This is what happens when you don't play

• This is what happens when you don't play

your role. A good side man must follow the rules of being Joe Grind and not overstep his boundaries. There was a reason why SAF didn't even consider him for the job.

Rene on the ropes! Fulham boss fears over future after Blades defeat with Curbishley in the frame to take over

• Fulham seriously considering sacking Rene Meulensteen after two months
    • He would become eighth Premier League boss to lose his job this season
    • Fulham lost 1-0 to Sheffield United in the FA Cup on Tuesday
    • They have conceded 30 goals in their last 10 Premier League matches
    • Alan Curbishley in line to take Fulham job if it becomes available
    By Sami Mokbel
    PUBLISHED: 18:16 EST, 4 February 2014 | UPDATED: 07:22 EST, 5 February 2014
    42 shares
    View
    comments

Fulham are giving serious consideration to replacing Rene Meulensteen just two months after his appointment as manager.

The Dutchman fears he is on the brink of becoming the eighth Barclays Premier League boss to lose his job this season after a run of just three league wins in 10 since his appointment.

Meulensteen is said to believe the club's hierarchy have lost faith in him and are already looking at making a change, with Tuesday night's poor FA Cup defeat by Sheffield United merely underlining his mounting problems.
    VIDEO Scroll down to see highlights of the match

+6

Under fire: Fulham are considering replacing Rene Meulensteen after just two months in charge of the club

+6

Yellow peril: Sheffield United dumped Fulham out of the FA Cup after Shaun Miller scored in extra time

RENE'S 'RESCUE ACT'

November 14 - Rene Meulensteen appointed Fulham head coach to work alongside manager Martin Jol.
    December 2 - Meulensteen appointed manager after Jol's sacking.
    December 4 - Fulham lose Meulensteen's first match in charge, 2-1 at home to Tottenham.
    December 8 - Things are looking up as Fulham win the Dutchman's second game, 2-0 against Aston Villa.
    December 28 - The worst result in Meulensteen's tenure, a 6-0 battering at Hull. However, that is followed by a 2-1 win over West Ham.
    February 1 - After three straight Premier League defeats Fulham lose 3-0 at home to Southampton and drop to the bottom of the table.
    February 4 - Fulham lose 1-0 after extra time to Sheffield United in the FA Cup and the club give serious consideration to sacking Meulensteen.

The club's dismal defensive record of conceding 30 goals in 10 league games is a huge concern at the moment, and there is a belief among senior figures at Craven Cottage that the team are far too open for a side battling relegation.

Meulensteen is renowned for his coaching abilities, but doubts remain over whether he can transmit those talents into management.

Alan Curbishley, who is currently the club's technical director, is an option for the Fulham board should they decide to part with Meulensteen.

The former Charlton manager remains behind Meulensteen, but Sportsmail understands Curbishley would take the job if it became vacant.

Meulensteen arrived at Craven Cottage in November, initially to work under then manager Martin Jol.

But the 49-year-old stepped into the breach following the decision to sack Jol following their disastrous start to the season.

Asked if this was the worst performance since he succeeded Martin Jol, he said: 'Yeah, definitely.

+6

Not all white on the night: Fulham are desperately out of sorts and facing relegation from the Premier League

+6

Thumbs up: Alan Curbishley is an option for the Fulham board should they part company with Meulensteen
    Meulensteen: Keeping Fulham up would rank higher than any prize...

'It is very disappointing. It is as bad as the weather - the result, the outcome, the performance. That sums it up. It was a poor night all-round.

'It is no big secret (why we performed like this). When you get into a situation where the results aren't going for you, when you are playing well and putting in a lot of effort, bit by bit it keeps knocking your confidence and what you saw today was a team that lacked confidence.

'You could see that in some of the performances. There was not enough cutting edge and quality at times.

'Then you see trends in the game, really, that you don't want to see in terms of the way I want to play.'

Meulensteen: We need our supporters to support

+6

Negative: Hugo Rodallega reacted badly after being taken off by Meulensteen in the 60th minute

+6

Happy: Sheffield United manager Nigel Clough was delighted with his teams extra-time win against Fulham

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015