I looked at Delaphena stats, pretty good but not necessarily any better than anyone else, don't have his best year so the stats may be a little skewed as he had a long career, 93 goals over 270 performances, also goal scoring averages were probably not as high as they are today but that is pure conjecture on my part.
Best Jamaican forwards - pure production
International is more like a part time gig, a Christmas job, club is the real standard in terms of a day job.
On the international side Nandi played 60 games for Ja, probably a third of that as a defender, maybe less. So let's say 40 games and he had 19 goals, pretty good.
Shelton based on the stats available played 19 games with 12 goals, which is a higher score rate. I would bet Marlon king score rate is also pretty high in national colors.
Lindy's best year...
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostI looked at Delaphena stats, pretty good but not necessarily any better than anyone else, don't have his best year so the stats may be a little skewed as he had a long career, 93 goals over 270 performances, also goal scoring averages were probably not as high as they are today but that is pure conjecture on my part.
Source: Delapenha: First non-white to play English Division 1 football
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/1...sports/s2.html
The records suggest those 22 goals were scored in a season when the total D - 1 (=EPL) matches played in a season was 42. That says Lindy's strike rate was of the very top drawer.Last edited by Karl; February 18, 2014, 11:17 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by myYout View PostNuh Naanah & Boo fi real, an Naanah ah di bes internationally as well; Inna my opinion dat is. Wi miss a strikah who know fi shake up nylon like Naanah.
...then there is; What does Luton Shelton's?
I have not checked but I am thinking stats shall show Luton 'miles ahead' of any other of our strikers. In my opinion, here stats lies and lies and lies...when quality of a striker is considered."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Not sure ah di strike rate but dat can bi skewed depending pan variables. If mi haffi choose between Burton an Naanah, gimme Naanah every time. Can kick from long range, short range, dead ball and create him own diffran class fi mi. No disrespect to Shelton but di stats skewed due to variables for example quality ah opposition.
I will tell you Nandi is miles ahead of Both ,1st Burton isnt in his class on goals per game ,2nd Shelton beats Nandi by inches a goal or two after having played consistently as a striker, against mostly 3 rd rate carribbean teams, bahamas etc pads his cv.Keep in mind Nandi played a WC campaign as a defender ,thats 4 years and was exiled by CB in his final days to sort himself out,basically ended his carrear.
It would be interesting if Rene had groomed him as a striker and CB not exiled him to see what could have been.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Gamma View Postlowe's record for jamaica is slightly skewed as he played in several matches as a defender, not sure if that was taken into consideration.
Just asking... Cannot remember him playing even one entire match as a defender...?????"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Lowe played as a defender in our 1st WC campaign,banned by Rene at one point recalled ,lead us on a WC campaign and then exiled by CB to sort himself out in a WC campaign (4) yrs which ened his carrear ,Shelton barely beats Lowe ,he was always part of our campaigns and padded his CVs against carribbean minnows, cayman and the bahamas.
There is only 1 Onandi Lowe.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by X View PostLowe played as a defender in our 1st WC campaign,banned by Rene at one point recalled ,lead us on a WC campaign and then exiled by CB to sort himself out in a WC campaign (4) yrs which ened his carrear ,Shelton barely beats Lowe ,he was always part of our campaigns and padded his CVs against carribbean minnows, cayman and the bahamas.
There is only 1 Onandi Lowe.
...and if you remember the matches please list them?
Please remind me again how many matches he played for JA?
Not to worry - Got it from Wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Onandi_Lowe
mmmm? Did not remember his scoring/strike-rate was so impressive.
Those stats are very, very good.Last edited by Karl; February 19, 2014, 09:54 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Yes that is very good, provably as good as we have seen on local grown since WWII and we have no data on assists so who knows how good it really was. On Nandi it seems like his goal scoring rate was highest of all over last twenty years but we know he didn't have one assist in that streak and it was also div two or three depending on how you look at it.
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostYes that is very good, provably as good as we have seen on local grown since WWII and we have no data on assists so who knows how good it really was. On Nandi it seems like his goal scoring rate was highest of all over last twenty years but we know he didn't have one assist in that streak and it was also div two or three depending on how you look at it.
...that level within which accomplished is key."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."