Can Mattocks win Whitecaps back over?

• Can Mattocks win Whitecaps back over?

Can Darren Mattocks win Vancouver Whitecaps back over? "He's in a good place at the moment"

Darren Mattocks still has a ways to go to prove to his doubters that he has the commitment to make a meaningful impact in 2014.

But his rehabilitation from the malcontent fringe player of 2013 to becoming the exciting and irresistible player who dazzled the league rookie season took a few more steps forward Sunday.

This, after his poor 2013 season and bizarre offseason comments critical of the club cast his future with the Vancouver Whitecaps into doubt only months ago.

(continue)

Preseason games are a search for the right starting 11,Mattocks has been figuring so far.
    Much different from the way the season went last year which gives weight to his so-called controversial statements.It appears he already won Whitecaps over,it is his to lose.
    Last edited by Rockman; February 25, 2014, 10:15 AM.

Has to learn quickly that it is never about him...but the coach (...as in what can you do for me - the coach - to make me successful).

It is all about TEAM. You are not for TEAM and soon you shall be gone!!!
      Last edited by Karl; February 25, 2014, 03:38 PM.

The part can never be bigger than the whole... they have to understand that, lose a little ego and pride...I don't understand why some players don't see that they are not a track athlete but playing a team sport. SMH

Point taken on TEAM...100% agreed!

...but the footballer must be a speedster - (Hey if you are 2nd to the ball or when on the ball too slow at getting away with it/and getting it away (to your TEAMmate or otherwise use it to gain an advantage for your TEAM, dwag nyam yuh suppa) - playing a TEAM sport.

Watched the Whitecaps v Portmore game our players were too slow across ground, had slow feet and were poor technically (Overhit passes? Numerous. Underhit passes? Numerous. Too often clumsy plays...).

Tactically they were not bad... just lacked the goods on pace, quick feet, and touch...and the big one - lacked the awareness and commonsense to quickly (...even slooooooowly because they never did) recognize their deficiencies and to adjust accordingly.

Little late in the day for many of our Portmore players to quickly grasp 'what just hit them' (=what they saw/observed) and to learn from same and thus adjust/modify/change how they approach playing the game.
          Last edited by Karl; February 25, 2014, 09:13 PM.