• Mourinho's plan pays off against MAN U

Mourinho's plan pays off
    By Phil McNulty
    Chief football writer at Wembley

A war of attrition suited Chelsea - and United went along with it to help engineer their own downfall

Jose Mourinho made no secret of the trap he set for Manchester United - and Sir Alex Ferguson will be eternally frustrated that his side fell straight in and watched a domestic Double disappear.

The first FA Cup final at new Wembley was a mostly dreadful spectacle played out between two teams whose exaggerated respect for each other ruined the hopes of a classic being played out at English football's new £757m home.

In fact, the first 45 minutes was so bad that it had an almost ghoulish fascination as the watching world pondered how players of such quality could be so poor.

The rest was an improvement, but Mourinho's trademark brutal honesty almost revealed that it was all part of his plan.

A stand-off suited Chelsea. A dour affair suited Chelsea. A slow-motion game suited Chelsea. A war of attrition suited Chelsea.

And United went along with it to help engineer their own FA Cup final downfall.

Mourinho put his cards on the table as he said: "We know the way they play and we didn't give them that game. We didn't give them the game they wanted us to give them.

"I asked the players whether they wanted to enjoy the game or enjoy after the game. They told me they wanted to enjoy after the game.

"During the game it was not very enjoyable because the players had to think about many tactical points to control the opponents. It was not easy because you get tired, not just physically but mentally."

Chelsea's Mikel (left) was a dominant force in midfield
    Mourinho's plan worked to perfection and Chelsea's fans were not complaining about a lack of entertainment as they departed Wembley in delight.

Chelsea had the game's big players, and it was no surprise they were in defence as Michael Essien demonstrated he is only slightly less outstanding at centre-back than he is in midfield.

Paulo Ferreira had clearly been singled out as a weak link by United but coped superbly.

And Mikel Jon Obi showed what all the fuss was about when Chelsea and United conducted an unseemly scrap for his services.

The young giant prowled midfield, controlling play in a manner that belied his inexperience and showing a strength on the ball United found difficult to combat.

When Mikel adds reliable distribution to his other qualities, he will be world-class.

And up front, Didier Drogba fought a lone battle that made him a deserved match winner.

United, in contrast, looked jaded, listless, and played to a mystifying game plan.

Their trademark high tempo was missing and they seemed content to slow the game down and engage in long spells of sparring with Chelsea.

It was a tactic that suited Chelsea rather than United and reduced the effectiveness of Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney and Ryan Giggs.

Rooney tried to spark United, but Ronaldo and Giggs looked like tired men at the end of a long season.

606: DEBATE
    The predictable Premiership needs Mourinho in all his divisive, mischief-making, rabble-rousing glory

BBC Sport's Phil McNulty
    Mourinho's style may have its critics, but if the point of his reign is to win trophies he is almost beyond reproach.

Chelsea's style is sometimes not easy on the eye, but is brilliantly effective when it comes to success.

Mourinho outsmarted Ferguson tactically at Wembley and deserves full credit - as do his Chelsea players.

Chelsea raised themselves after the bitter disappointment of losing a Champions League semi-final on penalties to Liverpool and seeing United take their Premiership title.

Mourinho labelled himself "The Special One" - and he has injected a special resilience into a side that just deserved to claim the FA Cup.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Fergie Cries Penalty and the Boys jump in

FA Cup final - Chelsea 1-0 Man Utd

Ferguson felt fatigue was a factor in Man Utd's defeat

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson said his team were denied a clear penalty in the FA Cup final defeat by Chelsea at Wembley.

He felt Michael Essien fouled Ryan Giggs in extra time, stopping the winger having a chance on goal.

Ferguson said: "It's a penalty. To lose a game and see that is disappointing.
    "I think the pressure Jose Mourinho put on the referee before the game has certainly worked and I'm disappointed at that."

Interview: Carlos Queiroz
    Interview: Manchester United captain Ryan Giggs

In the build-up to the game Chelsea boss Mourinho had called for referee Steve Bennett not to be fooled by any diving or 'provocative tactics'.

