Bwoy, mi shame!!!

• Bwoy, mi shame!!!

Man Utd were like a CONFERENCE team - Fulham defender Dan Burn.

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/footb...ender-Dan-Burn

When Will Moyes Take Responsibility For Manchester United's Current Woes?

A look at the Fulham team sheet which was made up of unknown quantities would have filled United fans with glee and hope. Call it arrogance but considering Fulham’s form, nothing short of a victory was expected.
    But alas Moyes and to a lesser extent some of the players conspired to ensure the team’s nightmarish season so far continues unabated.

The fact that United struggled against a Fulham side which was obliterated 6-0 by Hull, and with the worst defensive record in the premier league pretty much casts serious doubts on the team’s chances and really puts into perspective how low the team have sunk under Moyes.

There are people who believe the blame should fall squarely on the players and that they are not doing enough for the team. Even though that argument has merit, I strongly disagree with it and blame the coach for the team’s current woes. This match served as a clear case in point why Moyes is not suitable or fit for United.

The team’s display was pretty much one dimensional, straightforward, rigid, joyless and lacked dynamism. It seemed the team had just one objective; send the ball out wide and cross and cross and cross. United made a total of 81 crosses (The highest so far in any PL match since Opta started gathering data in 2006).Now Mata has even made more crosses in 3 games for United than he did during the first half of the league for Chelsea. The team clearly lacked a plan B and made it easy for Fulham to defend against it. This is quite worrying. Someone once said Moyes lacks the match-altering touch and the genius to out think his opponent. On the basis of his United career so far, I cannot help but agree fully with this assertion. I mean which serious coach would start Young and bench Januzaj? What has Young done to merit a place on the bench not to even talk of him being in the starting 11? And why play a 4-4-2 system with Mata as a winger on the right hand side? Why did he stubbornly refuse to alter his tactics when things were not working out? For the coach of the league’s bottom club to suggest we were far predictable and easy to defend against is proof enough of Moyes’ tactical ineptitude on the day.

So far this season Moyes’ post match comments have been nothing but inspiring. For him to admit in his post match interview that he believes the team lost his mental strength in the match is deeply worrying. For a team made up of trophy (ies) winners to lose its mental strength playing against the leagues bottom club who were just coming out of damaging defeats to Southampton and Sheffield Wednesday and playing at home too should make the gaffer question his credentials and his effect on the team. He also risks creating discontent in the dressing room as some of the senior players would not be happy with this statement. (Well for once, he did not mention luck as the cause of the teams defeat).

It now seems making the top four is beyond United now and barring any miraculous recovery and monumental failure by Liverpool and maybe Spurs and Everton, the team should be happy with the 7th position it is currently occupying come May if performances like this are what is going to be churned out every other week.

FF on twitter @BaanNaab

http://www.sport.co.uk/football/when...iteds/4604283/
    Last edited by Karl; February 10, 2014, 10:19 AM.

" I mean which serious coach would start Young and bench Januzaj? What has Young done to merit a place on the bench not to even talk of him being in the starting 11?"

Rockman, can you answer the above question? Yesterday you were quick to endorse this joker starting. Lets hear it.

Young had an okay game,the problem was those errant crosses from the flanks.Primarily Rafael's....
        You want players that are capable of completing those crosses,Beckham or Veron would have killed Fulham despite their towering defender.
        Januzaj too was guilty...
        Without Young,they woyld not have been a proven winger started in the game.Januzaj brought a different look to the wing(Evra was contained...ergo the side keeping shape..).
        The problem yesterday was using Mata as a wide midfielder,his inclusion was to bridge that gap between the strikers and offensive mid.Also,it ruled him out of being a scoring threat.
        When Fletcher was finally replaced by Januzaj,we saw Carrick becoming a defensive mid and Mata resuming his role as an attacking mid.
        Rafael had to be replaced hence Valencia,and Moyes substituted Welbeck for Young because he thinks goals are needed so I will add another striker.Playing the game without a right back player was without obvious consequence,Fulham failed to make Man U pay...
        Mata played too far behind the strikers and that was the hidden consequence.
        The side played well in my opinion,and it appears if anything,reverting to a 4-4-2 formation is the way to go.

