as well.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Can Chelsea score three?

I think they can.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Anyone saw the genius in Ronaldo's goal o make it 4-0 over Bayern today? The Bayern goalkeeper and wall were expecting him to try to go over the wall as he has done so many times in his free kicks just outside the box. Well, Ronaldo kicked low and hard to beat the jumping wall as well as the goalkeeper with a shot that made its way on the ground to goal. Simply brilliant!

I was watching myself and looking for him to go to the top left hand corner. I have to say he had me fooled as well.
        Tilla, really?!

Funny...I wonder what would have been said today if the wall had remained rooted to the ground and the free-kick was just another that hit the wall?

Anyway rolling the ball on the ground was deliberate. It worked. Shows thinking man took the free-kick!

btw - In the context of having tried going 'high' 5 previous times was it an obvious choice to switch to going 'low'?
          Just asking!

Good goal!

Maybe Ribbery...,but Bayern was schooled yesterday.

btw - In the context of having tried going 'high' 5 previous times was it an obvious choice to switch to going 'low'?
              Just asking!
              I am not sure if you watched it live as I did. Being familiar with Ronaldo's tendency to always score from that type of position, I was looking to see him hit it either of four ways. Either over the wall to the left or right corner where the GK had no chance, directly over the wall to the GK, or over the wall and the goal as he had done with three others. He had the GK and the entire defense fooled (myself included), when he hit on the ground under the jumping defensive wall.

I may have overreacted when I said it was a genius of a play. I was more surprised that he chose that route and was successful in scoring. It is quite likely he would have missed again had he decided to go over the defensive wall to hit goal.

You didn't overreact. It's the genius of Ronaldo. His arrogance and the audacity.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am not sure if you watched it live as I did. Being familiar with Ronaldo's tendency to always score from that type of position, I was looking to see him hit it either of four ways. Either over the wall to the left or right corner where the GK had no chance, directly over the wall to the GK, or over the wall and the goal as he had done with three others. He had the GK and the entire defense fooled (myself included), when he hit on the ground under the jumping defensive wall.

1. I was more surprised that he chose that route and was successful in scoring.

Was not surprised he went low. Would not be surprised if he had again gone high.

It was 50:50 on high or low attempt.
                  Now on number of flight-paths available for each (of high or low) that is a different matter.

...but given the previous occurrences on his free-kicks...if you were in his shoes, what would you have done there?

2. Genius?
                  Do not know about that but it shows he is a thinking player. He got lucky...but in a sense - he made his luck.

Good goal!
                  In the context of what occurred on his previous attempts, lovers of the game understand and appreciate his thinking/rationale for/on choosing to go for 'unda di waul'! - Good goal!

1. I was more surprised that he chose that route and was successful in scoring.

Was not surprised he went low. Would not be surprised if he had again gone high.

It was 50:50 on high or low attempt.
                    Now on number of flight-paths available for each (of high or low) that is a different matter.

...but given the previous occurrences on his free-kicks...if you were in his shoes, what would you have done there?

2. Genius?
                    Do not know about that but it shows he is a thinking player. He got lucky...but in a sense - he made his luck.

Good goal!
                    In the context of what occurred on his previous attempts, lovers of the game understand and appreciate his thinking/rationale for/on choosing to go for 'unda di waul'! - Good goal!
                    You sound confliXted like somebody I know.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You sound confliXted like somebody I know.
                      So I cannot see the logic behind what Ronaldo did...appreciate that thinking of Ronaldo yet consider that 'smart' persons (forget footballers...much less the specialized group of 'genius footballers'=TOP OF THE WORLD ballas to which Cristiano Ronaldo belongs) without being conflicted? ...or is it my thinking of Cristiano's action being logical that surprises you into thinking that I am conflicted?

OK, boss!

Aside: I guess you must have noticed the part speed...blinding speed (across ground, foot speed and speed of thought)...played in the game?

If you saw it then I guess you will see why BoyU and My GUNNERS are behind the 8th ball and each need to tremendous overhaul if we both wish to walk at the TOP OF THE WORLD!!! Right?

btw - Same goes for Chelsea! I hope the special one proves himself special and go with the young central defender and his pace over Terry or Cahill in today's Champions League match.

Sure he may lull Atletico Madrid to come down to his players needed defensive pace (as he got Liverpool to do)...but the 'fast Real Madrid' awaits!!!

...Bayern was schooled yesterday.
                        Yes they were!
                        Like Liverpool against Chelsea they could not breakdown and gain goals against a well organized Real Madrid defensive set up.

That 2 sets of defensive walls - 4 before 4 ...sometimes morphing into a back 5 or 6 or back 4 behind 5 or 6 --- brilliant! ...and this TOP OF THE WORLD energy and stamina and quickness (of speed across ground, feet and mind) looks like the new normal!!! God...I love this game!!!