Newcastle v ManCity: Tiote's goal should have stood

What can I say... I learn from the best...like a man who have over 42,000 posts...

But my real point is that Yanga get a yellow for a deliberate tackle that is potentially career ending and a next man get ten matches plus a hefty fine for a nibble?? my brain, or lack of, tells me something is wrong with that picture.

The player in an offside position was in the path of the ball...he had to get out of the way at the last minute...the ball did not blow by him...

Red card foul for sure! What is Nasri's status? Tests done as yet?

Now for the offside. I would like to agree 100% with the majority who believe the goal should have stood, but I can only agree 60%. If the player did not have to duck out of the way, then it would be a clear, unequivocal goal. But having to take such evasive action...one can understand the officials thinking the player was interfering with the play. Does it matter that the shot was unstoppable? It kinda does, but if the goalie thinks the ball is going to strike the player, and then doesn't, isn't that interfering with the play? And if I were the goalie, you would not be able to convince me that I could not save that shot!
        Pardue should beat the living daylights out of his forwards - all of them, who did not get out of the box post haste. Had they gotten back on side with some level of urgency, this discussion would not be necessary.

Now for the offside. I would like to agree 100% with the majority who believe the goal should have stood, but I can only agree 60%. If the player did not have to duck out of the way, then it would be a clear, unequivocal goal. But having to take such evasive action...one can understand the officials thinking the player was interfering with the play. Does it matter that the shot was unstoppable? It kinda does, but if the goalie thinks the ball is going to strike the player, and then doesn't, isn't that interfering with the play? And if I were the goalie, you would not be able to convince me that I could not save that shot!
          Yiuh have likkle sense afterall

Stop defend yuh bwoy Sewerez nuh man!
            Finally!! Someone here spelling the man name correctly!!!
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

, or a nibble on the arm?

NIBBLE???!! Why not just call it a love bite then????
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Hatred is ugly Mr. Jingle; and when you done ugly fi start wid... it only makes it worse. You must be related to Sir Fartlick

Peter R, it's the same reasoning why spitting on someone, quite harmless an action, could be similarly punished. Some things are just not done!

And I would have no problem with them reviewing that tackle and increasing the punishment. That would be the right thing to do.

And I have no problem with that....so we do have some common ground Suarez has his cross to bear because of handling ball, spitting and biting and so he has a a reputation that no matter how much he may redeem himself, some will never forgive nor forget.

I will also agree that spitting and biting fall into their own category of behaviour which is much more than football and border on anti-social and even deviance and should not be tolerated in any sphere. Hand ball is "football".

Having said that I am at heart a Christian and I genuinely believe in forgiveness and that a person can make amends and redeem himself.... (especially when they score 22 goals for your club at more than a goal a game I might add )

What I do have a problem with people looking at a tackle like the one against Nasri and, well, it's business as usual... there is some initial outrage but within twenty-four hours it's all forgotten and people have moved on. IMO, that play should be totally reviewed and appropriate sanctions applied!

Cho....a juss choo you were polished off by attending a good school yuh kno.....or else me would a juss set the Champion Don1 pon yuh fi kick off yuh face. Yuh henging on by a tread......

Interfering in the play has nothing to do with obstructing the vision of the goalkeeper
                        Interfering with the goalkeeper to prevent him playing the ball is always an infringement. One way of obstructing the goalkeeper is interposing self between the goalkeeper and the line of his sight on flight of the ball.

Clearly in the case under discussion the goalkeeper was not prevented from playing the ball by any of the three players in an offside position. Not one of those players interposed self between the goalkeeper and the ball. That translates into there never being a correct offside call.

...the player that was in an offside position was active in the play...he was a threat to deflct the ball into the goal...the goalkeeper has no idea if that player is in an offside position or not...it is clear cut call
                        See above - neither your 'the player' of any of the others should have been called offside. They all were in offside positions but they all were not interfering with the play or attempting to interfere with play - i.e. with the goalkeeper or any opponent or the ball and definitely not during or after the tremendous strike by Tiote!

GOAL! ...ref got it wrong!
                        As Tilla says,
                        It happens! !
                        Nothing to do about it save next (match) for Newcastle! Tough!]

Sky Sports - Cheick Tiote 'goal' was wrongly disallowed

http://www1.skysports.com/football/n...gly-disallowed

and diving .... what was he punished for again ... using racist language?

If the Goakeeper is not diving full stretch by the time the ball reach di 6 yard box him dead ahready..

It is something called physics..

Lets not get profound..

and diving .... what was he punished for again ... using racist language?
                                if he had been accused of using "racist language" it would have been a criminal case, and on that front, he would have been found not guilty (if the JT case was anything to go by where video evidence still was not enough). So no, he was not punished for "using racist language", the FA was careful to make sure of that so as to take full advantage of making the foreigner a scape goat for their own racial abuse charge to UEFA (still not figured out by the way). Go figure.