• So many want to contribute and the JFF ignores

Fraser Still Keen To Coach Jamaica
    Published: Monday | January 6, 2014 1 Comment
    Fraser
    Fraser
    Gordon Williams, Gleaner Writer

Jamaica-born former United States international, Robin Fraser, is still keen to assist the Reggae Boyz, but there's been little thaw in the cold shoulder shown him by local football authorities.

Currently an assistant coach with New York Red Bulls of Major League Soccer (MLS), Fraser said he has never received a call to serve, years after he publicly expressed interest in the national football programme.

Fraser claimed a "fleeting" enquiry, from a "third party" who had contact with the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has been the only hint his name was ever considered for a job. That followed Theodore Whitmore's departure as head coach during Jamaica's failed 2014 World Cup campaign. Yet he isn't fazed.

"Yeah, I'm very interested," Fraser said on Friday when asked if he would still like to join Jamaica's national programme.

Fraser played 16 years professionally, mainly in MLS, North America's premier league. He later coached MLS club Chivas USA, but was fired in 2012 after two seasons.

Jamaicans' natural football ability, especially those at a young age, sparked Fraser's interest to make a contribution. He believes the nation has not accomplished enough in the sport.

"From I was a little boy, I've wondered why Jamaica has so much talent and has not done well (more often)," said the 47-year-old, who left Jamaica with his family, returned to try out for a national youth team but was snubbed, and later played 27 times for the United States senior team. He had also expressed a desire to represent the senior Boyz.

NO DIRECT CONTACT

Following Whitmore's departure, after Jamaica's loss to Honduras last June, Fraser said he received a call to gauge his interest in a national job. The JFF, however, didn't contact him directly.

"I got the impression there was fleeting interest," said Fraser. " ... I've never spoken to the JFF ever."

German Winfried Schäfer replaced Whitmore and is reportedly mulling a contract offer from the JFF to stay on. However, Fraser insisted Jamaica's men's team is not the only area he's willing to help.

"My interest goes beyond the senior team," he explained. "I have interest in the senior team, but would love to be involved in the development of players. Years ago, I remember thinking Jamaicans were among the most talented in the world ... at the youth level."

All that's needed, Fraser believes, is to complement the talent with required discipline.

"The best players want some structure and some organisation," he said.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

From me a lickle bwoy me love mango,it goes without saying I (still))love mango.
    From me a lickle bwoy me know Yard full a talent...
    Share his views on the importance of placing emphasis on the youth level,seeing his willingness coupled with the JFF surreal fascination with instant gratification,he should be considered(either as a coach or replacing Burrell.

"My interest goes beyond the senior team," he explained. "I have interest in the senior team, but would love to be involved in the development of players. Years ago, I remember thinking Jamaicans were among the most talented in the world ... at the youth level."

All that's needed, Fraser believes, is to complement the talent with required discipline.

I confess, I am ROBIN FRASER!!! sorry it had to come out like this..

All I ask for is a football conference with the diaspora,let the JFF hear presentations by all who want to contribute.

Have one for

1) Coaches

2)Clubs

3)Investors

Simple, progressive but its too logical.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

too simple
          too progressive
          too logical

one of the best u16/u17 players in the entire caribbean if not CAN & USA (would not include Mexico) cannot get a call up to an underage squad? because jff have a grouse wid him coach?

Which player is that?

A dat me waan know! A who dat?

Chippy

I don't think the JFF has anything against Chippy because of his coach. They called Kyle to the under 15 team, so I don't see why they would rule out Chippy.

My issue with these players is they need to get into the system. Which team do they play for? Are they in rigorous training?

Imagine if the JFF were to select players based on the big ups of their parents, or because it is alleged that they signed contracts with a big club!

These players need to stop flying outside of the radar and get regularised.

They were at a club before their fallout last year, so that should not have been a problem. I guess now is a different story. But isn't he supposed to be going to Ajax?

that is even more perplexing then ... Chippy is a better player by far and away....

and i am saying if they don't have a club and can perform better than most what is the issue?!

Is he not going to sign with Ajax?

If he doesn't have a club in the future, it would be very hard for the JFF to justify selecting a player who trains with his coach only and doesn't play in a league.

The JFF actually has a policy which basically says a player must be actively playing with a club in order to be selected for national duty. Not surprisingly, I believe they have not been too strict about it in the past.