• Talent Abounds! LA Lewis highly rated at MLS Combine

2014 MLS SuperDraft Top 5: Attacking mids ready to flaunt their creativity

January 15, 2014

Nate Sulat

MLSsoccer.com

If there's one area of the field in the 2014 SuperDraft that's loaded up with talent (and not center back), it's attacking midfield.

Everyone is in agreement that this year's class of creative midfielders have the technical ability, field vision and range of passing to succeed in MLS. A lot of them are going to get taken in the first round so that they can try and prove everyone right.

1. Andre Lewis (Jamaica U-20s): Lewis has been an absolute revelation at the Combine, showcasing cunning and craftiness beyond his years. He can dribble out of tight spaces, even with people kicking him in the shins, and his first touch is superb. That said, he also stands out for his lack of size. Will that come back to bite him? Range: Mid first.

2. Pedro Ribeiro (Coastal Carolina): Let's get this out of the way first: At 6-foot-4 and more than 200 pounds, Ribeiro is a large man. As is the cliche with Brazilians, though, he's got the ball on a string, and can use a combination of strength and technical ability to glide through defenses. In an ideal world, he's your No. 10 attacking midfielder, but if necessary a team could probably move him wide or to defensive midfielder. Range: Early-to-mid first.

3. Steve Neumann (Georgetown): He has been knocked for basically his entire soccer life for lacking athleticism, but he makes up for it with hard work, an unreal touch on the ball and an almost otherworldly ability to pick out a pass or fire a shot on goal. He's at his most influential closer to goal, but he can be dangerous on any level in midfield. Range: Early-to-mid first.

4. Alex Sweetin (St. Louis): Sees things that other players don't, but he can serve a ball so well that he can pull off the tough stuff when he gets a chance. He's got pace, though it's not his strong suit, but coaches get concerned about the amount of punishment he takes for seeing so much of the ball. Can he hold up for an entire MLS season? Range: Early second

5. Thomas McNamara (Clemson): At his best when he's running guys down, relying mostly on his cleverness rather than any superhuman athleticism. McNamara is a very intelligent player, so can make the crucial pass and connect well in the final third. Defending, however, is just not his thing, and he'll sometimes drift out of games. Range: Late second.

Others to keep an eye on: Moses Adeniran (UAB), Victor Munoz (UCLA), Vaughn Spurrier (Temple), Gonzalo Frechilla (FIU), Michael Calderon (New Mexico), Nathan Page (Drexel), Maximiliano Garcia (Seton Hall), Alex Martinez (NC State), Carlos Montes (Santa Clara), Justin Portillo (Coastal Carolina), Carlos Benavides (Cal St. Northridge), Dante Marini (Northeastern)

Good post!
    ...as Sass' 'name call' was just awful!

Wish Andre every success.
    Frankly I hope he is taken by an MLS club and uses that opportunity as launching pad to top of the world. He bears my hope of becoming the next top class player from Jamaica. Much too long since Lindy Delaphena took England's premier league by storm.

I don't quite have those expectations for him, but it would be great if he surprises me.

Seem to have really impressed in the combine, as some see him going as high as #6 to FC Dallas. The only "draw back" they mention is his size, BUT don't forget that tough, skillful player from France, Jean Tigana, (I think they might be the same height) who complemented Platini perfectly in midfield.

NOTE: Saw mock drafts showing 4 Jamaicans drafted in the first 2 rounds.

Juninho, Zola,bebeto

Sound like him have some of the physical goods and some of the mental goods, the key to success with having what some of us call talent is the determination factor, the yearning for success, the yearning to improve, to take care of family, to be a trailblazer, to conquer all type of weather related obstacles.

We have to find the youths that have the talent but also have the desire and want to work harder than everybody else to get it, I know them youths are out there but for some reason we cannot find them at the right time as our patronage, or "my youth" system is clogging up the works.

Luka Modric, Iniesta, Xavi
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Doan figet Girese (sp), ah tink him was di shortest one

Di yout did learn sump'n from him inclusion wid di senior team setup it seems.

You are right, Stoni.

I prefer to call it, "Having the right attitude". In a nut-shell if he is willing to learn...be educated on the how to play the game then I see nothing stopping him.

There was/is another player who had just as much talent (different type player, but tremendous talent) - and based on the talent should have moved quite comfortably into the national team pre-Hex rounds of our World qualifiers - Omar Holness and yet Holness has not made the expect progress.

I remember when we were putting the very first player in Vietnam and I was prepping him for his trials that I told him - all other things being equal...mmm? ...player has the technical tools - touch, pace, passing ability and passing range - the difference between a player who 'fails' and one who 'succeeds' or that between the good player and the brilliant player is 'the thinking'.

Who has the smarts. Recognises that there is much to learn and applies self.

Recognises that TEAM is everything and plays according...comports self accordingly.

Recognises that regardless of displayed 'love' for the player by the coach/manager...it is never about the player (never about you) but how best the player (you) can assist the coach/manager to cement job tenure...how the player helps/(you help) TEAM.

...to simplify the above - all other things being equal - It is all about attitude!!!