Regarding Sunderland Star!

• Regarding Sunderland Star!

Massive this is 2007, approximately one year before qualifying for 2010 begins and almost 10 years removed from the 1998 World Cup we played in. We have all argued and fought many battles among ourselves here, but I believe that we may all agree that at this present time, with the state of our football and the quality of the present squad, we NEED a lot of help if we are going to enjoy any suucces this time around.

Our football from the administration level all the way down to U-15 is certainly in poor health and may need some CPR soon.

I am also against the Marcus Gayle type player because I believe that once a player is in our squad, he should fight and defend the colors like Paul Bogle and Tacky! With that said, I think we should give this youth a chance especially because his situation seems different.

I have never seen him play, but here is a player that has been playing in the lower leagues, gained promotion to the Premiership, has seemingly matured into a top quality defender and may be on the verge of an England call up, but without flinching, is boldly stating that he wants to play for Jamaica.

I say we call him up immediately and hand him a shirt for the Chile game...and to anyone with doubts, only God knows how much we need a defender. Stew peas should not be called up again until he attends anger management courses and correct his wild on field plays, Claude Davis needs to not feel as if we can't do without him and we need a right back.
    Last edited by Karl; May 18, 2007, 12:10 PM.

Who said this player is about to get an England callup? Apart from the player himself, has anyone said so?

If true, this would be a first. Not sure if any of our UB players would have chosen Jamaica over England if really faced with that choice.

Better safe than sorry...

If he turns out to be a Marcus Gayle type then him can sit on the bench or be dropped.. nuff time to ascertain that the sooner we put him to the test..

Maybe he will turn out to be a Lawrence or Burton type.. Marcus Gayle is not the wost type either.. Walter Boyd types are even scarier..

Indiscipline aside, Walter Boyd is one of the best things to have ever happened to ReggaeBoyz football...period!! To stay at a distance and mention him in the same context with Marcus Gayle is a dis-service and disrespect to one one the most gifted players Jamaica has ever produced.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I don't think anyone is dissing Boyd's quality as a player. But wi tiyad fi see good players who don't amount to much. Want me to start naming a few?

If the brain rattles around in the cranium, then all the football quality in the world will amount to naught.

Who said this player is about to get an England callup? Apart from the player himself, has anyone said so?

If true, this would be a first. Not sure if any of our UB players would have chosen Jamaica over England if really faced with that choice.
            Mosiah, tell me this, what harm is there be in giving this player an opportunity to prove himslef to the national coaching staff? It appears to me that Nosworthy should be given credit for declaring himself available long before the qualification rounds start, instead of waiting until we have only two games and one point needed to make the finals.

How quickly we forget that one Deon Burton's run of 4 back to back goal contributed significantly to our France'98 qualification. Who can doubt the Jamaican fighting spirit of FitZ simpson on teh field, or the hard work of Paul Hall. Lets be fair to these guys
            Last edited by Reggae-Fan; May 18, 2007, 01:18 PM.
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Lawks! Have you read what I said earlier? I don't have a problem with him trying out for the side. I just hope this won't start a rush by the JFF for everybody dat half way smell like ackee and saltfish! And I hope these players take us seriously (ok, that's difficult, I admit, with Boxhill et al) and not just use us to get to South Africa or build some international career.

It is a positive that he has declared his hand "so early", so that's good.

What I would like to see is, now that most of the international leagues are done or winding down, all our international players return home to give the coach a chance to see them play.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

So why was he missing in action in the latter stages if him is one of the best things to have ever happened to Reggaeboyz ???

The man seh.. 'Indiscipline aside...'

Indiscipline.. the bane of Jamaica society... aside..

Ah Bwoy..

If 40 'Jamaicans' in the Diapsora made themselves available you probably woulda doo-doo..

What a dilema that would be for some peoples psyche....

Jamaicans abroad penalized because the system in Jamaica is effed up.. double whammy !

I said anything about a quota?

From what I saw in the
                        red stripe semis (didn't even bother with the finals) on FSC. We could even go to D2 in England and make a decent squad. Our local football is in very serious trouble. For those who tape the game: Watch 1970 WC and come back to the semis and lokk for some stark similarities. Mi done talk.