Essien challenged Giggs as the Welshman slid in to try and get on the end of a Wayne Rooney cross.

Giggs' effort was straight at Chelsea keeper Petr Cech, who appeared to carry the ball over the line as the United player collided into him.

It has been exceptional what my players have been through - we just couldn't cross the line

Sir Alex Ferguson

Ferguson added: "It's a penalty kick. Then the goalkeeper's spilled the ball behind the line.
    "I think it would have been a difficult one for the linesman to call but the referee should be in a better position.
    "We couldn't see where we were but when I see it now it's a penalty."

Giggs felt that Bennett the referee should have given a goal.
    He said: "It was clearly over the line - that's what I was asking for. I could see it was over the line and the referee didn't give a free-kick so it was a goal.

"I felt I was getting to the ball quite comfortably and felt someone touch my leg.

"But I was claiming for the goal not the penalty.

"We're disappointed obviously. The big decisions didn't go for us and if you don't get the big decisions it is going to be hard for you.

"The referees are picked on merit and how they perform throughout the season.

"The FA Cup is a big occasion and you want the referees to get the big decisions right. They are only human and sometimes they get them wrong but in the Cup final you hope they get them right and today they didn't.

It is a clear penalty, there is no doubt about that

Carlos Queiroz

United assistant Carlos Queiroz also felt that Bennett's decision-making was affected by Mourinho's comments.

He went on: "In some moments we created the better opportunities and we had chances.
    "But unfortunately come the crucial moment in the game the referee missed the most important decision but we are not surprised by that.

"It is a clear penalty, there is no doubt about that. We are not surprised because after the pressure of the last 15 days it is natural the referee under pressure is not able to make the crucial decision of the game.

"The more pressure you put on referees the more it seems like some teams and some managers become compensated in the game because nobody does anything about that.

"We could see that pressure gave a big reward to Chelsea."
    Ferguson blamed tiredness for his side's below-par display in the first FA Cup final back at Wembley.

"There was a bit of tiredness. The number of games they played eventually gets to them. It was the same for both teams but I think in two or three positions we were tired," he said.

"The pitch was slow, maybe that didn't help but, from our point of view, we were tired.

"There was nothing between the two sides. Neither deserved to win or lose and we are disappointed we have lost.
    "It has been exceptional what my players have been through - we just couldn't cross the line."

Giggs added: "We played well. It was two very good teams but we probably edged it with possession and chances."
    Last edited by Karl; May 20, 2007, 08:30 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Giggs added: "We played well. It was two very good teams but we probably edged it with possession and chances."
      __________________..LOLOLLOLOL

Alves is next!

Bayern confirm sale of Hargreaves

Hargreaves is expected to sign a four-year deal with Man Utd

Bayern Munich have agreed to sell Owen Hargreaves to Manchester United.
        Club president Franz Beckenbauer told German TV: "Owen is leaving. That was the player's wish. It's a good match and it's also a good deal financially."
        Beckenbauer said the transfer fee was "around" £17m - which would be a record for a Bundesliga player.
        Hargreaves, 26, has been at Bayern for 10 years but after starring for England at the World Cup last year, he admitted he wanted to play in the Premiership.
        606: DEBATE

Considering the money Chelsea paid for Makelele and the fact Hargreaves is younger - a very good buy for Man Utd

leeroy19

United quickly moved to open negotiations with Bayern and made offers in the summer transfer window and in January but the German club refused to sell - until now.
        Hargreaves, who played only nine league games for Bayern this season because of injury, is expected to sign a four-year deal with the newly-crowned Premiership champions.
        His career in Germany ended in disappointment when Bayern finished fourth in the Bundesliga, thereby missing out on Champions League qualification.
        Writing in his column for the BBC Sport website, Hargreaves admitted the club "can never afford not to qualify for the Champions League". His transfer is therefore likely to be the first stage of an overhaul at the club, with chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge promising to carry out "brutal and ruthless" changes to the team. Sunday's newspaper reports suggested Bayern could use the funds from Hargreaves' sale to buy Chelsea winger Arjen Robben.

