Aaron Hunt hailed for penalty honesty

• Aaron Hunt hailed for penalty honesty

Werder Bremen midfielder Aaron Hunt has won praise for admitting to a dive, which made the referee reverse his decision to award a penalty during the 2-0 win at Nurnberg.
    Bremen were already ahead by two goals in Saturday’s relegation battle when Aaron Hunt fell in Nurnberg’s box and referee Manuel Graefe awarded a penalty for the 2004 Bundesliga champions.
    But the half-English former Germany international urged Graefe to take back the penalty decision.
    “It was clear to me that I made a mistake,” Bremen captain Hunt told reporters after the game. “That’s why I did not have to think much about it. We don't want to win like that, not even in a battle for relegation.”
    Ex-Wigan striker Franco di Santo, who opened the scoring for Bremen, said: “I was surprised. If a player would do that in Argentina, the fans would wait outside his home. But it was the right decision and honest.”
    Bremen sporting director Thomas Eichin admitted that at first he had mixed feelings about Hunt’s decision.
    “You see that penalty that could make it 3-0, and you know that Nurnberg can pull one back on the other side, and that could change the run of events,” he told reporters. “[But] I have the greatest respect for Aaron’s decision. That’s totally an exemplary gesture.”
    The German media also greeted Hunt’s decision positively, with kicker also calling it “an exemplary gesture”, and Nurnberg daily NZ commenting that “this little gesture shows there is room for fair play in football. Even when battling for relegation.”
    The German tabloid Bild, used the headline “Herrlich ehrlich”, which translates as “refreshingly honest.”

Werder Bremen midfielder Aaron Hunt has won praise for admitting to a dive, which made the referee reverse his decision to award a penalty during the 2-0 win at Nurnberg.
    Bremen were already ahead by two goals in Saturday’s relegation battle when Aaron Hunt fell in Nurnberg’s box and referee Manuel Graefe awarded a penalty for the 2004 Bundesliga champions.
    But the half-English former Germany international urged Graefe to take back the penalty decision.
    “It was clear to me that I made a mistake,” Bremen captain Hunt told reporters after the game. “That’s why I did not have to think much about it. We don't want to win like that, not even in a battle for relegation.”
    Ex-Wigan striker Franco di Santo, who opened the scoring for Bremen, said: “I was surprised. If a player would do that in Argentina, the fans would wait outside his home. But it was the right decision and honest.”
    Bremen sporting director Thomas Eichin admitted that at first he had mixed feelings about Hunt’s decision.
    “You see that penalty that could make it 3-0, and you know that Nurnberg can pull one back on the other side, and that could change the run of events,” he told reporters. “[But] I have the greatest respect for Aaron’s decision. That’s totally an exemplary gesture.”
    The German media also greeted Hunt’s decision positively, with kicker also calling it “an exemplary gesture”, and Nurnberg daily NZ commenting that “this little gesture shows there is room for fair play in football. Even when battling for relegation.”
    The German tabloid Bild, used the headline “Herrlich ehrlich”, which translates as “refreshingly honest.”
    And that is why, one reason why, I'll never accept the view that every player, or most players, would have done what Suarez did in that World Cup match against Ghana.

That was low-life behaviour, like some of his other misdeeds since!

And that is why, one reason why, I'll never accept the view that every player, or most players, would have done what Suarez did in that World Cup match against Ghana.

Get over it Mosiah. What Suarez did was not cheating. When the Man City defender fouled Messi as he closed in on the goal was that cheating?

I didn't see what the Man City defender did, but I fail to see how whatever he did could influence my views on what Suarez did! Indeed, it's kinda ludicrous to even compare the two to determine whether or not Suarez cheated! Maybe both are cheats?!? Do we need to determine who is the bigger cheat?

I don't get your point, Lazie.

Oh lord god...not this again...and you were doing so well. Anyway, before you can say anyone is a cheat, can you define "cheat" for me please?

No you say not dis again?

Mo, with all due respect, until you can define "cheat", cease and sekkle; as lazie said, you need to get over it. I don't know why it a hot u so... All me know seh is that everytime me see Suarez in a Liverpool shirt, me cyan help but do a likkle jig...

One cheats in ordee to ovtain ubdue benefits,the jiggle you speak of has everything to do with cheating being mutually beneficial.Likely,If there wasn't those benefits then.....
                There are consequences to being an infamous cheat.

His TEAM was winning huh?

How many would do that, winning or not?!?

I hope you realize that you have NOT DEFINED what "cheating" is; you have stated WHY one cheats. Two different things. I might work very hard to "obtain (undue) benefits". Just saying.

Voilà mon vieux! One wonders if he would have suffered the same crisis of conscience were his team in a losing situation? BUT, I am willing to give the man the benefit and say well done!

Good question.
                          ...but if I would hazard a guess...not many in a winning position and even less from a losing position.

I hope you realize that you have NOT DEFINED what "cheating" is; you have stated WHY one cheats. Two different things. I might work very hard to "obtain (undue) benefits". Just saying.
                            You notice none of dem can answer the question? That's what you call "checkmate", mate. By any definition, it would be clear that "cheating" is not the real issue. Just that simple.

I saw your nonsense with Gamma on the subject so there is no need for me to get into it with you! If you don't know what cheating means...not going to go there!