Goal-Line Technology

• Goal-Line Technology

So the ref has a device on his wrist that informs him when the ball crosses the line.

I take it that someone in a control room makes the <30 seconds determination--and buzzes down to activate the device on the refs wrist to let him know the result??

Was watching the City Cardiff game...and that seems to be the case.

i like it.

BTW: BrickTop the ref in that game tried to teef wi...not allowing two CLEAR penalties. Those non-calls would make PR very very angry.
    Last edited by HL; January 21, 2014, 02:41 PM.

I think a computer makes the decision if the ball crosses the line, then it sends a signal which the referee receives on that watch. I don't think there has to be human intervention for that to happen. They would be introducing further possibility for human error if some third party had to look at it then inform the referee if it is a goal.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

you know I didn't even notice the non calls...with such a great team we just go out and score 6 and don't worry about referees

I think a computer makes the decision if the ball crosses the line, then it sends a signal which the referee receives on that watch. I don't think there has to be human intervention for that to happen. They would be introducing further possibility for human error if some third party had to look at it then inform the referee if it is a goal.
        Tilla you are fountain of good information.

I took it that they were using the same system as the NFL, where an iffy call was reviewed 'upstairs'.

I would assume ah di similar technology to tennis (Wimbledon) once di whole ball break plane or line di device will activate an notify di ref.

Tilla you are fountain of good information.

I took it that they were using the same system as the NFL, where an iffy call was reviewed 'upstairs'.
            Woiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!! He he he...Now me know seh u crack smokin when a) you had it so wrong in the first place and b) you have to rely on Tilla to be your "fountain of good information!" LOL!!!! Too funny. At least Tilla not so bad as relying on my bredrin X or Janglebreath. LOL!!!

What is clear is that refs could do with an extra pair of eyes assisting them... and they don't need fancy technology but simple using existing technology to determine whether goals were off-side or not for example, or whether or not what the ref think he saw to base a decision on is correct or not... it baffles me that they don't do that, but I guess tiefin haffi gwaan :SMH:

Yes... and review all a dem and punish offenders who dive (yes I'm serious) and those who deliberately attempt to deceive the refs. Unuh wouda sih how fas' dat sh!t stop!!

Suh you think me 'fraid to say... "i don't know...."?

Me a tell you Marin roots--yu funny nuh rahtid too.

Oh BTW.... Tilla rely on X and Jangle for information.... ...

A need fi borrow yuh crack pipe to blouse and skirt...chusss mi.
                Last edited by HL; January 21, 2014, 07:45 PM.