• Suarez commits future to Liverpool after penning new

Suarez commits future to Liverpool after penning new long-term deal

By CRAIG HOPE
    PUBLISHED: 08:40 EST, 20 December 2013 | UPDATED: 08:44 EST, 20 December 2013
    View
    comments

Luis Suarez has ended speculation surrounding his future by penning a new long-term deal at Liverpool.

The Reds confirmed on Friday that their free-scoring Uruguayan – who has netted 17 times already this season – has committed his future to the club.

And Suarez said: ‘I am delighted to have agreed a new deal with Liverpool and have my future secured for the long term.
    Deal: Luis Suarez has signed a new long-term contract with Liverpool

‘We have some great players and the team is growing and improving all the time. I believe I can achieve the ambitions of winning trophies and playing at the very highest level with Liverpool. My aim is to help get us there as quickly as possible.

‘Without doubt the backing I have received from the Liverpool fans has influenced my decision. I am so proud to represent them and go out to do my best for them every time I pull on the shirt.

‘We have a special relationship; they have love for me and in return I love them back. I will always do my best for them and hopefully we can achieve success together.’

Manager Brendan Rodgers added: ‘This is fantastic news for everyone associated with the club; the team, the owners and most importantly the supporters.'
    More to follow...

In form: Suarez scored twice as Liverpool enjoyed a 5-0 win at Spurs on Sunday

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz2o1Ynwxdp
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Paul ....
    Were Kenny Dalglish's signings better than people first thought?

Tim Poole
    2 hours ago

Kenny Dalglish and Damien Comolli were initially lambasted for their big-money signings. But have they now turned out to be better than first thought?
    When Liverpool sold Fernando Torres and replaced him with Andy Carroll in January of 2011, no Reds fan could walk into a pub without being mocked.
    Thirty-five million pounds!? People would ask, before laughing and dismissing the former Newcastle striker's chances of succeeding.
    As far as Carroll was concerned, the doubters were proved right after he was sold to West Ham - with injuries meaning he has hardly featured for him this season.
    But what of Kenny Dalglish and Damien Comolli's other signings?
    As it turns out, they were not as bad as people first made out.
    Take Jordan Henderson, for instance. Much-maligned since his arrival from Sunderland in 2011, the 23-year-old has come on leaps and bounds in the last couple of seasons.
    Now, the midfielder is integral to Liverpool's first team. The engine room behind Brendan Rodgers' side - especially in the absence of Steven Gerrard - Henderson looks nothing like the nervous, stuttering youngster who first came to Anfield.
    And Henderson is not the only one, either.
    Another Dalglish signing, Jose Enrique, is also integral to the Reds' first team. Barring current injury, the Spaniard is a near-certainty to play each week and offers pace, strength and attacking flair at left-back
    But there is one player bought under Dalglish and Comolli's reign whose case does not even need championing.
    Indeed, Luis Suarez - arguably the best player in the world on current form - has taken the current Liverpool team to new heights. Yet it was not Rodgers who signed him, nor Roy Hodgson - who wanted to according to reports.
    No, the Uruguayan was brought in by Dalglish, with the Scot going on to show him immense faith and support during his journey towards becoming Liverpool's talisman.
    Of course, no one can make up for the transfers that undoubtedly did not succeed: Carroll, Stewart Downing, Charlie Adam. But no recruitment policy can ever be without its failings.
    To have three of his signings playing such a big part at Anfield after his departure would most certainly please Dalglish.
    And Liverpool fans can live safe in the knowledge that his signings were nowhere near as bad as first thought. Andy Carroll apart.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Fool. Watch the rapid fall down the table.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Deluded..lol

That is great news! As much as I dislike hiss antics, I have to admit he is a great player and i want to see him stay in the league I follow most.

To the Liverpool fans, Krismus come early! Congrats!!
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Wait till them find out that Santa Claus is a myth. Xcuse a go look smaddy fi sue.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"Any player can join any club for any fee. If Andy Carroll can move to Liverpool for £35 million after scoring 14 Premier League goals, then, in the January transfer window, anything is possible."

To give Dalglish credit for Suarez is totally misleading. Comolli is the one who identified him and worked out the deal under hodgson, but when the ink was to be put to paper, dalglish was installed as manager so signing was simply a formality...but at least he didn't scupper the deal. As for the rest of the Dalglish signings, the only one that could be considered a success is Henderson.

Fool. Watch the rapid fall down the table.
                  I saw this before on Jeopardy!

Answer: Watch the rapid fall down the table.
                  Question: What will happen if Slurgie appoints david moyes as manager?

Fool.

"Any player can join any club for any fee. If Andy Carroll can move to Liverpool for £35 million after scoring 14 Premier League goals, then, in the January transfer window, anything is possible."
                    Does that include Manu** getting relegated?

I saw this before on Jeopardy!

Answer: Watch the rapid fall down the table.
                      Question: What will happen if Slurgie appoints david moyes as manager?

Fool.

I heard that your old manager has a side job as a model for Santa Claus faces... His ruddiness is natural (from all the wine he takes in LOL) and all they do is add a beard...