Talent abounds - Blake No. 1 pick!

As the JFF and the rest of the country is asleep... schoolboy football saves the day

Without school ball & school track programs Jamaican youth would have zero development in those sports... Period

But we understand than when some skools pick up 12 love etc.. their adherents may have a warped view

suh wait.. yuh tink di schoolboy Mafia still in school ???

ah wheh di..?!

Tek it up wid Simoes.. when him get 12 love by di way ? Run wheh wid yuh schoolboy level argument.. sed ting hold wi back..

Yuh an Simoes tink ah Brazil dis. Yuh nuh know seh Jamaican club nuh carry nuh vibes? But den how yuh fi know dat wen ah TV unnu watch ball pon? LOOL

Yuteman If pikney neva ah play ball inna skool wich part dem wudda play... club league? LOOL

Is like yuh nuh know yaad... yuh mussi tink ah foreign dis

Heh, heh.. School Boy Mafia strang.. how much dem a pay yuh ?

Dem should get a refund.. yuh argument dem poor..

Tell di School Boy Mafia fi release di chain.. it a kill wi..

LOL... All now yuh cyaan explain wich part di 5000 13-18 y.o. yutes agguh play if recreational skool ball nuh deh bout... bayh yappin wi get fram yuh bout some La Cosa Nostra fantasy...woooiiieee

Mek wi hear di alternative nuh...ar is juss yappin yah defen

Article with video from the draft:

http://www.mlssoccer.com/superdraft/...icut-goalkeepe

More video:

2014 MLS SuperDraft - Andre Blake

Sorry Zeps! I waited for you to post this news, as you are wont to do regarding the MLS, especially if the news is not flattering for Jamaicans, but I couldn't wait any more. The excitement was killing me!

I trust you have picked up on the trend - we're taking over the MLS! Y'all may need to hire patwa translators at each club. Good news for you, what with your experience on this site!

Sorry Zeps! I waited for you to post this news, as you are wont to do regarding the MLS, especially if the news is not flattering for Jamaicans, but I couldn't wait any more. The excitement was killing me!

I trust you have picked up on the trend - we're taking over the MLS! Y'all may need to hire patwa translators at each club. Good news for you, what with your experience on this site!
                    mi spleen!!

Yep, you beat me to the punch on that one for sure. But I'm getting my resumé together now for that translator job!

Andre Blake takes goalkeeping 'gift' to Philly

It was a bittersweet day for UConn coach Ray Reid when he saw his Husky Andre Blake become the first goalkeeper to be picked No. 1 in an MLS draft.

“For him, it’s the right time [to go pro]," said Reid, for whom the 23-year-old Jamaican played three seasons before opting to go pro after his junior year. “He’s done a great job. I was looking forward to winning a championship with him, but he’s done everything else we wanted him to do.”

(continue)

Seems like someone should update their views regarding Jamaica,we were impressive regarding the results in examinations sat by our high school students and clearly have more talented football youngsters than they would have us believe.
                          Last edited by Rockman; January 17, 2014, 11:32 AM.

The alternative is investment in Youth Football.. not High School football..

One haffi suffah fi di oddah in the short to medium term. is dat reality yuh ah run from...

Imagine

Imagine if Jamaica would have a youth development "Nation Wide" program which has trained coaches to do the job with a real plan for development. The MLS would in time take many more players and not just from the USA university system that has helped in a small way develop players from Jamaica.

Unfortunately the 'Nations Football Leaders" could care less about youth development, stronger league play at all age levels and they have no present plan or football development understanding (Play in France???). The present state of football is in a huge disarray from senior to youth development, every one knows it (but they are doing nothing about it) and if major changes do not go forward soon we'll be in a BIGGER HOLE than the present.

Notice in the latest FIFA ranking where other CONCACAF teams are in compared to Jamaica. Rankings do not tell all but they seems to show us something about where Jamaica is heading.

What are you saying coach? There is an abundance of talent?