To break losing habit Winnie aims at great heights for RBZ

• To break losing habit Winnie aims at great heights for RBZ

High press for Reggae Boyz - Schäfer charts new playing style to realise World Cup ambition

Published: Wednesday | February 5, 2014

Schafer

Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter

For some time now, the Jamaican footballing public has been clamouring for the national football teams to develop a readily identifiable style of play.

If Reggae Boyz head coach, Winfried Schäfer, has his way, the national senior men's team will soon be playing 'pressing' football.

Pressing football is a tactic where the team without possession works assiduously to dispossess their opponents, with even their attackers applying pressure from deep within the opposition's half.

Some of the teams in world football that employ this strategy are last year's Champions League winners and German title holders Bayern Munich, Spanish cham-pions Barcelona and the Spanish national team which claimed the 2010 World Cup.

In order to successfully play the pressing game, the fitness level of the players is paramount, and this is one area in which Schäfer is keen to see local footballers improve.

"When you want to play pressing (football), you need players who can run 90 minutes for aggressive pressing," Schäfer shared with The Gleaner. "But first of all, you need fitness, discipline and courage. We have to play at a high level, and the high level is pressing. When you lose the ball, you have to fight for the ball."

FOUR-YEAR CONTRACT

In order to help Jamaica embark on this new style of play, the 64-year-old German, who was originally appointed for a four-month period, has subsequently agreed in principle to a new four-year contract with the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), which will see him working to guide the country to the 2018 World Cup.

The Reggae Boyz are for action next on June 8 against France, but Schäfer anticipates that the team will be engaged in another friendly prior to that game.

"We will play before maybe a friendly match against Ireland," Schäfer disclosed. "My goal is the World Cup. My goal is not that we win against France; that is not possible, but we can make a very good match and everybody will say Jamaica's football is coming back. We have a plan for four years, not one week."

Schäfer believes in order for Jamaica's World Cup dreams to be realised, the country will first have to scrutinise the nightmares of the past.

"Captain (Horace Burrell, JFF president) and I have to work very hard together. We have to change many things," Schäfer reasoned. "First, we have to analyse why Jamaica missed out on four World Cups (since 1998) and why Jamaica did not play at the last Gold Cup; and what was bad, we cancel, and what was good, we keep."

ryon.jones@gleanerjm.com

Yep, pressure dem, ah long time wi ah bawl fi it.

That is our innate cultural style.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Di last time wi use it to great effect ah Gold Cup prior to di US match, den wi guweh from it innah di said game an nevah use it again. Anytime wi start deploy dis tactics wholesale ah diffran story.

That is our innate cultural style.
          NO...it is not the way [local] Jamaica plays football X.

We have been trying this Simoes thing too long,cost us a lot.cc...Laza.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Gwaan white jeezas...doh stop at all

We tek too lang fi run wey Tappa.

I have problem with this statement. How do you play high pressure in Mexico when its 98 degrees or in honduras... HP is a tactic not a trade mark. Barcelona presses high because they have to they can drop back and defend... Real drops off and and press in thier pre determine area. More of the same we need more than high pressure to define us.

finally can start supporting the reggae boyz again...smaddy wit sense in charge

truth is, you never stopped ...

you know yuh right...still went to the office even when the last nail was in the coffin

Have we??? I am sure if Simoes was around he would update his thing as he go along.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                            I have problem with this statement. How do you play high pressure in Mexico when its 98 degrees or in honduras... HP is a tactic not a trade mark. Barcelona presses high because they have to they can drop back and defend... Real drops off and and press in thier pre determine area. More of the same we need more than high pressure to define us.
                            High pressure is usually equated with "the TEAM" being more compact and the back easily identified as 'holding a high line'...i.e. defending high above own penalty-area.

It does not mean you do not react as play demands. ...and in Mexico or Honduras are anywhere in the world the TEAM plays a 'highline can be held'...subject to 'control of the tempo' (of the game).

Yes...there are times in all games when there is need to 'drop off'. That does not negate having aim to 'press high up the pitch'.

High pressure is usually equated with "the TEAM" being more compact and the back easily identified as 'holding a high line'...i.e. defending high above own penalty-area.

It does not mean you do not react as play demands. ...and in Mexico or Honduras are anywhere in the world the TEAM plays a 'highline can be held'...subject to 'control of the tempo' (of the game).

Yes...there are times in all games when there is need to 'drop off'. That does not negate having aim to 'press high up the pitch'.
                              Well said