• Barcelona Masterclass

6-0 drop pon Athletico..

Some goal score deh.. I wonder what 'style' Barcelona playing..

Bucknor seh wi need a yard style..

If I see a yard goal dat match even ONE a dem Barca goal.. mi wear my Reggaeboyz shirt fi a month..

The Eto 1 -2 with Ronaldinho that leave 4 defender dead in the 18... the beautiful game... Commentator seh Dinho playing in a different DIMENSION..

Read, Recognize, React... how wi cross into that dimension ?

So often wi reach within striking distance and then...brain freeze..
    Last edited by Muadib; May 20, 2007, 05:02 PM.

In this day of 0 sec on the ball to react , what can Jamaica bring to the beautifull game?

Only a forgeiner knows how to utilize our speed, yes i said it ! Our only knowledge of that sphere is in the T&F department.

Our game is suited for 2 types of teams, French and Brazilian.We have to mold our style of play into that structure , it cannot be the reverse because we have no structure, in fact WE HAVE NO HISTORY OF STRUCTURE!

Our history is one of speedy wingbacks and wingers, that is something we have always relished.I saw them utilised under Clovis and Laza.

Under the Joker (C.B) he had us playing a direct game with an impotent Brukie boo FULLER running (with speed) as the lone striker no where .That tells you how we have used our speed.

Remember its the age of 0 sec on the ball to react or have it taken away from you.

3. Speed

Football has got massively faster. Players used to have two seconds on the ball, then one, then a half second. Over thrity years the time has reduced to the nothing of now. Ponder your next move for more than 0.1 seconds and it will be taken away by the opposition. Now, since the hard and fast English game has been combined with Europes top managers and trainers, the players have 0.1 seconds on the ball. They have no time at all. This is NOT a feature of English football, it is English football, again, leading the way in the development of world football.

The Premiership is the hardest league with the most competitive matches in the world. Everyone loves watching Stanley Mathews on the ball, Ian Callaghan, Steve Heighway, Kenny Dalglish. But these players had TIME. They had time to do all the fancy things that Valdano thinks should still be a part of football. They had time to think about doing them, and carry them out. Someone like Luis Garcia, or Steven Gerrard, or Harry Kewell DOESN’T have this time anymore. Watching Garcia execute his moves it like watching a gymnast on the parallel bars, singing god save the queen, balancing a plate of beans on a snooker cue and hopping!

These players move, think, twist, sway in the blink of an eye. It is the nearest think to perpetual motion. What they do is continually mobile football. They are in the air, or mobile when they get the ball, they change speed, direction, juggle around with the ball whilst moving and pass it perfectly to the next: But all within the flash of an eye. Not the two seconds that Valdano had. Football today, in England has the most skillful players EVER to grace football fields. We curse a lot when passes go astray, but these passes and made under intense pressure from defenders, in a split second. The passes are extremely risky. All the skill Valdano talks about (nutmegs etc) are all still carried out in British football, they are done so fast, that people like Valdano can be forgiven for blinking and missing them. But the Anfield faithful see them, which makes the next comments all the more insulting:

Enough said

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I take it that both of you (heX and Maudib) are not comparing Barcelona with your REGGAE BOYz.
      That you are merely muttering to yu'seff.
      Yes??

We simply need teachers on the island
        to teach us how to play the game of football. Whilst Prof.Simoes was here, the balance of power was shifted in this region. The Brasilians are now gone we are back to our old selves (the US knocking us around with T&T joining the fray) and talking a lot of crap too (about the failure of the Brasilians). By watching games around the world our football look like a pick up game between two communities.I think the corporations in Ja should pick one club finance it as professional unit (with youth team and all) send it to play in central america or start a caribbean cup this way all the islands will get the experience of travel and preparation for away games. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL CAN NEVER BEAT MEXICO.

Is there something wrong in comparing the class between the two and how far the RBYZ has to go ?

You could also make the comparison of what value a local coach ala C.B would bring to Barcelona or what value a Barcelona coach ala Rijkard would bring to the Rbyz ?

I am sure C.B with his proven track record of success in Jamaica and the womens league he would make a life long impression on Barca and Rijkard would probably do the same for the RBYZ.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I wonder if it is understood that movement is not only to provide the means to receive the ball ?

Passing into space only works if more than one person recognizes the weak point.. How did Ronaldinho KNOW that Eto KNEW where to pass the ball.. both recognized the weakness in the formation at the same time but more specifically under the pressure situation of being inside the 18 yard box...

Is our Football Structure designed to aspire towards that level of ball ?

Do we laud such performances as the essense of the game.. or are our highlight films comprised of individual displays of trickery...

Why are you able to recognize this while it appears that our coaches and players can't/don't?

Are you Brazilian, Maudib?

It is impossible that they do not recognize this..

The problem HAS to be in tranferring the knowledge or the IMPORTANCE of such knowledge..

Why are you able to recognize this while it appears that our coaches and players can't/don't?

Are you Brazilian, Maudib?
                  I wonder if American Football might not help in bringing across the point.

In american football only 1 player can receive the ball on a typical play.. there are certain exceptions.. you can pass the ball backwards any number of times.. but only 1 FORWARD pass is allowed per play and given the speed of today's game.. multiple backward passes are few and far between

The sole purpose of the other 10 players is to SETUP for the most effective result from the play.. focus is placed on movement, positioning, blocking, patterns to create throwing lanes and EMPTY spaces in zones.. to the casual observer it looks like chaos but each player has specific instructions and the successful ones are those that can follow those instructions and READ, RECOGNIZE and REACT the fastest..