Bow Down...

in a situation like that defenders have to "react" otherwise is den dem a look fool! speed (of though and "across the ground" was the deciding factor.

which defender could have anticipated so audacious a pass? and if they guess and get it wrong ......
    Defenders must always...inclusive of the last defender, the goalkeeper...be on their toes. They must be as must all other players, all-seeing!

Frankly I do not understand why there is a need to make excuses for the defenders...or any other player for that matter. This is a game that it is in an important sense, all about results! The defenders being discussed 'cuffed'!

Karl, it appears to me that rather than Negredo reacting, he set up the play by making a run that Toure reacted to; essentially he Negredo had the defense beaten a second before the pass was made. I don't think the defenders had any chance here. The communication between Toure and Negredo was impeccable; as if they read each others minds.
      Both Toure and Negreto 'saw' the pass. Toure made it...Negreto accepted it!
      That is what real football is about the ability to see the possible and do...and the ability to see the possible and react to same!

The aim is always to be 'first'. ...and on each act both defender and attacker cannot be first. ...but the aim is to spot what could be done better/with greater efficiency and work towards same. Not to hide from the 'errors'.

Why would I always reference TEAM and TEAM as being a unit acting as with one mind if it were not that plays such as the Toure/Negreto link not a 'conditioned reflex' nerve pathway within whole?

Unnuh can tan deh...an som can talk bout dem tired fi ear TEAM. TEAM is everything!!!

Again: I give full props to Toure and Negreto. Even as there is recognition of the defenders being 'slow'.

Aside: Bwoy, Peter: Inherent in what you say above is Toure reacted fastest to Negreto's act. OK...let me buy that.

I addressed the defenders not 'seeing' in same time or earlier the possibility of the pass and indeed, did not see what Negreto did and what Toure did until it was too late.

...and as we saw by their reactions they (the defenders) were late in acting. So is there anything they can improve on to minimize being caught-out in the same manner at future dates? I think so.

Question: Who thought of the pass first Toure or Negreto?
      I sure as hell cannot answer that. I prefer to think 'minds acting as one'...football being played!!!
      Last edited by Karl; January 10, 2014, 11:06 AM.

The man's name is NegreDo...sorry I couldn't tek it nuh more...

You guys need to watch La Liga and a team called Barca..

Whats all the excitement about ???

You guys need to watch La Liga and a team called Barca..

Whats all the excitement about ???

Yeah, La Liga has now improved to a 3 team league.

simple question karl, if you know what yuh going to do before the defender knows what you are going to do, you have that advantage of a nano second. the good players make that count. defenders can either react or anticipate.

Karl you are wrong.
                Above you say I am wrong...and then below you confirm/restated what I said.

The above statement describes the attributes that separates great players from good players. Every goal can be prevented and if broken down can be faulted to someone. What about the other players around Toure who allowed him to make such a beautiful pass? They are at fault too. The pass itself took out the two defenders AND the goal keeper. Just appreciate the beauty of the goal itself.
                A wah di 'ell

Good chat, sir!

[QUOTE=Gamma;462088]simple question karl, if you know what yuh going to do before the defender knows what you are going to do, you have that advantage of a nano second. the good players make that count. defenders can either react or anticipate.[/QUOTE]

Good chat, sir!

The highlighted section of your post has the underlying questioning of who has the edge on speed of thought and following action.

Do you remember anyone saying -
                  I cannot be marked out of a game as the opponent does not reside in my head?

Above you say I am wrong...and then below you confirm/restated what I said.

A wah di 'ell
                    Karl - I don't think you've ever played football have you? You are simply not appreciating the enormity of skill and communication involved in Negredo LEADING Toure to make that pass - it was MOST DEFINITELY not the other way around. The minute Negredo made the jump he had an advantage (not unlike if you got a enough of a headstart on bolt, you will win a race) that the defenders could NOT have made up. Stop blaming the defenders and appreciate the skill and communication involved from the attackers.

Negredo obtained the advantage when the defender closest to the flight of the ball was caught backpedalling instead of turning when Negredo made his move.. the pass was so precise and well weighted that the defender lost all advantage in the seconds he took to finally turned his hips.. Negredo was already in full flight by then..

That being said.. if Negredo has tried to control first then shoot the closing defender would probably have gotten a tackle in...

Negredo obtained the advantage when the defender closest to the flight of the ball was caught backpedalling instead of turning when Negredo made his move.. the pass was so precise and well weighted that the defender lost all advantage in the seconds he took to finally turned his hips.. Negredo was already in full flight by then..

That being said.. if Negredo has tried to control first then shoot the closing defender would probably have gotten a tackle in...
                        No issue with this assessment. The point remains - Negredo had the drop. Once Toure recognized that, it was off to the races for them - perfect execution ensued, and that was that.

don't worry...yuh soon find out

Karl - I don't think you've ever played football have you? You are simply not appreciating the enormity of skill and communication involved in Negredo LEADING Toure to make that pass - it was MOST DEFINITELY not the other way around. The minute Negredo made the jump he had an advantage (not unlike if you got a enough of a headstart on bolt, you will win a race) that the defenders could NOT have made up. Stop blaming the defenders and appreciate the skill and communication involved from the attackers.
                            Please stop introducing the red herrings (i.e. the suggestion that I have no appreciation of Toure's killer pass or Negreto's play and technical expertise)!

Before I turned to the defenders and while giving my opinion on the defenders - I had and have given Toure and Negreto full props!

If you wish to hold to your position that the defenders were not culpable negligent in allowing the play? Fine. I accept that is your position.

However, just for those who may be interested in 'study of the game':
                            ...and I add one more point
                            1. *The center-backs were not properly spaced - too far apart;

2. They both did not react swiftly enough to the danger posed by Negreto on Toure making the pass.

Timely reaction would have allowed for interception of the ball on or about the top of the Penalty-Area. ...and Negreto would have enjoyed a fruitless run.

Please stop introducing the red herrings (i.e. the suggestion that I have no appreciation of Toure's killer pass or Negreto's play and technical expertise)!

Before I turned to the defenders and while giving my opinion on the defenders - I had and have given Toure and Negreto full props!

If you wish to hold to your position that the defenders were not culpable negligent in allowing the play? Fine. I accept that is your position.

However, just for those who may be interested in 'study of the game':
                              ...and I add one more point
                              1. *The center-backs were not properly spaced - too far apart;

2. They both did not react swiftly enough to the danger posed by Negreto on Toure making the pass.

Timely reaction would have allowed for interception of the ball on or about the top of the Penalty-Area. ...and Negreto would have enjoyed a fruitless run.
                              Karl - you are beating a dead horse that couldn't run in the first place. Okay - one last try. Answer this: Is every one wrong and you are right? Seriously.

About 3 of you claim the defenders had no role to play in the outcome. So what do you mean by everyone?

...and let me buy into that everyone for a sec.
                                If you all decided to jump over a cliff and I refused to join you?

Paul you are in danger of descending into an unhealthy place because you cannot get me to say the defenders could not have performed more efficiently. Does that make sense?

...besides I have already accepted that you shall hold to your position. Why can't you allow me to hold to mine?