Liverpool's Raheem Sterling can be one of a rare breed
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostMy little rant here is just to have us recognize that talent abounds, and that players like Sterling and John Barnes got their very important starts kicking around some idle ball on the streets of Jamaica."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostThe only thing that would have failed Sterling in Jamaica is a kick and run high school competition. The skill was honed on the dust bowls of Maverley.
And preach it as you all may, I'm not one who believes that you suddenly become intelligent as you step on the MV Windrush, no matter what it's called these days.
You are correct!!!
The talent (potential ability) is always there.
...and that is one reason we know TALENT ABOUNDS! We also know that poor 'teaching' retards...or at the very least (we can say) does not assist in/on development of ABIDING TALENT!!!
In Jamaica many of our better players are overlooked year in, year out as they do not 'pop' enough to suit our ignorant scouts!!!
Although they have ABUNDANCE of TALENT they perform in a manner too mature (sensible) for the scouts to comprehend. They are too TEAM oriented and not enough 'tek im hoan' for the scouts liken of 'other qualities' . The scouts refrain - "boy can play"
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostThat's the problem Gamma - we have no systems to harvest the full potential.
The avenues to showcase skills are there...but the 'selectors' are ignorant and know not that they are ignorant!!!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I have to agree with you on that. We can claim the talent but it would be a stretch to claim any role in his football development.
The bigger question though is how many more like those are kicking around idle balls in the streets of Jamaica as we speak. Most likely there are at least a few in every generation."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
depends on what you knew about hi at 5. he moved when he moved. how much of an influence on him was football in the community before he moved?
true he has spent most of his life in england but would love to hear what he has to say on the topic.
Originally posted by Karl View PostOur system breaks down not as a result of competitive structure or expansion of the market-place/market...but the ignorance of our 'buyers'=administrators and coaches/teachers.
The avenues to showcase skills are there...but the 'selectors' are ignorant and know not that they are ignorant!!!"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Gamma View Postit is wasted precisely because the avenues are not there to develop the talent"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Raheem Sterling's Red-Hot Form Makes Him a Shoo-In for...
Hodgson's England.
In the end, Philippe Coutinho received the plaudits for Liverpool's vital 3-2 victory over Manchester City on Sunday, shifting the balance of the title race unmistakably toward Brendan Rodgers' Reds, but it was Raheem Sterling who stole the show in the first half.
The Queens Park Rangers academy product scored the opening goal after being slotted beyond the defensive line by Luis Suarez, and showed remarkable calmness to stutter, create a shooting angle and fire home with ease.
For him it was a landmark goal, not just because of the significance of the tie, but because of the position he was playing and the manner in which he scored.
Sterling has all the attributes of a "proper" winger: combining searing pace, short-area quickness, dribbling ability and a strong, dangerous cross to boot. But over the course of the last five weeks he's displayed he has more in his locker than a traditional No. 7 would, moving inside and heading the tip of a midfield diamond in a new, effective Liverpool system.
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2...dgsons-england"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Can it be maximised ? you put Fuller in the same position he probably would have dribbled back out of the box,or Shelton who would have probably raced out to the sideline.
Intelligence can be maximised.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by X View PostCan it be maximised ? you put Fuller in the same position he probably would have dribbled back out of the box,or Shelton who would have probably raced out to the sideline.
Intelligence can be maximised.
Maybe they would have tried a left foot shot, but that was covered for the most part. At the end of the day, they would have ruxed it out!