Lessons to be learnt
        1)Man U is lacking regarding wingbacks and that can be costly.
        2)Fielding three strikers leaves a void in another position,in this case the offensive mid assumed dual roles.Welbeck inclusion robbed us of having a right back player,that is why Mata was so far behind the strikers.
        3)Feilding good ball handlers is making a bid for possession.

A question Lazie,if the argument is Fulham is such a bad team...then how can fielding one winger(who incidentally did not have a bad game)be soooo costly?
        The team played well Lazie,the problems are easy to fix..

...so yuh start talk to yu'sef now?

You sound like-a most of the Liverpool supporters.

Well, Lazie? - Manchester United's David Moyes admits...

Manchester United's David Moyes admits 'it's worse than I thought'

David Moyes said that Manchester United were suffering from a "mental softness" and that he did not expect the champions to sink so low as they did in the 2-2 draw with Fulham at Old Trafford. The visiting manager, René Meulensteen, who left the champions' coaching staff in the summer, was also critical of United, branding their continual crossing as "partly straightforward" and easy to defend against.

Moyes's side were facing the ninth defeat of their title defence, and to the bottom-placed club following Steve Sidwell's opener, until the equaliser from Robin van Persie, on 78 minutes. Then Michael Carrick's goal moments later looked to have snatched victory. However four minutes into added time, Darren Bent completed a miserable afternoon for Moyes and United by securing a draw for Fulham, a goal the Scot described as "diabolical".

Moyes has continually stated it would be a turbulent first season in charge but with United now nine points from a Champions League berth, the manager admitted he did not expect his inaugural campaign to be so dire. "Probably not, no," Moyes said. "Today was as bad as it gets. How we didn't win, I have no idea. It's goals that count. You can have as much possession as you like."

Despite a record 81 crosses, Moyes accepted it was the familiar problem of not being able to put the opposition away. "I agree. Quite often you've seen similar games here where we have been the better team by far, the opposition have got a goal from a set-piece or on the break and then we've been chasing it, but we thoroughly deserved to win the game."

Bent's goal derived from Nemanja Vidic's weak clearing-header. While Moyes did not name his captain, he was scathing about the manner of the goal.

He said: "Even when it was 2-1 and they put five minutes [of added time] up Fulham never came up the pitch, they left us with the ball. So it was nearly a case of just playing out time and we gave away a diabolical second goal. If we had one failing it was that we should have gone to win 3-1. You could use maybe mental softness that we didn't see the job out and get the job done. I would agree with that."

Moyes denied that United's plan was merely to utilise the cross. "It was never one way," he said. "If you're just going to look at the stats and think about the crosses you need to think about the number of passes and I don't think we just went out and crossed the ball. Some people might say that one of the things that Manchester United do is play with width and cross the ball, that's in the genes here.

Yet Meulensteen said: "When I saw Manchester United today I thought the game plan was quite straightforward – get it wide, get it in, whether it was from the full-back pushing on or the supporting wide man and midfielder."

Is it easy to defend against if that is the unchanging game plan? "If you're well-organised and the goalkeeper is in good positions to come and collect the ball at times, yeah, it can be easy," said Meulensteen. "You need a little bit of creativity and a bit of variety at times to open [teams] up. The first goal they scored was from a ball that was in a second phase, fell and was a sort of pass across the goal that got tapped in. And the second came from a clearance then a shot and a deflection."

With Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester City yet to come, Moyes struggled to offer any detailed answer regarding how United might beat them. "We just go into the next game and take the teams on and challenge them. We've got a good team and there will be very few teams desperate to play Manchester United," he said.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/...ne-meulensteen

I saw something this weekend. Fulham still in the 18 Century and the youth coach is a lot better than some here thinks.

