Winnie takes the Job

Post Winnie's program for me......Thank U.

The job of coaching a national team have to be bigger than this man. We can't use the "feed family excuse". Damn man if we are to progress we have to look at the big picture.

Coaches who succeed have to plan, the can't depend on incompetent club structure. Only few people get the job David Moyes get, which is a club not in crisis. Most coaches get a club in crisis and if you can't plan then you are going to have a hard time. Whether it is in Jamaica or any other country.

If you can't plan the chance of success is limited and then add the JFF and the other backbiting coaches in Jamaica who point out all the wrong you did from day one.

Assasin - We can't use the "feed family excuse"........So to "feed family" is an excuse???
        That is reality and real life, & that is not just in football/soccer or Jamaica. Surveys over the decades, especially in the last decade, in the U.S. show that millions of people remain in their jobs & "go with the flow" because they have a family to support & bills to pay.

"I'm sure many local coaches would have wanted and suggested structured local development to the JFF. The JFF can easily ignore such requests and give such coaches lip service only regarding such requests for a development program. Then the local coach takes the job (having no other option) being given a straw basket to carry water... a self-fulling construct for failure "

Why don't they??? You don't take the job if you think you are going to be a failure. You have to make sure some systems are in place. There are times when you have to Challenge your bosses or simple walk away.
          If our coaches continue to walk the JFF lines then they will just sit and it will continue to be a disservice to them.

You notice Winnie made his demands before taking the job??? What was Tappa's demand? He also have a plan in place? Development have to be planned or we end up with Squatters.

It time we start demanding things or we will continue be on the bandwagon to failure. Your demand don't have to be unrealistic and we certainly need a plan. We can't wing it as we go along.
          First: Don1 is on point!

2nd: This what I hear you saying Sass: There is no local who could have even thought of what Winnie has put forward as we are an inferior set!

Please tell me you did not say that? It is merely my misunderstanding?

Aside: Lazie and others are with you on deep seated belief that we are an inferior set. You must have noticed how Lazie and others harped on FOR YEARS that our talent pool of top quality footballers was non-existent? For years when it was said, TALENT ABOUNDS, Lazie and some others laughed and turned up his nose in derision.

Let me I heard wrong, Sass?

Can you use that for an excuse not to perform to the max in your job????
            The fact is to perform effectively in a football program you have to have a overall plan to constantly improve your team or you going to end up marginalizing yourself. If there is no development plan it and proper scouting it will eventually make you redundant. So idea that you holding a job by just been a yesman to the JFF is shortsighted.

What you stated was that Winnie made demands that his employer make changes to how they "run/manage" Jamaica's football - "You see a serious coach, JFF can't put a wool over his eyes. The man want to make sure some basic thing are in place. JFF have to work. Can't tell the man bout just call up team two weeks before game and man a come from all bout with them pretty boots.

The man a deal with a program for the future. Dispand the Technical committee. They should be the one doing some of this lifting."

I am saying that you can make such demands when you have a foot to stand on. The JFF wanted Winnie & pursued him, and did what was necessary to get him......That gives Winnie the power to make such demands.
              Which Jamaican coach (local or overseas based) would the JFF pursue & do what was necessary, including providing the recourses he required, to secure his services???

Originally posted by USAF View Post

I am saying that you can make such demands when you have a foot to stand on. The JFF wanted Winnie & pursued him, and did what was necessary to get him......That gives Winnie the power to make such demands.

Which Jamaican coach (local or overseas based) would the JFF pursue & do what was necessary, including providing the recourses he required, to secure his services???
                ...and that is a fact.
                ...and if past history with the JFF is anything to go by, Winnie would not be the first coach the JFF has made promises...appeared to be living up to the promises and later reneged on same.

That might be very true

Was speaking to someone in the local football circles on Sunday last. He said to me that done players think this would be the worst move we could make, ie, hiring Schafer. The person told me that some players are saying Tappa is a better coach.
                  We have watched both Tappa and Winnie operate training sessions and Tappa would win out but still a higher level coach is needed. Ask the players and they'll tell you the reality of who can, who can't and what would they like. That is where it lay. The players are not ignorant of what is good and not good. Anyway he is coming for free as he didn't have another offer and yet no one yet knows where the $$$ is. Maybe they have him in for the match against France. It looks better than a no one at this point.

2nd: This what I hear you saying Sass: There is no local who could have even thought of what Winnie has put forward as we are an inferior set!

Please tell me you did not say that? It is merely my misunderstanding?

Aside: Lazie and others are with you on deep seated belief that we are an inferior set. You must have noticed how Lazie and others harped on FOR YEARS that our talent pool of top quality footballers was non-existent? For years when it was said, TALENT ABOUNDS, Lazie and some others laughed and turned up his nose in derision.

Let me I heard wrong, Sass?
                    As it relates to football...yes...we are inferior...

I think we sell ourselves short many times by not demanding more. We have seen the results of what JFF has done to local coach. The question is Which local coach, foreign or local is going to stand up to the JFF??

Show a plan and work with it. When Paul Campbell was goalie coach, he put a plan in place and did his work, the result is showing now. Any serious coach who want to achieve a lot know they can't stick to the JFF plan and have to demand more of them.

The fact is there is too much backbiting in the Jamaican coaching fraternity which make them weaker individually. There has to be support and someone has to step forward to make changes. You can't afford for Burrell, Boxhill or whoever just use them as they wish and we talk bout a so the thing set.

Sorry mi nuh join that church. I want to see a Jamaican coach while been appointed come out and say this is my plan for development and this is what I am going to do and work according. Otherwise how are going to develop unfit and unprepared local players? What are going to do, run and get new players from foreign who never even play in a practice game for the big occasions?

When JFF inna bind them run to local coach, time for the local coaches to unite and have a say about the basic requirements. Any progressive football team have to deal with demands from the future coach.

"Ground hog day"....appears Jamaica has made no progress with many issues since I was there 11-14 years ago.

No.. I live in the universe where Winnie would win a job over Tappa anywhere in the World in a blind recruitment process...

Suh yuh nat short-sighted.. Yuh blind

in a blind recruitment process...

Typically Jamaican

maybe Tappa can get the job as Trainer to work with Winnie.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Re: As it relates to football

As it relates to football...yes...we are inferior...
                                I prefer to face the reality of (currently) unfulfilled potential. Something that can easily be 'put right'!!!!

FORWARD!