• Analysing Raheem Sterling's Performance vs. Arsenal

Analysing Raheem Sterling's Performance vs. Arsenal
    By R. Cory Smith , Featured Columnist Feb 8, 2014

TWEET
    39 Shares
    NEXT ARTICLE »Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
    Analysing Raheem Sterling's Performance vs. ArsenalMichael Regan/Getty Images
    Reads
    Comments
    In terms of talent, Raheem Sterling has always had it. But bringing that talent to the pitch has sometimes been a bit erratic.

If his performance against Arsenal is any indication of things to come from the 19-year-old, Liverpool might have seen their young midfielder turn a corner.

For a match that was supposed to be closely contested, Liverpool came out and smacked the No. 1 team in the Premier League in the mouth. Much of that was thanks to Sterling, who scored two outstanding goals during the lopsided match.

While he's usually depended on the abilities of Luis Suarez for his success, the Anfield Index points out why his second goal—his fifth of the season—proves that he can create without the Reds superstar:

Up until that point, Sterling had six goals that were all assisted by Suarez. With the midfielder finally finding his scoring touch on his own, that can only be a great sign for the Reds.

Ironically enough, Sterling believes that exact point that the Anfield Index noted was the reason for his lack of success early on in the season. David Maddock of the Daily Mirror reports that the pressure of playing with a successful player like Suarez initially took away his poise:

I realised I need to stop being shy among the senior boys. The best way of proving yourself is on the pitch. I had to be more confident

I wasn’t confident enough to have a shot myself and instead I’d pass it to someone like Luis Suarez. I needed to be more confident again—you have to respect the senior players around you but you have to stamp your own mark on the game.

Sterling's triumphant game also comes from motivation after being spurned earlier in the season. That time spent away from the first team helped him learn patience and grow as a player.

The young midfielder said he used the exile as an eye-opener that helped him reach his full potential, according to Chris Bascombe of The Telegraph:

I had to be patient. It’s hard getting that balance right. You have to realise you’re playing for Liverpool – a club with top players. There’s always going to be competition. But you can’t just sit back all the time and say ’I need to be patient,’ otherwise that chance might not come. You need to show every single day that you are worth a place in the team.

His recent growth has also caught the attention of Liverpool commentator John Bradley:

Luckily for the Reds, that move has certainly paid huge dividends. With his two-goal game against Arsenal, Sterling now appears to have shed his formerly shaky demeanor.

If Sterling does continue his success from this point on, the sensational game against the No. 1 team in the Premier League might be where it all started.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Not a better winger in england.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceeueSToFoA

http://www1.skysports.com/football/l...h/287529/video
    Last edited by Sir X; February 8, 2014, 05:33 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

England shall benefit tremendously during the 2014 World Cup from his continued growth.

...both Sterling and Sturridge should be put in the squad immediately. Each has surpassed...roared away from Danny Welbeck in terms of skill.

Video interview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGSGDr4DJlE#t=59

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2014/02...-over-arsenal/

He is still a little cagey on first touch, a little hesitant but man he has some speed and a few moves, if he can improve his first touch and initial movement he is going to have some serious impact. Earlier in the year he couldn't shield his ball, guys were bumping him off very easily, but that has disappeared on this second version Sterling in this second half of the season.

Stronger, (even) faster...more TEAM!!!

Yes! Definitely stronger, obviously doing some havey duty leg work and squats. Which as you say means he is more explosive.

weights room him seh

Unless dem release di shackles an mek dem use dem enterprise, it ah guh bi di same old story.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    He is still a little cagey on first touch, a little hesitant but man he has some speed and a few moves, if he can improve his first touch and initial movement he is going to have some serious impact. Earlier in the year he couldn't shield his ball, guys were bumping him off very easily, but that has disappeared on this second version Sterling in this second half of the season.
                    Considering he is only 19, I suspect the best of Raheem Sterling is yet to come...plus...he will undoubtedly be making England's world cup team which will give him valuable experience. Liverpool have to make sure we get into the CL as that will be further benefit to the yout.