Raheem Sterling’s Shift To No.10 Role Gives Him Edge For Brazil
    By Aakriti Mehrotra on April 15, 2014 | Leave a Comment
    Raheem Sterling - Liverpool winger | Liverpool FC - The Rise, Fall And Future Of Raheem Sterling

Raheem Sterling should be no brainer for Hodgson as he finalizes his squad for Brazil as the Liverpool winger is showing his versatility by bossing the No.10 role
    There were more watchers for the Liverpool- Manchester City game than there have been for most of Liverpool’s matches. Even people who do not follow football religiously, tuned in, as they heard from their friends that a match which might tell where the title was headed, if it didn’t in fact seal the league down, was taking place on Sunday. And other rival fans also switched on their televisions to see the fate of this heavily awaited encounter which was going to take place at Anfield. The point is that even first time watchers might have seen what the Reds fans have been shouting out most of the season- Raheem Sterling should be on the plane to Brazil in the summer.

http://www.thehardtackle.com/2014/ra...dge-for-brazil

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

And who the hell are those?!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        That is both in defense and in attack. All our players in attacking midfield position slow like molasses especially those that many people rate as the best thing since bulla and cheese, to put him in that position and to get results is just amazing.
        Let's keep the discussion local. No need to bring up Fabregas here.

The only thing that would have failed Sterling in Jamaica is a kick and run high school competition. The skill was honed on the dust bowls of Maverley.

And preach it as you all may, I'm not one who believes that you suddenly become intelligent as you step on the MV Windrush, no matter what it's called these days.

Intelligence has to be honed, your degree wasn't given to you because of your good looks, you worked on that raw skill of abstract thinking.Same with Sterling that raw skill, pace and trickery was honed in the U. K.Its rare to find that intelligence in Jamaica as it is rare to find that skill in the U.K.
            Last edited by Sir X; April 15, 2014, 09:06 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The only thing that would have failed Sterling in Jamaica is a kick and run high school competition. The skill was honed on the dust bowls of Maverley.

And preach it as you all may, I'm not one who believes that you suddenly become intelligent as you step on the MV Windrush, no matter what it's called these days.
              What I think is holding us back - more than anything - is our inability to work within "systems". Have you ever seen anything in Jamaica work consistently according to a system or set of rules? When I was writing common entrance, a next youth in my class didn't even pass, BUT, come September, him find him ***** eena a seat at JC true him fada know 'so-and-so". Not that this is unique to Jamaica (hell, look at G.W. Bush), hardly so, but what we need is a cultural shift towards order. I remember as little boy when JOS used to run, being STAMPEDED by every kind of mankind when the bus would pull up to the stop. So many people would jam een to the bus that you would find your armpit mash 'gains' the glass...press so hard that me friend Blacka look white...like all the pigment get press out of him.

The point is that football development needs carefully crafted systems. In America, we have a football curriculum that in some states go all the way down to the U6 level. We have a system of certifications, nation-wide, all the way up to the professional level; from what I understand, we have that in Jamaica too...BUT, do we follow it? Maybe someone can tell me. From what I see here with ODP, most coaches in America do follow the curriculum (as modified by their clubs).

So, this is my long winded way of saying: Sterling becoming the fellow we see on the field today would have been a lllllllllllllllooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnng gggggggggggggg shot had he stayed in Jamaica. We leave a heap of raw material on the floor eeking out far too few gems. Until we can be consistent, organized and focused, we will continue to lose our talents to better organized countries.

I won't disagree. My little rant here is just to have us recognize that talent abounds, and that players like Sterling and John Barnes got their very important starts kicking around some idle ball on the streets of Jamaica. There are more doing the very same thing as we speak. Many of them won't migrate so they'll either be lost in the shytstem or become our promising stars at 24 years of age!

And you are correct. Jamaica is full of systems, rules and regulations. It's the implementation and monitoring of same...that's where we are lost! Not to mention the constant revision of the rules as administrations change.

So many people would jam een to the bus that you would find your armpit mash 'gains' the glass...
                I was wondering where have I smelt yuh before!

Such crock!

Stick to di ganja discussion.

Stop try showoff yuhself, because JOS bus neva used to run whey you come from.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I won't disagree. My little rant here is just to have us recognize that talent abounds, and that players like Sterling and John Barnes got their very important starts kicking around some idle ball on the streets of Jamaica. There are more doing the very same thing as we speak. Many of them won't migrate so they'll either be lost in the shytstem or become our promising stars at 24 years of age!

And you are correct. Jamaica is full of systems, rules and regulations. It's the implementation and monitoring of same...that's where we are lost! Not to mention the constant revision of the rules as administrations change.

Mo, what certification systems exist in Jamaica? Are they followed? Can anyone point me to the Jamaica football development curriculum?

How are individuals trained to meet the required intelligence levels for certification?

Is this a question for the Future Ganja Growers Association?

intelligence is innate ....

We leave a heap of raw material on the floor eeking out far too few gems = "abundant talent"?

You can apply it to any discipline, skill alone is nothing without a system to hone/harness intelligence, call it certification or degrees.