Sprinter Luton Shelton on JA's IAAF World Cup 4 x 100M team!

Re: Sprinter Luton Shelton on JA's IAAF World Cup 4 x 100M t

Like Drogba, Shevchenko, Tevez,...?
    Those you named gave 100%. Luton seems to be giving less than 100% - in thinking and in effort.

If you say so, Karl. I've never seen Luton do what you "seem" to have observed.

Those you named gave 100%. Luton seems to be giving less than 100% - in thinking and in effort.
        Karl, how many games in the EPL have you seen him play? I saw him once, and it is too early for me to draw a conclusion. Also playing as a lone striker can be misleading, especially when you are not being played to your strengths.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good question, but it never even had to be asked. Karl has summed up lots of players in a similar fashion, from Hue to Jamal Campbell Ryce to (insert name here).

Apparently, everybody thought he played well against ManU, and has therefore set the bar pretty high. How rude of him to have off-days!

Karl et al,why you guys keep feeding the scouts?,dont snitch.

He can't sign with a European team until he turns 18. So insinuating that he failed because he came back to the States unsigned only shows your ignorance.
              Wasn't Wayne Rooney a fixture with Everton at 16 before moving on to Manchester United? What about Michael Owen, Theo Walcott, Aaron Lennon and Jermaine Pennant before Freddie? He may not be able to sign a contract before he is 18, but they could make some arrangements to secure him if they wanted him in the future.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Karl, how many games in the EPL have you seen him play? I saw him once, and it is too early for me to draw a conclusion. Also playing as a lone striker can be misleading, especially when you are not being played to your strengths.
                Two!

btw -Just asking - You really did not expect me to judge him on those games I have not seen?

Wasn't Wayne Rooney a fixture with Everton at 16 before moving on to Manchester United? What about Michael Owen, Theo Walcott, Aaron Lennon and Jermaine Pennant before Freddie? He may not be able to sign a contract before he is 18, but they could make some arrangements to secure him if they wanted him in the future.
                  I didn't state that there's an age limit to play in the Premier League. There's not.

But FIFA laws prohibit the transfer of children (under 18). The only way that it would have been possible is if he were elligible for a European passport, which he isn't.

That's why his period at Man Utd was nothing more than a training stint.

He doctored his birth certificate and his residency. Tell me again why he couldn't get a Euro passport?

Kidding - chill!

Just because you don't like Karl's observation/opinion/comment is no reason to start the name calling and disrespect ("ignorance".)

I don't know the method but I am willing to bet that there is some mechanism that Man U could find if they really wanted to secure the services of a "child", i.e. your boy, (and I use the word in its literal sense,) Adu.

And let's face it, Sir Alex was just being diplomatic.

By the way, speaking of ignorance, "eligible" has only one"l" after the first "e".

I don't know the method but I am willing to bet that there is some mechanism that Man U could find if they really wanted to secure the services of a "child", i.e. your boy, (and I use the word in its literal sense,) Adu.
                        Well you be sure to let us know when you find out, Peter Rabbit.

And let those big European teams know, too, while you're at it. I'm sure that kind of information could prove to be useful to them.

Playing as a lone striker is more difficult proposition than having a striker partner...but, you do not necesary have to look as if you could play a little morre sensibly or put in greater work-rate.

btw - You may have noticed that I said, Shelton looked tentative to me...I did not say he necessarily looked out of place.

Since you brought it up - hinted at it: I do not think he did his cause justice. Is it that he needs to make adjustments coming from a different league? I am sure he does need time to show all his wares.

...but, I was commenting on what I saw.

PS: The service he was getting from his teammates was also not of the highest quality...and, that also had a bearing on his performances.

Like Drogba, Shevchenko, Tevez,...?
                            You know I cannot recall Drogba's first year on effort and 'ball playing'. I do know he was not the fearsome striker he has become.

Shevchenko and Tevez are two different cases. I clearly have in my mind's eye their performances when they just arrived.

Shevchenko as he has continued to do...plays with tremendous effort and superb 'ball playing sense'. His touch and shooting was off. Tell me say it again in another way - Shevchenko's movement and things he attempts to do during matches shows a player who puts in 100+% and is extremely smart.

Tevez in my mind matches Shevchenko in his early years...and still does...with effort. Tevez from he arrived upuntil the present put in tremendous effort.

The difference between the two is Tevez has a bag of tricks...while Shevchenko is no slouch in the 'tricks department' but although he did not 'light up the place with goals'...the ease with which he put himself in goalscoring postions and the goals scored + numerous times he went close...shows a master goalscorer who just did not find his rythym.

If I had to choose between Tevez and Shevchenko...my choice Shevchenko. Chelsea should keep him! ...and, play him often! ...or, send him to the GUNNERS!

The GUNNERS do not need a Tevez!

Given...everything! (bad service, lone striker)...how can you make such a declaration about whether or not he is good, out of place, lazy, mindless, whatever!?!?!

Karl, give it a rest. Let's wait a while. No?

Given...everything! (bad service, lone striker)...how can you make such a declaration about whether or not he is good, out of place, lazy, mindless, whatever!?!?!

Karl, give it a rest. Let's wait a while. No?

Mosiah: Where did I say even one of what you said?

Bwoy unnuh ruff! Do not walk lock step wid unnuh dun di road an unnuh seh henny-ting?

I'll repeat for you - I saw the man as tentative! Not giving what I have seen from him before - full effort!

...and, he did not play as smart as I would have liked! ...not smart enough!