One on one, everytime.....we can turnover Man U......We'll have love ah Champion league with dem.
          "Stand in love, don't fall in love" Stephen Marley

Karl will be happy to know that the horrible game we all saw yesterday was really great tactics by Mourinho. I still say it was an awful game and had I recorded it, it would have been immediately erased.

Jose can talk now but ManU could easily have been the victors and in fact, when one looks back at the game, it is clear that ManU had the better opportunities at goal, so all this revisionist crap that Jose a come wid...sure, him win, so he can claim that his brilliant tactics paid off. I say CRAP! The luckier team won an awful display of football.

It was indeed a penalty. Could not be a goal as Giggs pushed the goalie over the line. But he was fouled by Essien.

Then again, it could all come down to the great tactics by Jose Mourinho.

sigh

it was definitely good tactics by Mourinho. Slow down the game. Ensure that Manu is not allowed to play their free flowing football that will cause serious problems for their defense.

Does it guarantee a win? no
                Certainly gives them a better chance.

It would have been good tactics if it were true. It was Chelsea's Shawn Wright Phillips, Arjen Robben and Joe Cole who tried to take the game to the opponent, so I don't buy that rot one bit!

Both sides were trying to prevent the other from playing because they played cagily. And, like I said earlier, ManU had the chances.

It was just a boring and terrible display of defensive anti-football.

if what were true. The man clearly told them to crowd the midfield and play a cautious game.

Yes, but I'm saying they didn't even do that well. ManU could have come away with a victory, but because they didn't then Jose (and you) can say, see, the tactics worked.

Had Chelsea really executed the tactics well, ManU would not have found themselves in so many scoring situations.

12 shots, 4 on goal in 120 minutes of football defending against Manchester United.

Sound like the tactics worked.

Karl will be happy to know that the horrible game we all saw yesterday was really great tactics by Mourinho. I still say it was an awful game and had I recorded it, it would have been immediately erased.

Jose can talk now but ManU could easily have been the victors and in fact, when one looks back at the game, it is clear that ManU had the better opportunities at goal, so all this revisionist crap that Jose a come wid...sure, him win, so he can claim that his brilliant tactics paid off. I say CRAP! The luckier team won an awful display of football.
                          The official report on the game as carried on FSW also claimed it was a horrible game. So you have good company.

I do not think it was horrible. Certainly in the context of what it takes to play at TOP OF THE WORLD - Players with great technical ability. Excellent tactical play...the displays by Makelele, Essien, Mikel & Scholes (excluding his mistimed challenges), etc. - much was on display.

It would be extremely important for our coaches and players to take note of effort at 'protecting the ball'/denying the opposition ball possession. It is still not yet understood(?)/appreciated by our players and coaches how much...how great a part, "not giving the ball to the opposition" plays in garnering successes at the very highest levels. The lengths players (each team) went to deny the opponent possession was impressive.

The official report on the game as carried on FSW also claimed it was a horrible game. So you have good company.

I do not think it was horrible. Certainly in the context of what it takes to play at TOP OF THE WORLD - Players with great technical ability. Excellent tactical play...the displays by Makelele, Essien, Mikel & Scholes (excluding his mistimed challenges), etc. - much was on display.

It would be extremely important for our coaches and players to take note of effort at 'protecting the ball'/denying the opposition ball possession. It is still not yet understood(?)/appreciated by our players and coaches how much...how great a part, "not giving the ball to the opposition" plays in garnering successes at the very highest levels. The lengths players (each team) went to deny the opponent possession was impressive.
                            But Karl, what do you really expect at this level? I expect to see great technical ability. I expect to see them protecting the ball/denying the opposition ball possession. That was not at the highest level, by the way. What we did not see often enuff was great passing and ball control in tight situations. There were a couple occasions of course - when the goal scored was one. The shooting was atrocious for the most part. I could go on.

Poor game in every way for me. We'll have to wait for Liverpool and AC Milan to show you how good football is played.

Give me an ugly win any day over a pretty lost, especially when it is in a game which matters.

Gwaan Blues!!
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran