To my Manchester United colleagues

The most consistent midfielder we have is Carrick,he is at his best when paired with Kagawa.
    Fletcher is deserving of a free pass bit that Jones,Cleveely AND mata have not impressed as Kawaga..
    He is a sure starter....

There are a few changes that occurred that you may have missed.Bayern first half display. wasn't replicated in the second.With two regular starters ruld ineligible for the rematch,Bayern will not be at its best.
      Welbeck seems to be at an advantage.
      Three crucial changes and game two will be a completely different ballgame.

BoyU - They fought and fought and fought...
        Great goal by Vidic!

My condolences on your pending demise.
        Come on...truth be told BoyU were outplayed on massive scale...save in goals.
        Karl, I don't know if agree that they were "outplayed on a massive scale". They did what they had to do and knew that Bayern had them licked for speed and were happy to give possession to the Germans. Wellbeck, Rooney, Kagawa, Rio, Carrick and De Gea were all good except that Wellbeck should have rounded Neuer instead of going for the fancy finish. That would have been a big goal that they SHOULD have had.

Well...we shall see?
          Bayern, I think, were playing as if 'not too concerned'.
          I think they have this BoyU team's numba!
          ...by 2, 3 or 4 or wider margins.

Why 2 and 3 goal margins mentioned? They may play just as 'not too concerned' after scoring 2 i.e. after 2 'taking foot' off the gas'.

Today they 'cruized'...or put another way 'idled'!
          That is a dangerous game as Vidic's goal and Welbeck's miss/'harder to miss than score' underlined!

the fact is though, Manu have too much injury prone/red card defenders. You never can start two back to back game with the same back four. Rio/vidic/evans/jones/smalling/Raphael all missed a big chunk of the season. You the Rio/Vidic paring on a good day. Like or not Fellani is a lot better than the beginning of the year.

Van Persie and Rooney pairing can't get started. With two good defenders. Moyes getting a hold of his team.

Karl, I don't know if agree that they were "outplayed on a massive scale". They did what they had to do and knew that Bayern had them licked for speed and were happy to give possession to the Germans. Wellbeck, Rooney, Kagawa, Rio, Carrick and De Gea were all good except that Wellbeck should have rounded Neuer instead of going for the fancy finish. That would have been a big goal that they SHOULD have had.
              Tell the truth, not too upset with Wellbeck. Not afraid to big up the keeper for that save. People can talk that we got balled, I say it time and again, possession nuh win football match. There are certain teams you have to admit will keep the ball, Barca and Bayern are 2 of those teams.

Now, lets hope for a 2-2 tie next week.

The problem as I saw it was, Bayern had the cruise-control on.
                They had the possession but never turned on the 'after burners' to exploit openings. ...as fact many were the 1st and 2nd runs/jogs and the ball was turned back rather than applying the 'killer pass' touch.

It could be argued that Bayern shall come with the same approach in the return on their grounds. I do not think that shall be the case. I expect hard/firm=more aggressive players, rapid attacks at high pace coupled with the same %age possession game.

I think their replacement players will fill the breach left by their players out...and with no 'let-down' on quality play.

I did not complain about Fellaini in the three previous games,hw did decent in those.He was lousy today though.
                  Throughout the game Fellaini was marking the invisible twelfth player,even the goal that Bayern scored..

I think he walk on that goal but other than that I think he did a fairly decent job, fighting and going for every ball in the middle. That has been one of Manu's biggest weakness for most of the season.

The problem as I saw it was, Bayern had the cruise-control on.
                      They had the possession but never turned on the 'after burners' to exploit openings. ...as fact many were the 1st and 2nd runs/jogs and the ball was turned back rather than applying the 'killer pass' touch.

It could be argued that Bayern shall come with the same approach in the return on their grounds. I do not think that shall be the case. I expect hard/firm=more aggressive players, rapid attacks at high pace coupled with the same %age possession game.

I think their replacement players will fill the breach left by their players out...and with no 'let-down' on quality play.
                      Manu**'s challenge will be to have the self-belief to go to Allianz and get the right result. This is what seems to be missing most - confidence. Any professional team can rise to the occasion if they can dig deep into their psyche and extract the necessary confidence to deliver. Slurgie, for all his warts and tiefin, knew how to get average players to do this...and don't forget, Bayern will NEVER forget the 1999 Champions League final. Never. If I was Moyes, I would be talking up that game all day long. But, don't mistake this for me giving a sh*t.

Maybe the replacement for the goal scorer would have scored today.
                        If Bayern had our chances they would have scored.
                        Let see,the did all that work and decided to take their foot off the pedal at that crucial moment.
                        No,what you saw is the result of Man U having a stellar defensive unit on the day,Robben was largely contained,to unlock our defense Bayern decided to pass the ball around more.
                        Even veteran Ribery was guilty of making a pass too many.
                        We have a few surprises to unleash on Pep in the upcoming game.

Well...we shall see?
                          Bayern, I think, were playing as if 'not too concerned'.
                          I think they have this BoyU team's numba!
                          ...by 2, 3 or 4 or wider margins.

Why 2 and 3 goal margins mentioned? They may play just as 'not too concerned' after scoring 2 i.e. after 2 'taking foot' off the gas'.

Today they 'cruized'...or put another way 'idled'!
                          That is a dangerous game as Vidic's goal and Welbeck's miss/'harder to miss than score' underlined!
                          Stop yuh foolishness Karl!!! Cruise where? Give credit where it is due. For the entire 90 minutes, which of the 2 teams had the clearer chances?

There were numerous times he was guilty of doing it,less obvious likely because no goals resulted..
                            It is mind boggling because he made a difference(Powering force) when he chose to tackle....

Rocky, while I agree that Kagawa needs to get more games, I can't recall him being "paired" with Carrick. That "pairing" makes no sense.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I felt a muscle contract coming on in my fingers as I am about to type.

David Moyes got the tactics and the team selection right yesterday. My team was very organized and you could see the level of concentration on the players faces. Karl, they were not outplayed as you put it. There were two distinct tactics being employed by the two coaches. DM took the prudent tactic of defending and keeping the team organized while leaving Danny Welbeck up front for the counter. It made no sense trying to go toe-to-toe with Bayern who has the better technical players. Murinho utilized this tactic many times in the past with several of his teams to win trophies. DM should also get credit for selecting the two most senior CB at the club and using a tactic to protect them. Rafael is too prone to getting himself injured and carded. He has fallen back in his development in my opinion. Funny enough I saw his twin making those same rash challenges the other day, so I guess it's simply genetics. Butner had a great game and performed better at restricting Robben than when Evra played against him. We may have to start reconsidering his future at LB. Danny Welbeck was a terror to Bayern's backline, but he needs to work with a strike coach about maintaining his composure in front of goal. Overall a very good performance by my side.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015