• Winnie takes the Job

Schafer arrives today for new stint as national football coach
    WAIT OVER

BY IAN BURNETT SPORTS EDITOR burnetti@jamaicaobserver.com

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

SCHAFER…succeeded Theodore Whitmore on a four-month contract.

WINFRIED Schafer is scheduled to arrive in the island today to begin a four-year stint as head coach of Jamaica's senior men's team leading to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Finals in Russia.

The German is slated to arrive at the Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay, St James, directly from his native Germany.

The 63-year-old, who has coached in his homeland, as well as Africa, Asia and the Middle East, agreed to terms with the Captain Horace Burrell-led Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) in recent days, after mulling over a contract presented to him last December.

Captain Burrell confirmed to the Jamaica Observer yesterday that Schafer would be returning and that the deal was reached after "extensive negotiations", but he was not prepared to reveal much, only that "details would be announced at a later date".

But the Observer understands that the man who led Cameroon to the African Cup of Nations title in 2002 and, on a golden run, steered the Africans to the final of the FIFA Confederations Cup in 2003, is expected to immediately announce his plans for the

senior men's football programme, especially with the Caribbean Cup, a qualifier for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, slated for the back end of the year. He is also expected to lend his expertise and play a lead role in the restructuring of the JFF technical programmes and the operations of the age-group teams.

Part of the delay in re-signing Schafer was predicated on efforts to identify corporate partners to assist in covering his salary, but the Observer also understands that the coach was not only concerned about his own salary, but that the overall programme be supported sufficiently for him to seriously move it forward.

"He says he is not coming here (Jamaica) for a pension, but to work hard to improve the sport on the island," the source told

the Observer.

Schafer joined the Reggae Boyz at the tail end of the failed Brazil 2014 World Cup campaign last August, after succeeding Theodore Whitmore, on a four-month contract which ran out on November 30.

The source added that Schafer wants to have all age-group teams playing under one philosophy, and that he could even ask to have direct control of the Under-23 team.

It is also thought that it is Schafer's intention to have open dialogue and working relationships with all the National Premier League teams -- coaches, physical trainers and managers in an effort to better prepare local-based players.

The Reggae Boyz are expected to face 1998 World Cup winners France in a friendly international on June 8 at the Stade Pierre-Mauroy in Lille, France, and could be in action earlier, as the JFF is is still in negotiations for other games, which could be finalised before long.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/WAIT-OVER_15897601
    Last edited by Karl; January 28, 2014, 02:23 PM.

You see a serious coach, JFF can't put a wool over his eyes. The man want to make sure some basic thing are in place. JFF have to work. Can't tell the man bout just call up team two weeks before game and man a come from all bout with them pretty boots.

The man a deal with a program for the future. Dispand the Technical committee. They should be the one doing some of this lifting.

Was speaking to someone in the local football circles on Sunday last. He said to me that done players think this would be the worst move we could make, ie, hiring Schafer. The person told me that some players are saying Tappa is a better coach.

Thank God fi di white man.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Where is Tappa's program???
          Not disrespecting Tappa, he might be a better coach but if we don't have a program, how effective is the coach???

Just thought I would share. I don't care one way or the other at this time.

It wasn't directed at you still. Just how we think still. The good thing I see is Winnie demanding more from the JFF and if he has a program in place it will pay off over the longer run and hopefully more local player get better and involved.

In his defence, not sure what any of us expected of him in his shirt stint.

Have the players received their per diems as yet?!

Yuh mean Winnie won't take them to a dance and drink Guinness wit dem after a game...

Maybe das why dem a say suh bout di man!

Hey, let's get one thing straight, when it comes to players' words and motives...they are the absolute worst!

I don't know. but the problem I have is some of these coaches just play along with the JFF while JFF screw them and the technical committee sit down and BS. Without this we end up as we did last time. I am happy the Winnie is actually putting a plan for two years. If JFF don't deliver then he will walk, not hang on.

You see a serious coach, JFF can't put a wool over his eyes. The man want to make sure some basic thing are in place. JFF have to work. Can't tell the man bout just call up team two weeks before game and man a come from all bout with them pretty boots.

The man a deal with a program for the future. Dispand the Technical committee. They should be the one doing some of this lifting.
                        Err... I predicted this likely outcome. Your analysis is shallow. The problem goes beyond whatever you call a "serious coach"... it's psychosocial

I'm sure many local coaches would have wanted and suggested structured local development to the JFF. The JFF can easily ignore such requests and give such coaches lip service only regarding such requests for a development program. Then the local coach takes the job (having no other option) being given a straw basket to carry water... a self-fulling construct for failure

Can you imagine Tappa saying to Burrell... "Boss I will ONLY accept the position IF you agree to develop a structured youth program an mi affi si dat manifest ar mi agguh quit".
                        That wish would get nowhere...and even if Jamaicans knew they would not support Tappa's demands

The problem here is the backward mindset of the JFF and many Jamaicans ... not merely the coaches

Shafer can demand all that because he is both foreign and white.... this is a deep-seated sociological issue of self-hatred or automatic celebration of foreigners that many Jamaicans and our institutions have... but many either don't recognize it or fail to address it

This is no way the fault of foreigners...but comes from deep rooted sociological dysfunction among locals
                        Last edited by Don1; January 28, 2014, 12:26 PM.

"I'm sure many local coaches would have wanted and suggested structured local development to the JFF. The JFF can easily ignore such requests and give such coaches lip service only regarding such requests for a development program. Then the local coach takes the job (having no other option) being given a straw basket to carry water... a self-fulling construct for failure "

Why don't they??? You don't take the job if you think you are going to be a failure. You have to make sure some systems are in place. There are times when you have to Challenge your bosses or simple walk away.
                          If our coaches continue to walk the JFF lines then they will just sit and it will continue to be a disservice to them.

You notice Winnie made his demands before taking the job??? What was Tappa's demand? He also have a plan in place? Development have to be planned or we end up with Squatters.

It time we start demanding things or we will continue be on the bandwagon to failure. Your demand don't have to be unrealistic and we certainly need a plan. We can't wing it as we go along.
                          Last edited by Assasin; January 28, 2014, 12:33 PM.

if you were building a house would you use the services of an unlicenced contractor?

You clearly cannot fathom the sociological environment in Jamaica... I'm not surprised

Coaches walk the JFF line because as long as they're in Jamaica and want a significant role in football... there's no other game in town