• Jamaican coach gives 'thoughtful' answer on reason

why his TEAM lost a match -
    Meanwhile, coach of Boys' Town, Andrew Price, blamed the loss on a defensive error.

"We gave up the game by making a defensive error, and that cost us," Price said.

"We gave up a simple goal. I told the players not to allow the ball to bounce, and the goal was as a result of that," he emphasised.

Source: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports7.html

What's wrong with that?!?! It's just a pity all Jamaicans can't live in the US to get some sense! Like the rest of us!

sigh

For a moment I was fooled. Nice piece of sarcasm.

You know I'm not being sarcastic!

Who says this was a thoughtful answer?! Somebody pushes a mic in his face right after a match and he has time to give a thoughtful response? Why yuh think Portia don't like that kind of behaviour?

Not a thing wrong with the response. I'm sure his defensive workouts have much more to it than not allowing a ball to bounce, but clearly that is part of it, to attack the ball, to get the second ball if you didn't get it the first time around, to win the ball!

Gee, I wonder what a coach from Port St Lucie FC would have offered as his thoughtful response?!

Karl, not allowing the ball "to bounce" means getting under the ball before it touches ground and controlling it, or making a defensive header...what he says makes a lot of sense to me! players probably stood back, allowed the ball to touch ground and a forward ran on to it and scored! I don't have a problem with the man's comments.

What I have a problem with is Andrew Price has a habit of demeaning the goals of the opponent, saying it was a simple goal or a soft goal, even when it could be the goal of the month. Him, and other coaches, need to be more respectful of the other teams.

You know him better than I do so I will defer to you there. But you do understand my point with respect to the ball that "bounces"?

Of course I understand what you are saying. I basically said the same thing up top. I don't understand why Karl is hanging is head in his hands?!?

Karl, not allowing the ball "to bounce" means getting under the ball before it touches ground and controlling it, or making a defensive header...what he says makes a lot of sense to me!* players probably stood back, allowed the ball to touch ground and a forward ran on to it and scored! I don't have a problem with the man's comments.
                  Peter the particular circumstances...context within which he replied *may well have made the answer 'sensible'. Unfortunately the person reporting on his 'saying' never gave a context that would support such a comment.

Looked at in a vacuum his reported saying does not make your comment anything any coach should be thinking...forget saying...that the ball should not be allowed to bounce.

...there are moments in games when the correct thing to do is...both on receiving and passing and both on attacking and defending...allow the ball to bounce.
                  Last edited by Karl; February 16, 2014, 12:09 AM.

Peter the particular circumstances...context within which he replied *may well have made the answer 'sensible'. Unfortunately the person reporting on his 'saying' never gave a context that would support such a comment.

Looked at in a vacuum his reported saying does not make your comment anything any coach should be thinking...forget saying...that the ball should not be allowed to bounce.

...there are moments in games when the correct thing to do is...both on receiving and passing and both on attacking and defending...allow the ball to bounce.
                    Sure, but in the context of the goal, that was probably not the case - certainly not the case to Price.

And why should anyone assume that the context was not correct?

I think we are too quick to make JLIJ look less than intelligent.

Sure, but in the context of the goal, that was probably not the case -
                        Which means it may or may not have been the case?
                        If as you think...the coach wished to convey that he had instructed his players to attack the ball and they failed so to do...why wasn't he reported as saying that?

------

...certainly not the case to Price.
                        and I would think most readers.

especially if the pitch nuh good

aah! yuhseeit!

What I have a problem with is Andrew Price has a habit of demeaning the goals of the opponent, saying it was a simple goal or a soft goal, even when it could be the goal of the month. Him, and other coaches, need to be more respectful of the other teams.
                              ABSOLUTELY. I sat in a meeting last week at the JFF with premiership coaches and with the German coach. A decent chap but struggled with English and understand the local coaches. That was an interesting experience. Some of the coaches are sincere about helping him develop future national players while others think they are the 'best coaches in the Caribbean'. I was shocked to think they are the 'best', because they do not produce Internationale players. The German has allot of work to do..............