• Oxlade-Chamberlain and Gibbs cleared

Oxlade-Chamberlain and Gibbs cleared

24 March 2014*Updated 18:20 GMT

Arsenal's Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Kieran Gibbs have both been cleared after Gibbs was mistakenly sent off in*Saturday's 6-0 defeat to Chelsea.

A Football Association panel decided that referee Andre Marriner not only dismissed the wrong player, but that Oxlade-Chamberlain's goal-line handball did not deserve a red card.

http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/26711403

Hmmm...interesting developments, huh, PAUL MARIN!

Oxlade-Chamberlain and Gibbs cleared

24 March 2014*Updated 18:20 GMT

Arsenal's Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Kieran Gibbs have both been cleared after Gibbs was mistakenly sent off in*Saturday's 6-0 defeat to Chelsea.

A Football Association panel decided that referee Andre Marriner not only dismissed the wrong player, but that Oxlade-Chamberlain's goal-line handball did not deserve a red card.

http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/26711403
      The the old farts in the game should bring in technology, all of this wouldn't be necessary. Not certain bout the did not deserve a red card. Is it because they figured the ball was going out? Well, the player didn't
      know that and the ref would have no way of knowing that.

"but that Oxlade-Chamberlain's goal-line handball did not deserve a red card.

a Miss Pusey hand down that judgment....
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mi nuh care! This and Suarez Owen a two different ting!

I have been exonerated!

Mi nuh care! This and Suarez Owen a two different ting!

I have been exonerated!
            Easy, you are wrong. Ox had no idea the ball was going wide, his actions are the same as Suarez. Well the difference is Surarez's action paid off as Gyan missed the penalty, Hazard scored his.

Talk to the referee authorities!

Hence the validity of Jangle's question.

The the old farts in the game should bring in technology, all of this wouldn't be necessary. Not certain bout the did not deserve a red card. Is it because they figured the ball was going out? Well, the player didn't
                  know that and the ref would have no way of knowing that.
                  Lazie, that's exactly correct. The law is that he had to deny the other team a clear goal scoring opportunity to get a red. If the ball was going wide, then there was no clear goal scoring opportunity. It was entirely understandable that Mariner issued a red as it was close, he just gave it to the wrong player.

I agree with you TOTALLY! If I bring down an attacker as the last defender, who knows whether he (attacker) would in fact have scored, yet the defender would get a red and the ensuing ban. The ban should have been upheld and transferred to Ox.

That hand ball IS ABSOLUTELY no DIFFERENT than Suarez's as I said on Karl's thread, except it was more acrobatic.

Hmmm...interesting developments, huh, PAUL MARIN!

In the context of the laws of the game, Ox being exonerated is accurate as the ball was going wide...however, the comparison between Ox's infraction and Suarez's handball in the context of the players' intent is identical - both were trying to prevent a goal scoring by using their hands. The only difference is that Ox tried to deceive...Suarez did not. Who is the bigger reprobate? The one who made no attempt to hide his intentions, or the one who tried to decieve?

Wrong call on Chamberlain. I think if the match officials are not using replay technology to judge whether the block by the Ox was heading to goal, they should not overrule the referee's decision as that is how he saw it. They should have rescinded the red for Gibbs and placed it on Ox.

I am for the referee's decision on the calls to stand as you cannot tell the man how to see or interpret a play. He calls it how he sees it. From certain angles on the field, even the best referee's decisions could be questionable. The laws of the game says that the calls are "In the opinion of the referee. . ."

The people who are reviewing the path of the ball using TV replays, they are now using technology which is not allowed by the rules of the game to influence their decision. How can that be right?
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Therefore the fact that the ball is off target is incidental to the call; and given that the last defender who brings a man down (who has gotten no shot off) gets the same red, then, except for Mosiah who should know better , we're all in agreement? whatever consequence of the red card should have stood against Ox.

whatever consequence of the red card should have stood against Ox.
                            Agreed!
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I guess going down without being touched...e.g. a player loses his feet with an opponent near such that the viewing angle tricks the ref in awarding a foul (and perhaps further punishment on the opponent) would have some calling the player who fell a cheat if he did not 'speak up'?

Both players instinctively tried to 'save' their TEAM. That reflexive action to help TEAM at all times is one programmed deep within top players psyche. Cheat to reflexively react? Now tell me...???