Yorke 'completes Sunderland move'

• Yorke 'completes Sunderland move'

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh>Yorke 'completes Sunderland move' </DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV> <DIV class=cap>Yorke made his name with Aston Villa before joining Man Utd in 1998</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Sunderland have signed Dwight Yorke from Sydney FC for an undisclosed fee, according to the Australian club.

Sydney say Yorke has agreed a two-year deal with the Black Cats to become manager Roy Keane's first signing.

A Sunderland spokesman told BBC Sport the deal was not finalised but the club are confident it is one of several deals that will go through on Thursday.

Yorke, 34, and Keane were members of the United team that won the treble in 1999 before he left for Blackburn.

He also had a spell with Birmingham before captaining Sydney to the inaugural A-League title this year and played for Trinidad &amp; Tobago at the World Cup.

Sydney manager and former England captain Terry Butcher was keen to keep hold of the player who made his name with Aston Villa before earning a £12.6m move to Old Trafford.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sibStdQuote><DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV id=q1></DIV>He has great respect amongst the players and coaching staff and he will be missed <DIV id=q2></DIV><BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV class=mva>Sydney boss Terry Butcher</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>But ex-Sunderland boss Butcher admitted Yorke was still keen to prove he could do it "on the biggest stage".

He told the club's website: "It's sad to see Dwight leave. He is a great player and a tremendous personality to have in the team and he has worked very hard since I came to Sydney to be in shape to play.

"He has great respect amongst the players and coaching staff and he will be missed."

Yorke did not travel with his team-mates to Melbourne on Thursday and remained in Sydney in case he was needed for a medical or to sign relevant paperwork.

Sydney FC chairman Walter Bugno added: "Dwight Yorke has made an unbelievable contribution to Sydney FC and Australian football and we wish him nothing but luck in his new endeavours with Sunderland."
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

RE: Yorke 'completes Sunderland move'

This sounds like a disaster waiting to happen. Unless they are going to play him in def. mid forget about it. As great as he was in the World Cup it is a waste of a spot. - T.K.

I see yuh back to being a playa hater.

Not hatin' at all my friend. Dwight Yorke is one of the great players of his generation. At 34 however I am not sure what he is going to add to that team outside of the def. mid position he played in the WC. Even then I think you're talking about a player who is finished. Normally players who can contribute at those old ages are big bad bruisers like a Teddy Sheringham. - T.K.

T.K. (8/31/2006)This sounds like a disaster waiting to happen. Unless they are going to play him in def. mid forget about it. As great as he was in the World Cup it is a waste of a spot. - T.K.

Sheff Wed 0, Sunderland 2

Yorke 21, Hysen 45

TK - I can't see how you can say thatthis is a waste of a position. We don't know the terms under which Keane secured him, nor do we know the Keane's ultimate plans for the player. Any man who comes to a young rebuilding squad like Sunderland with the kind of big game experience that Yorke brings to the table can be a magnificent utility player.

I would wager that if you ask West Ham fans if they would want to see Teddy Sheringham go, most would say no. While it is inevitable that his career has to end, Sheringham (like Maldini)has proven that aging experienced players can have a role. When he came on for WH against Manure, he set up the goal that proved to be the winner in what was a huge win for the team. To be clear, I am not saying that signing Yorke is a GOOD signing or a BAD signing, but because I don't know the manager's motivation or purpose, so we have to wait to see the results.

Sheff Wed 0, Sunderland 2
              Yorke 21, Hysen 45
              Hortikal I just went to Sunderland's website and it shows that Dwight Yorke has more yellow cards than he has goals.(4 yellow cards, 2 goals)

On the positive side he has played in sixteen matches for the club which would suggest that he is contributing to the managers' liking so yes I would say that it is not the disaster I had predicted in the beginning. - T.K.

Paul Marin (1/20/2007)TK - I can't see how you can say thatthis is a waste of a position. We don't know the terms under which Keane secured him, nor do we know the Keane's ultimate plans for the player. Any man who comes to a young rebuilding squad like Sunderland with the kind of big game experience that Yorke brings to the table can be a magnificent utility player.

I would wager that if you ask West Ham fans if they would want to see Teddy Sheringham go, most would say no. While it is inevitable that his career has to end, Sheringham (like Maldini)has proven that aging experienced players can have a role. When he came on for WH against Manure, he set up the goal that proved to be the winner in what was a huge win for the team. To be clear, I am not saying that signing Yorke is a GOOD signing or a BAD signing, but because I don't know the manager's motivation or purpose, so we have to wait to see the results.
                As I said before normally forwards who have careers into their late thirties as players who are physically big and strong players. So we have no disagreement over Tedd Sheringham.

As for Dwight Yorke donman is donman. Nothing can take away from what he has accomplished in the game. He had a top notch WC and was THE MAN at Manchester United during his career.

My thoughts way back in August was that, notbeing abig bad bruiser of a targetforward, at his advanced age he physically would not be able to compete against the younger players. While he is not scoring goals (2 goals so far) he is playing regularly (16 games played) so it sounds like he was not the waste of an aquisition I had predicted in the beginning. A nuh nutten. I can admit when I am wrong.- T.K.