Paul Marin

• Paul Marin

Can I have your honest view on the progress of Liverpool's young left back please. Thanks in advance

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
    Can I have your honest view on the progress of Liverpool's young left back please. Thanks in advance
    Touch: 5 (Not good enough)
    Passing: 8 (Excellent, clean and flat on the ground)
    Decision Making: 5 (I maybe being a bit harsh here)
    Responsiveness: 3 (pathetic, doesn't react quickly enough, ball watcher too often - but getting better)
    Cover (for defender taking on the attacker): 5 (too slow to cover the dangerous spaces)
    In the Air: 2 (joke actually)
    Attacking - Wing play: 2 (Can't cross the ball to save his life, can't get down the wing)
    Attacking-1v1:
    - 2 (Really poor)
    Defending-Tackling: 9 (Excellent - this is his strength)
    Defending-Delay: 9 (Excellent)
    Work rate: 8
    Speed: 5 (Not fast enough, no way a Cafu)
    Comment: He has improved, much credit to the manager and his work rate. His value is in his tackling and ability to play both on the left or right without major adjustment. He is slow to react (go look at Corzola's goal in the FA Cup clash). His decision making and slow reaction speed are my biggest concerns. Rodgers tried to lend him out at the beginning of the season, but there were no takers. Irony is that Wisdom, Robinson and Kelly were all taken and considered better prospects for the future than Flano.

Any questions?

Ask him bout Lucas, Henderson,Skertel and Johnson...dis bredda wid im deadwood quandry...lol

5th columnist.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Responsiveness: 3 (pathetic, doesn't react quickly enough, ball watcher too often - but getting better)
        Cover (for defender taking on the attacker): 5 (too slow to cover the dangerous spaces)
        Attacking - Wing play: 2 (Can't cross the ball to save his life, can't get down the wing)
        Attacking-1v1:
        - 2 (Really poor)
        Comment: He has improved, much credit to the manager and his work rate. His value is in his tackling and ability to play both on the left or right without major adjustment. He is slow to react (go look at Corzola's goal in the FA Cup clash). His decision making and slow reaction speed are my biggest concerns. Rodgers tried to lend him out at the beginning of the season, but there were no takers. Irony is that Wisdom, Robinson and Kelly were all taken and considered better prospects for the future than Flano.

Any questions?
        Great assessment...save you do realize that his lack of pace and his often mistimed tackles makes him, at this level, a 3 on defending...and defense is where he plays.

Everytime...just about everytime ManCity came down the right he was a problem. Just could not get up on his man quick enough...or cover/provide support quickly enough.

Great against teams slow down his side.

Attacking-1v1:
          - 2 (Really poor)

Any questions?
          Thanks for your assessment ahh bwoy!!

Ask him bout Lucas, Henderson,Skertel and Johnson...dis bredda wid im deadwood quandry...lol
            5th columnist.
            Go ahead, ask me. How about I ask you about this? Traitor. You team get a proper beating today. Wait, now you want to jump back pon the Liverpool wagon? Sorry, it don't work so. Turncoat.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
              Thanks for your assessment ahh bwoy!!
              Dunny - let me be clear. I am not saying he can't improve, but this is how I see it. If you were to have asked BR who of his young defenders he would have liked to have kept (and not loaned out), it would have been any of the other three and not Flano. There is no doubt he has improved, but I don't think you will see him as a starter next season. I may be wrong on that though. Who knows? He certainly wouldn't be my first choice out of the available options. No way is Flano better than Kelly, Wisdom or Robinson. But hey, the future is there to be had. Good luck to the lad.

Great assessment...save you do realize that his lack of pace and his often mistimed tackles makes him, at this level, a 3 on defending...and defense is where he plays.

Everytime...just about everytime ManCity came down the right he was a problem. Just could not get up on his man quick enough...or cover/provide support quickly enough.

Great against teams slow down his side.
                Karl, his mistimed tackles are imo due to his lack of responsiveness...it is like he has some form of autism as there is a delay between an event and his reaction to it. Carzola, the Villa game (I believe) and back a few years, the 1-0 loss to Sunderland at Anfield. Same issue. That said, Flano has the 3rd most tackles in the prem. It is his strength and why I gave him high marks on that front.

Thorough assessments.

Karl, his mistimed tackles are imo due to his lack of responsiveness...it is like he has some form of autism as there is a delay between an event and his reaction to it. Carzola, the Villa game (I believe) and back a few years, the 1-0 loss to Sunderland at Anfield. Same issue. That said, Flano has the 3rd most tackles in the prem. It is his strength and why I gave him high marks on that front.
                    OK!
                    Here is what I do: I add lower weight to performances against the TEAMs out of the top 6 except there is a need because the league is 'that good'.

This season's EPL has only 5 top teams. Number 6, Spurs, has too many weak areas...and underperforming players.

OK!
                      Here is what I do: I add lower weight to performances against the TEAMs out of the top 6 except there is a need because the league is 'that good'.

This season's EPL has only 5 top teams. Number 6, Spurs, has too many weak areas...and underperforming players.
                      I need a computer program to do that kind of analysis, fi mi brain too ol' fi do dat deh type of analysis!!!

yuh luv mek joke pan yuhself eennnh?

1st Flanno is a right back being used as a left back,then make an assesment.He is competing with Glen Johnson, basically he is a back up right back our left back is out injured.He is doing a damm good job as a left back and it bodes well for his defensive experience to be doing an A class job.

5th columnist reasoning.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

1st Flanno is a right back being used as a left back,then make an assesment.He is competing with Glen Johnson, basically he is a back up right back our left back is out injured.He is doing a damm good job as a left back and it bodes well for his defensive experience to be doing an A class job.

5th columnist reasoning.
                            Shows how much you know; you should stick to reasonings about your own team. Flannagan is BOTH a left and right back. He is NOT a right back playing as a left back. It is FACT (like the fact below) that Flano is equally effective in both positions which is what makes him more than an anomaly. Secondly, it is also FACT that Rodgers, yes, the same one you said "didn't have a clue", the same one that you asked how we could "rate this bredda", tried to lend him out but got no takers. It is also FACT that you are a turncoat, not a Liverpool fan, and I will NEVER let you come on here and gwaan like what you said below can be easily forgotten. You call me 5th columnist when the board is littered with your undermining of all things Liverpool that is not Rafa, KD or Tomkins-driven. I told you not to listen to that idiot. Keep your waggonist ways away from my reds. Since you left, we have done very well thank you. Don't come back, all you can do is bring we down.

Nice spin with your reasoning ...Xpected....right back.