Hmm.. 3 kids out of Jamaican HS football in Top 10 MLS picks

I don't know what different people mean by the term "abundance of talent"... there is no established baseline standard for that term

But when talent is evaluated by credible professionals and found acceptable... I can give credence to said talent

Conversely when Rum Bar Yappers claim "no talent"... that opinion can safely be filed in the nearest dustbin

Uhmm academies are self funding...it's a business...the sooner you realise that the less hot air will emit from your oral cavity

What about when a league is deemed credible by the same professionals.

I assume you are just yapping, you can't be serious, just as you never call it Bush league.

List the funding sources for Schoolboy Football..

Yuh tink di Schoolboy Mafia remain in High School ??

Don, my opinion that 3/10 is in spite of Manning DCup. What it does tell us is that there is "talent", abundant or otherwise. The aforementioned competitions run for three months for those who go all the way. The serious schools that cherish these trophies start training (I'm open to correction) in July, so the players have five months of football. Ideally, they should be playing twelve months a year. I don't know that the schools' competition can deliver on this.

The other point with schools and sports development is, is this what Jamaican taxpayers should be funding? i.e. a football (any sport) development programme? Better to spend it on the other things you've championed like IT, Robotics etc. For a country like Jamaica to think of schools as a development base for sports, outside of P.E. as part of the whole development of the child, is IMO a misguided use of funds. At the end of the day, 3/10 benefits the country how? Training some youths in Robotics etc. is probably a bigger bang for the taxpayer buck.

So while the schools can boast this and that (3/10) and I am genuinely happy for the individuals involved, football development should be the purview of the JFF and the individual.

And since we know Manning and D Cups aren't going anywhere, I do agree with you that there should be tiered system to improve what we have at the moment. Improved fields and better coaches is a given generally speaking, and that should be to the benefit of all youths, not just those who happen to land up in a good school.

Don, my opinion that 3/10 is in spite of Manning DCup. What it does tell us is that there is "talent", abundant or otherwise. The aforementioned competitions run for three months for those who go all the way. The serious schools that cherish these trophies start training (I'm open to correction) in July, so the players have five months of football. Ideally, they should be playing twelve months a year. I don't know that the schools' competition can deliver on this.

The other point with schools and sports development is, is this what Jamaican taxpayers should be funding? i.e. a football (any sport) development programme? Better to spend it on the other things you've championed like IT, Robotics etc. For a country like Jamaica to think of schools as a development base for sports, outside of P.E. as part of the whole development of the child, is IMO a misguided use of funds. At the end of the day, 3/10 benefits the country how? Training some youths in Robotics etc. is probably a bigger bang for the taxpayer buck.

So while the schools can boast this and that (3/10) and I am genuinely happy for the individuals involved, football development should be the purview of the JFF and the individual.

And since we know Manning and D Cups aren't going anywhere, I do agree with you that there should be tiered system to improve what we have at the moment. Improved fields and better coaches is a given generally speaking, and that should be to the benefit of all youths, not just those who happen to land up in a good school.
              I agree with you. There is significant latent talent among our yutes

With the vacuum created by the lack of proper planning & execution by the JFF, clubs etc...schoolboy football, as deficient everyone knows it is because of very low investment...has become the system that Jamaica DEFAULTS to for football development.

School ball was neither designed nor resourced for the mission of Jamaica's football development.... nor should that be its primary purpose imho. It should primarily be recreational

In that environment "blaming" school ball for Jamaica's lack of development...is beyond ludicrous

I agree with you. There is significant latent talent among our yutes

With the vacuum created by the lack of proper planning & execution by the JFF, clubs etc...schoolboy football, as deficient everyone knows it is because of very low investment...has become the system that Jamaica DEFAULTS to for football development.

School ball was neither designed nor resourced for the mission of Jamaica's football development.... nor should that be its primary purpose imho. It should primarily be recreational

In that environment "blaming" school ball for Jamaica's lack of development...is beyond ludicrous
                ..And anyone who does that should be quite rightly labelled an "ignoramus"

Precisely...now run along and lecture Muadib on that issue

While you're at that empty yappin exercise explain what the existence of school football has to do with "academies" and how school football inhibits the development of Jamaican ball

..And anyone who does that should be quite rightly labelled an "ignoramus"
                    yuhseeit

I tire of your attempts at argument..

Thanks for trying

A couple month high school season that has a couple decent games for the season is not doing anything to assist our youngsters, when their counterparts are playing serious ball throughout the year.

The majority of our top footballers play at clubs, so the focus should be on them and developing there, where you can easily establish a tiering system and get the best footballers together.

Given the money involved in Manning Cup, things will not change.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                          A couple month high school season that has a couple decent games for the season is not doing anything to assist our youngsters, when their counterparts are playing serious ball throughout the year.

The majority of our top footballers play at clubs, so the focus should be on them and developing there, where you can easily establish a tiering system and get the best footballers together.

There are no facts to present that would dispute improved teaching/coaching within schools would not improve higher standard games in the school competitions, higher quality school players assisting NPL clubs to raise standards of their current extremely lousy play and improve play at national teams (age-groups & senior teams) level. As fact, commonsense suggests that improved competences at lower levels lead to improved results at more advanced levels if the motivation and optimum environment for continued learning and advancement is in place. It is wasteful to not utilize the physical plants and human resources in place at schools to push improved quality graduates...period!

if the motivation and optimum environment for continued learning and advancement is in place
                            The optimum environment for developing footballers has been proven to be an academy system...keep trying to reinvent the wheel Karl

=Me;463309]A couple month high school season that has a couple decent games for the season is not doing anything to assist our youngsters, when their counterparts are playing serious ball throughout the year.
                              absolutely agree. Manning was designed in 1914 for recreation, an outlet for pent up energies of boys... and skool props. Because of poor football leadership it became and remains the default program for youth development

Given the wide gap between some schools and regular 7-0, 8-0 and even 12-0 scorelines in early rounds it's only sane and humane that tiering be instituted...with the side benefit of improved play at the top level

Yes...but the onus is on the clubs to improve themselves and become real businesses. The fact that this has not occurred is due to the ineptitude of the clubs themselves and the JFF structure. The JFF can easily force/persuade/incentivize the best kids not to play for schools but for a club league or a national academy for example.
                              Given that the school season is a mere 3 months that may not even make much difference anyway ...since the best players already are in clubs

What schools spend on Manning is peanuts compared to Champs. Plus there is no financial incentive that schools enjoy from Manning Cup...like US colleges do from sports programs for example

I never understood this money argument atall
                              Last edited by Don1; January 17, 2014, 06:20 PM.

The optimum environment for developing footballers has been proven to be an academy system...keep trying to reinvent the wheel Karl
                                You do not even know what is an "academy system".
                                It has been explained ad infinitum that each club's academy, national academy are unique institutions with differing ways of operating.

Why don't you outline what you mean by an academy - football academy? That way the discussion can 'zero in' on specifics.