BrickTop...you are correct.........again..!!!

And it has already been established that the path of the ball is not factored in the judgement of offside... only in your mind..

The path of the ball determines if a player in an offside position is interfering with play...so once again you are incorrect

no the actions of the player determine if he is interfering with play..

The play was a shot on goal.. the actions of the player did not interfere with play..

The End.

the intent of the play is of no consequence here...the fact is that the ball was directed towards a player in an offside position...

no the ball was directed to goal.. there were several players that took evasive action.. including the player that was in an offside position...

It is only incidental that he was in the path of the ball..

There is no reference to path of ball in the offside rule.. a fact that seems to escape you..

The test of offsides is done as soon as the ball is played.. path is irrelevant..

Active play in this instance is a shot on goal.. if the player in an offside position does not interfere with this play.. he is not to be penalized..

n
              The test of offsides is done as soon as the ball is played.. path is irrelevant..

One can be in an offside position and not be called offside...so you cannot determine offside "as soon as the ball is played"...you need to also determine where the ball is played...if no advantage gained offside is not called...poor ting...

Was an advantage gained?

the player in an offside position was a threat to redirect the ball into the goal as the ball was played directly to him...so yes an advantage was gained...the goalkeeper had to guard against such an outcome

The determination from a location perspective is determined once the ball is played.

Evaluation of whether you are penalized is determined by the actions of the player relative to the PLAY.. in this instance the PLAY is a shot on goal..

The player did not interfere nor gain any advantage by his actions..

Yuh head tuff eeh..

It has already been determined why an advantage was gained by the player in an offside position...once the ball was played directly to that player he is determined to be interfering with play...the goalkeeper had to protect against the player in an offside position playing the ball...it is not incumbent on the goalkeeper to determine that the player is in an offside position and cannot legally play the ball

finally we get to the end of the road...

based on the location of the player he could not be viewed as a threat by the goal-keeper who failed to react (since his vision was blocked by his own players)

By the time the goal keeper realized the path of the ball it was too late to react.. much less process whether or not the offside player was a threat..

Any referee who offered such a suggestion would be committing professional suicide.. that would demonstrate the judgement of a village idiot !

Arrant nonsense...

The goalkeeper was not in a position to make that assessment... he would have to know where the ball is in the first place..

By the time he could realize that the offside player could divert the ball.. it was too late (basic laws of human physics apply here) making any hypothetical 'assessment' moot..

It is obvious you have never played the game.. yuh tink is EA Sports dis ?

The ball was played directly to a player in an offside position...that player was a threat to turn the ball into the goal...he is therefore interfering with the play...referee made the correct decision...offside

the referee determined that the player in an offside position was interfering with play...he was a threat to turn the ball into the goal...you might want to read the rule again...unless i am mistaken it doesn't mention anything about reactions or intent

I missed that revelation from the referee.. please provide link..

How was the player interferring with play ?

Please keep the response within the realm of reality...