Omar Holness - rated as a Top 10 college player

It is our problem because we consistently cannot make the hex and when we make the hex we struggle.

The football marketplace has pegged us right on the money, you want a fast physical player, go to jamaica, thus our exports are most successful in wing positions, attack and defense, we are not producing highly technical, creative critical execution, thinking oriented positions which are centre half, defensive mid, attacking mid and centre forward, that is the middle of the field.

We have produced one more than decent centre half-Marshall, one decent defensive mid - Austin and one productive attacking mid - Williams, one semi productive centre forward -fuller since 1998 and you say, "why is it our problem"

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
      NC will do there best. They recruited him. ...but Omar must want it real bad and dig down and be productive. The first year is never as good as we would like and same for this lad. Having coached NCAA Div 1 for years he has the potential. One fo the biggest problems in the USA University programs is a short season, not enough matches and he also must concentrate on Academics.
      Good chat!
      ...save studying should enhance performance at sports as the mind should be 'expanding' during work on those academic subjects and thus enable the player to apply 'critical thinking' to his 'game'.

A student with greater exposure to mental challenges...logical thinking...if he/she is blessed with tremendous technical skills will be able to better apply self to strengthen and improve play. Omar Holness has tremendous technical skills which need improving...the mental aspect of his game is where his greatest shortfall lies.

Hell...he is now a college student. Certainly should not be a fool???? It all depends on motivation and application of self.

Look at how many of our player who could have been TOP OF THE WORLD...but for lack of adequate use of intelligence. - Fuller, Shelton, Teddy Johnson, the Tivoli chap - Kaemmar Daley, O'nandi Lowe, 'Blacka, The Pearl' Boyd,and the list goes on and on...each blessed with abundance of talent but could not bring self to play quality TEAM game if their life depended on it.
      Last edited by Karl; January 24, 2014, 01:26 PM.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
        Because things like this should be addressed early, along with trapping, heading, passing, shooting, moving with & without the ball, dribbling, etc. Do you think it's OK that you (Jamaica) should send players away to learn the basics???
        I have been fortunate to able to observe many coaching sessions in my beloved JA...and one of the greatest shortfalls is the poor teaching. There are a number of reasons for that - not least of which is the silly thinking on not sharing facts on how to play game or challenge players to think on the different aspects of 'the why' on 'doing' in specific manner as, and I have heard this -
        a) The player(s) do not need to know. All they need to know is to follow my instructions and 'do it';

b) Why must I give away my trade secrets? The player(s) will share it with their friends and opposing coaches;

Never ever heard a JA coach ask his players about thinking on 'how to do'!!! ...or discuss aims...saving saying the less than complete - Wi a guh win dis waan! ...or some such thing, example, wi come tuh win!!! ...etc.

It is crazy!
        The coaches do not think teaching the game is a part of their responsibility.

Have we all been blind to how our talented age-group players perform for JA? - No continuous movement on support or defense! Very, very often not passing the ball to the open man! A believing as shown in their play that Pele, Maradona and Messi are only about 'brukin'? ...never for a moment thinking they are tremendously more than that...that their 'brukin ability fantastic as it is, is the least part of their game. It is their TEAMplay that is always tops!!!

Ever wonder on why very often our age-group teams often during play display disjointed - ' bruk innah number of parts groups - X1? 1 up suh a mile fram 2 innah di miggle? ...and whatever? Not often, as do the professional top teams and top national teams, one unit...one compact force? The only answer I can think on is - both our player and our coaches nuh kno nuh bettah! ...lack of optimum use of brain!!!

Simple example - Look at ManCity?
        ...there is no TEAM in the EPL that has AAAAAALLLL players sharing the ball more...in a more sensible way!!! Look at their strikers? 9+ times out of 10 each setting up the free man!!! ...it is TEAM PLAY...degree of USE OF SKILLS AND BRAIN that separates the journeyman player from the TOP OF THE WORLD play.

Look at Saurez and his play! Oooh he is tricky alright...but it is the unpredictability of his moves - when he passes to TEAMmate and when he shoots...when he passes and when he beats his man...how he moves (where and his use of changes in pace). For Liverpool his numbers of 'killer balls' (which obviously are all TEAMplays) is phenomenal. He can bruk no doubt about it...but it is his work-rate, passing accuracy (inclusive of passing into goal/shots), support he provides on attack and on DEFENSE (yes...he does nuff-nuff defensive work. I guess there are some here who shall claim as they did on Tappa he is poor defensively - Nonsense!)...Football is, when you strip away 'the touch', all about using the brain/TEAMplay!!!!

I guess my friend who says he is sick and tired about hearing about TEAM...thinks harping on TEAM is all nonsense!!!
        Last edited by Karl; January 24, 2014, 01:31 PM.

Hahaha, funny. The evolution of Carrie Russell and WW if you ask those that are involved is a process improvement plan the entire way.

Their coaches breakdown every detail of their race and give micro detail feedback on virtually every run, every start, knowing exactly whether improvement are adding value or taking value. Every JPL game should be taped and there should be a coach going over every detail of the position and play. A centre forward coach should be reviewing with the cf and all squad forwards every time the cf touched the ball, his position on the field, the side of the body ball was received on, set up for play by cf based on opponent positioning, etc etc.

This thing is a big money thing and we are playing with it like sey is playdough. The minute we can start getting technical and building process improvement in every facet of the game we will start seeing Jamaican Ronaldo's and Suarez's.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            Hahaha, funny. The evolution of Carrie Russell and WW if you ask those that are involved is a process improvement plan the entire way.

Their coaches breakdown every detail of their race and give micro detail feedback on virtually every run, every start, knowing exactly whether improvement are adding value or taking value. Every JPL game should be taped and there should be a coach going over every detail of the position and play. A centre forward coach should be reviewing with the cf and all squad forwards every time the cf touched the ball, his position on the field, the side of the body ball was received on, set up for play by cf based on opponent positioning, etc etc.
            Nice lead on what it takes to be a teacher/coach.
            You sir, are a man after my own heart. There is art...and then there is the science (scientific way of doing tings).

Joke wi a joke wid dis huge tink!!!

This thing is a big money thing and we are playing with it like sey is playdough. The minute we can start getting technical and building process improvement in every facet of the game we will start seeing Jamaican Ronaldo's and Suarez's.
            Football is a Business!