• Getting ready to roll

By Andre Lowe

The National Stadium is set to buzz next month as the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) moves to tie down the playing of at least two friendly internationals for the Reggae Boyz.
    The national senior team has been idle since their lackluster 1-1 draw with regional adversaries Panama on March 26 and the Crenston Boxhill-led administration is eager to kick-start the team’s pre-World Cup qualification preparations.
    The Sunday Herald understands that negotiations are currently well advanced with several South American, Asian and European countries and JFF officials are expecting to make announcements shortly.

JFF press officer Garth Williams confirmed the reports but refused to provide any additional details so as not to jeopardise the ongoing negotiations.

It is understood that technical director Velibor ‘Bora’ Milutinovic is keen to record his first home win and should have a number of his overseas-bease charges available for these fixtures, as the European leagues will be finished by then.

Preparations are also being made for the male and female Under-23 teams, which are getting ready to participate in the Pan American games in July of this year.

In the meantime, the embattled organisation is currently exploring several avenues in a bid to solidify the federation’s financial position.

Following a $13 million loss from the recent hosting of Group B of the FIFA Under-17 Youth World Cup and the ongoing servicing of related expenses, the JFF is now looking to increase its revenue stream through the establishment of a merchandise store and mini museum on the premises of the secretariat.

The facility, which will stock authentic JFF and Reggae Boyz apparel and paraphernalia for retail purposes, will be located on the ground floor of the federation’s New Kingston office.

There will also be a section dedicated to the history of Jamaica’s football, which will have on display memorabilia of the country’s football exploits on the international stage. It is hoped that the store will aid in the JFF’s marketing thrust and image. Work on the project is tentatively scheduled to begin in middle of July 2007.

Kit deal
    Additionally, the JFF hierarchy is currently considering a proposal from an international sports goods manufacturer to become the national programme’s official kit provider.

The JFF had sought a six-month extension from current sponsor Uhlsport as it required more time to secure a new deal. Several offers have already been rejected by the JFF as the administration seeks to secure the “best possible deal” for the country.

JFF treasurer, Rudolph Speid, who has been spearheading the negotiations confirmed that a new offer has been tabled and that it is being examined.

“We have received an offer from an international company, which also has an operation arm in the United States of America. It is now left for us (JFF) to say whether or not we are going to go with it,” he stated.

Speid warned that the offer is not better than their current deal in terms of monetary value and further advised that there is now no indication as to when a deal will be finalised.

Re: Getting ready to roll

Speid warned that the offer is not better than their current deal in terms of monetary value and further advised that there is now no indication as to when a deal will be finalised.
    It is going to be kind of hard to get a better deal considering the current state of our football.

“We have received an offer from an international company, which also has an operation arm in the United States of America. It is now left for us (JFF) to say whether or not we are going to go with it,” he stated.
    I said it here before, the company is Diadora.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Desperate times indeed.

hE will win election

Tell Boxhill to wait on signing the deal until after the November elections.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

heheheheee....if i laugh i poppup
            While they are at it--boxhill and the rest of idiots should again place the JFF head quarters up for sale. They would make a lot of money...

so we know its not Nike ... Interesting that they are going about this this way.

sigh

Imagine if this had been done 10 years ago.

"...the JFF is now looking to increase its revenue stream through the establishment of a merchandise store and mini museum on the premises of the secretariat.

The facility, which will stock authentic JFF and Reggae Boyz apparel and paraphernalia for retail purposes, will be located on the ground floor of the federation’s New Kingston office.

There will also be a section dedicated to the history of Jamaica’s football, which will have on display memorabilia of the country’s football exploits on the international stage. It is hoped that the store will aid in the JFF’s marketing thrust and image. Work on the project is tentatively scheduled to begin in middle of July 2007."

Yow Mosiah, what a gwaan bredrin? Check yuh e-mail now!

sigh

"...the JFF is now looking to increase its revenue stream through the establishment of a merchandise store and mini museum on the premises of the secretariat.

There will also be a section dedicated to the history of Jamaica’s football, which will have on display memorabilia of the country’s football exploits on the international stage. It is hoped that the store will aid in the JFF’s marketing thrust and image. Work on the project is tentatively scheduled to begin in middle of July 2007."
                    Hey, why you have to go back to 10 years ago? They promised they would have done this when they came to office 3 1/2 years ago, but they never did. Check their manifesto.

As they say, a drowning man catches at a straw. . . Wid ongle 6 months left in office, is now they are going to get into merchandising. Without vision, the federation perish.

sigh

10 years ago, tey federation didnt really have a pressing need to go that avenue, because there was a steady flow of income to th enational programme. 1o years ago we were cinsistently filling up the stadium for friendly games.
                      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)