A simple plan for Jamaican clubs & players to eat a food..

I was thinking more of a West Indies kind of thing were games are played on the different islands.

Well, it was a bush league then! No?

So even to play "home" games 30+ team members will require air transport and hotel accommodations.... just as in their away games?

Not so sure you've thought this one through Sass

Using your model the life of a MLS Caribbean franchise would be shorter than a JLP administration
        Last edited by Don1; January 19, 2014, 10:45 PM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          Funny, I was proposing such alliances ten years ago getting in on the ground level and all I could hear was Mls ah bush league, look like say the bush grow up into a nice little hedge now!
          Yuh seit!
          Was it Courtney or was Courtney one of the persons claiming it would never quickly become a viable league?

I seem to remember many naysayers.

Aside: Just to be clear our NPL clubs are seeking alliances and it could be near (MLS) or far (say/for example: Brazil or Europe or other).

The proponents of a MLS franchise for the Caribbean are allowing fantasy to overtake harsh reality

St.Georges United is of Buff Bay in Portland. Alliances with clubs sometimes are short live. I remember when Harbour View made one with Red Bulls when they got the striker Taylor, but seemed Short lived.

Maybe but it was a bush growing in a very rich garden with the best soils and best care, the ugli orange turn into an ortanique.

The Mls territory is still Wild West so opportunity abounds for the organized with vision.

St.Georges United is of Buff Bay in Portland. Alliances with clubs sometimes are short live. I remember when Harbour View made one with Red Bulls when they got the striker Taylor, but seemed Short lived.
                  Thanks for the correction. Hope the St. Georges family, Buff Bay and the wider Portland forgives me.

my point is givwn the history of how Jamaican clubs are run, i do not see in sufficient numbers, corporaate sponsorship coming on board to sustain several professional league clubs in Jamaica to have a viable league.

This with money in Jamaica would feel more comfortable initially with partnering with an organisation that has some experience and with others who are putting forward seed money.

even if Barracudas was not as successful as it couuld have been there are lessons to learn there because it was not an abject failure, there was some good....at least one player goot a look in the UK if i am not mistaken

you are right. I haven't thought it through fully. I just simple making suggestions here.

Fact is the chance of failure might be great but it is not totally impossible.

I remember many on this board write of the MLS as a failure from day one too.

ok boss

Fact is the chance of failure might be great but it is not totally impossible.
                          This fact above to all practical purposes negates any sensible businessperson sinking $100 million++ in the project

So while not "absolutely impossible"... it's "practically impossible"

Puerto Rico's Islanders seems to be doing fine. Even buy a Jamaican player every now and then.

MLS could give Beckham 21 million for his Franchise. Nobody knows if a Caribbean Franchise would be 100 million.

Having to play all your home games away , losing every game and losing millions, is a failure.

The following would be needed:

A stadium that is owned by the team.
                                Investor with deep pockets
                                An investor with deeper pockets than normal, given expenses from the Caribbean
                                Even deeper pockets if you want multiple island home games
                                Approval from Don Garber
                                Figuring our the domestic/International player policy and the loophole for UB 40s when the other clubs start to protest