Gamma a nuh me say suh

You gwaan follow Tilla. It is every club dream to have a failure like Wenger who has had championship and willing to stick with them through the lean times and make them profitable.

Nobody in their right mind can't call Wenger a failure and finish in the top 4 every year.

Easy nuh man.....they have won titles under the Arse.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

5-1. that is correct and they will get a chance to do it all over again on sunday.

Well let's see if Gamma's pen is mightier than X's ratchet.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A Gummers bredrin of mine quote:

"This is why I want to be a shareholder and not a fan......."
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You gwaan follow Tilla. It is every club dream to have a failure like Wenger who has had championship and willing to stick with them through the lean times and make them profitable.

Nobody in their right mind can't call Wenger a failure and finish in the top 4 every year.
              Exactly. Not sure what Tilla is thinking. The fact of the matter is that Wenger has defied gravity year over year. He not only kept them in the top 4, but they are on solid financial footing (compare this to Manu**, City, Liverpool, and of course, £700m debt ridden Chelsea , Tilla's successful club:

Arsenal Holdings plc has announced its financial results for the year ended May 31, 2013:
              • Group profit before tax was £6.7 million (2012 - £36.6 million)
              • Profit on sale of player registrations amounted to £47.0 million (2012 - £65.5 million)
              • One-off charges related to the impairment of certain player registrations and associated costs amounted to £10.0 million (2012 - £5.5 million)
              • £58.7 million of investment in new players and extended contracts pushed amortisation charges up to £41.3 million (2012 - £36.8 million)
              • Turnover from football increased to £242.8 million (2012 - £235.3 million) driven mainly by commercial activity including the Club’s extended partnership with Emirates
              • Taking account of increased costs, principally wage costs, operating profits (before depreciation and player trading) from football decreased to £25.2 million (2012 - £32.3 million)
              • Property revenue rose to £37.5 million (2012 - £7.7 million) inclusive of the sale of the market housing site at Queensland Road. However, the Queensland Road sale was essentially at break even in profit and loss terms. Overall operating profits from property increased to £4.4 million (2012 - £2.2 million)
              • The Group has no short-term debt and continues to have a robust financial platform from cash reserves, excluding the balances designated as debt service reserves, of £119.7 million (2012 - £120.1 million)

£700m debt ridden Chels
                I wonder where you get your figures from? The last figures they released I heard was they were showing £45m loss.

BTW, is since when fans start following clubs for their financial astuteness? I thought fans followed to see their clubs become champions.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

One principle holds true ,given all that ,a clubs priority is to win trophys,debt or no debt.

He hasnt done so in 8 years, would I classify that as a specialist in failure,yes ! Given the changing nature of the prem 8 years is more than enough time.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I wonder where you get your figures from? The last figures they released I heard was they were showing £45m loss.

BTW, is since when fans start following clubs for their financial astuteness? I thought fans followed to see their clubs become champions.
                    Here is where the numbers came from: http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-arc...ancial-results

You are drinking the kool-aid from the "Fountain of X" ... if that is the company you want to keep, then so be it...but don't complain when it madden u!! Let's face it, there is a fundamental disconnect between FANS and FINANCIAL OWNERS. Fans only care about championships, not profits. Owners however, have to worry about cash flow, strong balance sheets and profits. These are not necessarily compatible, which is why Arsenal is a club to be applauded. They have stayed in the top 4, been competitive and have turned a profit. You CAN NOT say that about any of the top 7 clubs in the league. Manu** in my opinion is the only top club in the traditional top 4 + City that can "afford" their debt as their cash flows are very strong. I can't say that about Liverpool (yet), although they appear to be headed in the right direction, and definitely not for Chelsea or City.

While Liverpool's cash flows are strong enough to repay their current debt, the danger the other two face is that if their owners get tired and decide to walk, their clubs can NEVER repay their current debt which even though much of that would be likely to be forgiven, they then have a huge tax problem on their hands...but I'm sure the financial gurus would have some way to feather out the fall...but make no mistake, the precedent is there. You only have to look at Leeds to see what can happen next. These kinds of owners are not financial owners, they are owner benefactors, which is GREAT as long they have the money to stay in the game and as long as they continue to care. Once they pull out...whoops!

So if you're okay with that risk as a fan, so be it, but you will have to pay the piper sometime...it is just impossible not to. That said, Arsenal as it is currently run, does not have that "Sword of Damocles" hanging over their head...and they can thank Wenger in large part for that. When Manu**, Chelsea**, City and maybe even Liverpool are lamenting the burden their debt has put on them, Arsenal will be enjoying continued presence in the top flight. They have set themselves up well for the long haul.

Wenger does not have the war chest that mourinho has, that is fact.

second of all Wenger HAS won things. how many managers could have managed a team and developed an emirate stadium?

having said all of that mourinho's ratings as a man manager is sky high as far as i am concerned and no one can argue that. but there is no doubt that mourinho is baiting wenger and trying to get into his head, again. the way that he (mourinho) has taken up permanent residence in rafa's head!!
                      That's not true Gamma - he does have the money. The difference is that he spends it as if it is his own. This has no bearing on whether he makes good buys or not, just that he is careful with the shareholder's money...which is not an insignificant sum. In Jose's case, he has a drunken sailor as a boss who has more money than brains, so it works...for now.

Mourinho: Wenger a specialist in failure

Jose Mourinho's war of words with Arsene Wenger has taken a new turn after the Chelsea manager described his Arsenal counterpart as a "specialist in failure."

Wenger, reacting to claims from Mourinho saying Arsenal have no excuses if they do not win the title this season, said the Chelsea boss has a "fear of failure."

But speaking at a news conference ahead of Chelsea's FA Cup tie with Manchester City this weekend, Mourinho said: "He's a specialist in failure. I am not.

More. . .
                        This is more of a reflection of Jose's lack of class than anything about Wenger. The only people who will find merit in his stupidity are possibly Spurs fans, Chelsea fans and Wenger demagogues. Chelsea fans by the way, showed their true colors when Abramovich appointed Rafa. Instead of calling for the Russian's head, they cried down Rafa, a man simply doing his job. Far from them to bite the [corrupt] hand that feeds them. They are a perfect example of a complicit corrupt society.

I wasn't questioning Arsenal's figures, I was questioning Chelsea's 700 million loss you mentioned in your post. I even said they had reported they say a loss of 45 million.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla, Debt and Loss are two different things. He said £700m (was it pounds or dollaras?) DEBT. Different from LOSS. The debt is what the club owes ; could be mortgages and other types of loan. The loss is the difference between Revenues and Expenses when expenses are greater than revenues, and that would be in a given fiscal (financial) year. Forgive me if you think I am criticising your accounting knowledge, but many confuse expenses and losses and think they are the same thing.

I wasn't questioning Arsenal's figures, I was questioning Chelsea's 700 million loss you mentioned in your post. I even said they had reported they say a loss of 45 million.
                              Here is a list from two years ago showing the numbers for each team. Chelsea back then was sporting a debt of £878m. Unless Roman forgive them that (which he could), it will take them a long time to get retraced to sanity.
                              http://www.theguardian.com/football/...s-club-by-club

Read it again Gamma. He is not saying that the EPL and FA Cup titles are a failure. He was specfic in making reference to the silverware drought for the past 8 seasons. That is a big difference there.

What Have You Done For Me Lately

Guess we GUNNERS would answer - Make us MONEY!