Under-17 World Cup - Opportunity Lost
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil GibranTags: None
Re: Under-17 World Cup - Opportunity Lost
Ask Mo where does it say the players were / are dumb or didnt have the comprehension skills to play a different kind of ball, it seems judging by the article the players were coached to play DUMB!
Can you clarify for me Mo , maybe i lost something.Glad to hear from you RICO .I thought you dissapeared .
I am asking the RBSC adm , where is this thing you plan to do for Courtney.I mean its moving at the building of the academy pace.Last edited by Sir X; May 15, 2007, 06:32 AM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Under-17 World Cup - An Opportunity Lost
Monday, May 14, 2007
Marc 'Rico' Ricketts: Under-17 World Cup - An Opportunity Lost
It’s been more than a week, and I’m finally getting past my anger and disappointment stemming from the U-17 Reggae Boyz failure to qualify for the U-17 World Cup. It is likely that my disappointment is based on the high expectations I had for this group. Expectations that were borne out of the protracted period for which the squad was together, and recent results, none the least of which was beating and drawing with perennial CONCACAF kingpins, Mexico.
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?id=224"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Re: Under-17 World Cup - An Opportunity Lost
Insularity? I'm surprised. I guess despite the call for more local coaches to be given a chance, the insularity factor is going to creep in. An overseas coach understands that football is a results business and will seek out the best players.
To my understanding, Admiral Bailey invited the Prof to come and look at a defender he had. The prof went and focused on a player, only to be told afterwards he was watching the wrong player. Since he is in the Results business and wanted to the best players, he went back and on the international scene came the second best defender we ever had. Pepe. (Rene on Irie FM's sports program).
How much yaad coach would willingly go back?
Suh Hunt thought he knew more than Bora? How can I? Simple ... I keep it real."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
As usual 'nice' article by Rico.
I would love to have the daily schedule/itinerary of that "protracted period" the squad was together? Hope it was not a "start-stop-start-stop-start" schedule?
There is one thing we know from past experience - our *squads that had a steady diet of international matches, with liberal doses of quality opposition teams thrown in, qualified for FIFA World Championships.
*1998 Reggae Boyz; 1999 U-17 Youth; 2001 U-20 Youth.
Did this squad have any such preparation?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I'm unware of this happening, so
if it has happened, please let me know. Why don't the JFF bring in FIFA instructors to provide courses for our local coaches? LAst evening I was reading about programs for which FIFA pays for some of the costs. Some of the these programs include, go to FIFA Courses to see the various programs.
Rahtid, T&T have a FIFA instructor, why not bring him in? Until we have quality coaches we'll always be in this situation. Rico's article proved it. Big coach questioned the use of the 5-3-2 system, but because we know everything, we nuh re-evaluate the system."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Halliman maybe the most qualified local coach.
I know he has been all over the place to seminars and certification recently.
Why is he not in the mix?
Boxhill they seems to have a problem as too many head cooks. Who is in charge? The TD? The technical committee or the team coach?
They need to get this thing straight as everybody can't just do their thing.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
It is true that Bora did sessions with the squad in the weeks leading up to the Finals. However it appears that very little got though to the playersas Hunt was reportedly heard to comment to the squad, upon re-assuming control of the session “Ok guys, time for the real training session now.”
Re: I'm unware of this happening, so
St.Kitts have two FIFA instructors.
Is Downswell one?
JFF need to get pro active- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostIt is true that Bora did sessions with the squad in the weeks leading up to the Finals. However it appears that very little got though to the playersas Hunt was reportedly heard to comment to the squad, upon re-assuming control of the session “Ok guys, time for the real training session now.”
Forget whether or not what he said to Hunt got through...but, I would hope we have a coach who can "get through" to our players."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
It is amazing we have so many of the Massive who saw the matches and we cannot yet visualise the manner of the games and how some semblance of even 'the flow' in one match?
No shape! Bad passes! Many chances! ...many missed chances! What's that on a game? How is it we played so terrible...got so many chances, missed so many chances? If we had won playing exactly the same...would we then be a great team?