I believe it is more likely he stumbled on something viable,with Mata being marginalized because of a flawed game plan,this decent overall performance has everything to do with a core that was at his disposal from the get go.
                Had it not been due to injuries , Jones and Evans would have surely figured.
                His starting lineup was okay and his substitutions were purposeful.
                His approach to the Arsenal game will determine if there is any science behind his methods

Young had an okay game,the problem was those errant crosses from the flanks.Primarily Rafael's....
                  You want players that are capable of completing those crosses,Beckham or Veron would have killed Fulham despite their towering defender.
                  Januzaj too was guilty...
                  Without Young,they woyld not have been a proven winger started in the game.Januzaj brought a different look to the wing(Evra was contained...ergo the side keeping shape..).
                  The problem yesterday was using Mata as a wide midfielder,his inclusion was to bridge that gap between the strikers and offensive mid.Also,it ruled him out of being a scoring threat.
                  When Fletcher was finally replaced by Januzaj,we saw Carrick becoming a defensive mid and Mata resuming his role as an attacking mid.
                  Rafael had to be replaced hence Valencia,and Moyes substituted Welbeck for Young because he thinks goals are needed so I will add another striker.Playing the game without a right back player was without obvious consequence,Fulham failed to make Man U pay...
                  Mata played too far behind the strikers and that was the hidden consequence.
                  The side played well in my opinion,and it appears if anything,reverting to a 4-4-2 formation is the way to go.

Lessons to be learnt
                  1)Man U is lacking regarding wingbacks and that can be costly.
                  2)Fielding three strikers leaves a void in another position,in this case the offensive mid assumed dual roles.Welbeck inclusion robbed us of having a right back player,that is why Mata was so far behind the strikers.
                  3)Feilding good ball handlers is making a bid for possession.

A question Lazie,if the argument is Fulham is such a bad team...then how can fielding one winger(who incidentally did not have a bad game)be soooo costly?
                  The team played well Lazie,the problems are easy to fix..
                  Rockman, it simple, YOUNG SUCKS!!!!!

Moyes is eager to offload Nani, fine. But why not get rid of Young first? Scoring a goal against Cardiff shouldn't be enough to save his MU career.

The problems we have cannot be fixed by Moyes. He himself said him nuh know what it takes to win.

...so yuh start talk to yu'sef now?

You sound like-a most of the Liverpool supporters.
                    Liverpool players can be proud of how their team putting teams to the sword. Pool wouldn't have 81 crosses against Fulham and struggle to score. Suarez would dismantle them all by himself.

Young is ideal if he does not go beyond the 18,he has more options and success there.That was what Januzaj brought to the table,he does not hold his head down and finds himself next to the corner flag.
                      Ashley can whip the ball in to a lurking striker,he can score too.
                      Nani has the potential to be a must have winger.
                      Open to Januzaj and Valencia starting on the flanks,withValencia being responsible for making all crosses from the right flank,so a subdued Rafael starts.

de Gea,Smalling,Vidic,Evra,Carrick,Mata,Rafael,Jsnuza j,Rooner,RvP anf Valencia.

kagawa,Fletcher(to replace Rafael if needed),Young,Welbeck and Hernadez.

Young is ideal if he does not go beyond the 18,he has more options and success there.That was what Januzaj brought to the table,he does not hold his head down and finds himself next to the corner flag.
                        Ashley can whip the ball in to a lurking striker,he can score too.
                        Nani has the potential to be a must have winger.
                        Open to Januzaj and Valencia starting on the flanks,withValencia being responsible for making all crosses from the right flank,so a subdued Rafael starts.

de Gea,Smalling,Vidic,Evra,Carrick,Mata,Rafael,Jsnuza j,Rooner,RvP anf Valencia.

kagawa,Fletcher(to replace Rafael if needed),Young,Welbeck and Hernadez.

"Ashley can whip the ball in to a lurking striker,he can score too."

Really? One goal, one assist?

It was nice seeing Carrick go for it outside the 18(albeit a deflection..).
                          Having players capable of making those shots lurking on the 18 provide options for the strikers.
                          My problem with Ashley is he may as well wear blinkers when he makes those dashes to the corner post.

Bwoy it tuff.. Don't know what to say.

Well you said give him time. He's being given the time....to shatter all records on our books that we hold dear. Every team in the BPL looks forwar to playing Manchester United, especially at Old Trafford.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015