this could get real ugly real fast

• this could get real ugly real fast

"Mr. Faus is someone who knows nothing about football, and wants to run Barca like it was a business, which it is not," Messi said. "Barca is the best team in the world, and deserves to be represented by the best directors. And I remind him that neither I nor anyone from my camp have asked for a new contract -- and he knows that well."

Lionel Messi

"Mr. Faus is someone who knows nothing about football, and wants to run Barca like it was a business, which it is not," Messi said. "Barca is the best team in the world, and deserves to be represented by the best directors. And I remind him that neither I nor anyone from my camp have asked for a new contract -- and he knows that well."

Lionel Messi
    Seeing the charity treatment the 2 TEAMS in La Liga get, I can see why he doesn't want it run like a business.

that is now a side issue ..... messi attacking the barca directors??!! that is ronaldo-like!!!

Seeing the charity treatment the 2 TEAMS in La Liga get, I can see why he doesn't want it run like a business.
        Football as a business is a concept that's lost on fans, players, managers and the media - the only ones that "get it" are the ones that fly around in the private jets...laughing all the way to the bank. The money the average players get is peanuts compared to what the big boys stand to earn. That said, Barca and RM are indeed charities, they would be in for a rough time if the playing field were truly level.

See it deh...

Perez: Investigation caused by jealousy

December 20, 2013
          By Dermot Corrigan, Spain Correspondent

Spanish clubs under investigation by European Commission

ESPN FC's Des Curran discusses the investigation by the European Commission for the possible illegal use of state aid in La Liga.Tags: Espn Fc, Soccer, Spain, La Liga

[FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]Real Madrid president Florentino Perez has claimed a European Commission investigation into alleged illegal state aid for some La Liga clubs is motivated by jealousy.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]Earlier this week, the commission confirmed it was examining whether seven Spanish clubs had received illegal, market-distorting support from national and regional authorities through preferential tax rates, below-market value land deals and guaranteed bank loans.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]It is investigating whether Madrid, along with Barcelona, Athletic Bilbao and Osasuna, have an unfair advantage because they pay less tax due to their status as members’ clubs.[/FONT]
          Other / Mundo DeportivoMundo Deportivo pronounced that 'Rossell answers it all' on their front page.

[FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]It is also looking at what “appears to have been a very advantageous property swap with the City of Madrid”, which benefited the club by more than 22 million euros.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]But Perez said the investigation showed Spanish football was being victimised. He emphasised that the land deal had already been examined, and added: “There is a campaign against Spanish football because of the success we have had.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]“About our operation with the Ciudad Deportiva [training ground, the subject of the land deal] there was already a legal complaint. They investigated us, they wanted to damage us, and nothing happened.”[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]He said being a members’ club was not an advantage, and that it “had cost Madrid 13 million euros, because you cannot deduct for money which is reinvested.”[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]European Commissioner Joaquin Almunia told AS the investigation had been prompted by a complaint, but added that he could not reveal who had brought the matters to the commission’s attention.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]“When we receive information, or some complaint, we look to examine the information, to understand the situation, and if we reach a moment when we have reasonable doubts about state aid which is not compatible with European legislation, then we open a formal investigation,” he explained[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]He said the commission had “doubts” about the legality of the land dealings between Real Madrid and the city council, which saw land the club valued at 595,000 euros when Madrid bought it from the authority in 1998 and 22.7 million euros when it was sold back some years later.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]La Liga president Javier Tebas also said Spanish football’s success had led to suspicion.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]“Spanish football is being called into question because our teams win a lot of trophies and that has made people suspicious that our teams are receiving help, which they are not,” he insisted.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]“The European Union is obliged to monitor that the rules are being enforced as much as possible. That an investigation is under way does not mean anything.”[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]Many in Spain fear the investigation into tax rates paid by Spain’s member-owned clubs could lead to them being forcibly converted into private companies, withsocios, or members, then losing control.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]Almunia said the commission did not care how clubs were organised once they paid the same tax rate as other sides they competed against.[/FONT]
          [FONT=Georgia, 'New Century Schoolbook', serif]Barcelona chief Sandro Rosell said the club had always complied with legal obligations. “FC Barcelona has not received funds of any type from any official bodies,” he added.[/FONT]