I hear the staccato reports...but, was the playing of like manner - staccato - short clear-cut good to the eye...as opposed to real staccato, short clear-cut good to the ear...or just a mess from start to finish?
Jamaica2099: Duh sen mi di DVD an tek mi houtta di han-guish of nat kno-in!Last edited by Karl; May 15, 2007, 10:43 AM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I read Ricos well written and honest apprasial of the U17 Failure and first Thank You Doc for your honest views.
In the following part of your article you bought out some interesting issues: "Also queries by Bora as to the use of a 5-3-2 formation, fell on deaf ears. Bora actually asked Hunt which top-class team in the world utilizes that system, and pointed out its attacking weaknesses, questions which Hunt was unable to address. At least the use of a 4-4-2 as an alternative, in the event a game situation required it, was frowned on by Hunt." The issue here is not of 5-3-2 or 4-4-2 but who is in charge.
If we are paying for one of the world most respected tacticians and match day architect and has given him the mantle of TD why is he not listen to by local coah. Is it that the Boxhill administration has not made it clear what is role is and as they say on the corner "who gives the order"
If Bora thoughts Tacticaly that the system was not right why was this not rectified. This is the issue I think why simoes and other had gamma and Clovis assigned to teams and not stubborn local coaches. I again think Mr. Boxhill needs to address this.
If you got a TD he gives the order. I coach in a club that the TD now says.. No one is to play with a sweeper , teach a zonal system. Although I initially frowned I understood as he would ask, who do you see playing with one. I think we need to get the right coaches with the right attitudes. Again Failure on the Administration who must take the blameLast edited by Karl; May 15, 2007, 11:19 AM.
I dont think you need fifa instructors buy you can bring in different types of people. There are many coaching session where you can bring different people who are not fifa instructors who can do that kind of work. I have seen some great ones from Houlier to Craig Brown who are frankly better than the Fifa appointments. All you need is a weekend to get this done.
Originally posted by OJ View PostI read Ricos well written and honest apprasial of the U17 Failure and first Thank You Doc for your honest views.
In the following part of your article you bought out some interesting issues: "Also queries by Bora as to the use of a 5-3-2 formation, fell on deaf ears. Bora actually asked Hunt which top-class team in the world utilizes that system, and pointed out its attacking weaknesses, questions which Hunt was unable to address. At least the use of a 4-4-2 as an alternative, in the event a game situation required it, was frowned on by Hunt." The issue here is not of 5-3-2 or 4-4-2 but who is in charge.
If we are paying for one of the world most respected tacticians and match day architect and has given him the mantle of TD why is he not listen to by local coah. Is it that the Boxhill administration has not made it clear what is role is and as they say on the corner "who gives the order"
If Bora thoughts Tacticaly that the system was not right why was this not rectified. This is the issue I think why simoes and other had gamma and Clovis assigned to teams and not stubborn local coaches. I again think Mr. Boxhill needs to address this.
If you got a TD he gives the order. I coach in a club that the TD now says.. No one is to play with a sweeper , teach a zonal system. Although I initially frowned I understood as he would ask, who do you see playing with one. I think we need to get the right coaches with the right attitudes. Again Failure on the Administration who must take the blame
As Buck seh.. we need to develop OUR OWN STYLE of Football.
Jamaicans are some of the most arrogant failures I know on the planet.
Is one of the few countries I know that ignore the Diaspora.. all other successful developing countries had a well developed diaspora strategy.
I guess our Diaspora are treated as di ones dem dat di run whey.. now dem waan faas inna rock business. Just send unnuh remittance and shut unnuh damn mouth !!
Karl a chat bout '5 flights a Day plan' working out since we now have over a billion in remittance..
I want to know if is a curse to ************************... wi tek Jamaica and instead of uplift the black race by setting a shining example (Botswana) wi embrass it further mek people tek us as sample.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not... over to you Bucknor and the Profound Crew..