• Talent abounds - Blake No. 1 pick!

John Korduner

PHILADELPHIA – The Philadelphia Union pulled a last-minute surprise to kick off the MLS SuperDraft on Thursday, trading up in the draft to make Andre Blake the first-ever goalkeeper taken first overall in the league’s history.

The Union – who also held the top pick as an expansion franchise in 2010 – swapped the second overall pick and an undisclosed amount of allocation money to D.C. United for the pick.

A Jamaican youth international, the 6-foot-4 Blake was impressive at last week’s MLS Player Combine in Florida after a junior season with the Huskies that saw him win the Big East Goalkeeper of the Year award and win his third consecutive nod to the NSCAA All-American team. He allowed just 15 goals in 20 matches last season while leading the team to the Elite 8 for the third straight year.

Blake was also named this year’s Generation adidas class, which means his salary will not count against Philadelphia’s cap until he graduates from the program.

The last time a goalkeeper was taken among the top three picks overall was in 2005, when Chivas USA selected Brad Guzan at No. 2. Guzan has emerged as a regular for the US national team and will likely be pa

John Korduner

PHILADELPHIA – The Philadelphia Union pulled a last-minute surprise to kick off the MLS SuperDraft on Thursday, trading up in the draft to make Andre Blake the first-ever goalkeeper taken first overall in the league’s history.

The Union – who also held the top pick as an expansion franchise in 2010 – swapped the second overall pick and an undisclosed amount of allocation money to D.C. United for the pick.

A Jamaican youth international, the 6-foot-4 Blake was impressive at last week’s MLS Player Combine in Florida after a junior season with the Huskies that saw him win the Big East Goalkeeper of the Year award and win his third consecutive nod to the NSCAA All-American team. He allowed just 15 goals in 20 matches last season while leading the team to the Elite 8 for the third straight year.

Blake was also named this year’s Generation adidas class, which means his salary will not count against Philadelphia’s cap until he graduates from the program.

The last time a goalkeeper was taken among the top three picks overall was in 2005, when Chivas USA selected Brad Guzan at No. 2. Guzan has emerged as a regular for the US national team and will likely be pa
    Errrrrrrrrrrr... how far removed is he from "schoolboy football"?????????

was the talent always there?

3 and a half years.

Ok..thanks

was the talent always there?
            where do you mean?? In the schoolboy leagues?

Absolutely... but not the coaching within it or leading up to it

interestingly.. Jamaica 3 players drafted in the top 10. I say this inspite of our short comings.. or do we have the talent but poor coaching... seriously think about it..

Nothing to think about...

Academy based system would unleash the talent.. instead we are stuck with "Dark Blue vs Light Blue" and other storms in a teacup...

an dat is my contention. so much talent goes abegging because of that .....

after under 14, is pretty much downhill

Yuh mean not even Belize Under-15 wi can beat ?

You nah fi think about it. Some those colleges have pretty serious programs.
                      Coach like Ray Reid at UCONN have been coaching yard from about 1990 if not before. I can remember my friend playing with him as National Champion at Southern CT. Since then Damani Ralph, Obrien White, Akeen Priestly, Nico Blake, JorneyHill, just to name a few and now you have Campbell(Rudi nephew) waiting to come out next year.

Another Jamaican.. this youth people dem come from Clarendon.

http://www.torontofc.ca/news/2014/01...ins-first-team

actually sass my little bredin Alando Matheson is a nice player on that team.

Nothing to think about...

Academy based system would unleash the talent.. instead we are stuck with "Dark Blue vs Light Blue" and other storms in a teacup...

Yep widout wi nutten wudda gwaan...wi affi rescue di country yet again!!

Blue tuh di Whirllllll

Schoolboy Football Mafia has held back Yard football development bout 15 years...