Re: Thanks Bucknor for

Lets keep it real.

Last WC Qualifying squad was the best I have seen in build up and tactical discipline.
    then, you say --->

If you cannot qualify WITH Lazaroni as coach and you as TD... how yuh plan to qualify WITHOUT Lazaroni..

Are we to believe a Brazilian coach actually made the team WORSE !??

If yuh ask me dem should give Lazaroni MORE power.. problem was they brought him rather late and primarily for the final six and afterwords and they Figured Brown would have been an asset especially in PLAYER SELECTION POOL...

So let us keep it real gentlemen... please... unless Carl Brown was going to put on some boots and score some goal I don't see how him woulda tek us to Germany WITHOUT Lazaroni... what yuh need to ask Brown is what was his player selection pool strategy and why player like Lisbie siddung pon bench.. and why our forward selection options were so poor..
    So Carl Brown put together the best player pool ever? The play of the TEAM, particularly in away games showed you ....us that?

...and, you then attack CB on his player pool strategy?

Brasilians know nothing about INT'L football
      I am sure if you read what the man said again, you will see that this is not what he said.

Moreover Jawge, you know that Brazil with all its five World Cup victories and immense talent has failed more than it has won the Cup? When you look at the periods 1930-1954, Brazil failed. They had another long drought between 1970 and 1994 when they eventually won again. This I am sure is telling you something that although they are good, they are not all time conquerers.

1930 Uruguay
      1934 Italy
      1938 Italy
      1950 Uruguay
      1954 West Germany
      1958 Brazil
      1962 Brazil
      1966 England
      1970 Brazil
      1974 West Germany
      1978 Argentina
      1982 Italy
      1986 Argentina
      1990 West Germany
      1994 Brazil
      1998 France
      2002 Brazil
      2006 Italy

I have been following World Cup Football before you Jawge (yes, yuh jus start wha day yah), and I have been always dissapointed with Brazil over the years. Yes they are my team, but I am not as fanatical like you where the truth stares me in the face and I try to ignore it.

I agree with Steve Bucknor. Do not buy into the Brazilian system just suh. Borrow the things which are good from that system and incorporate it with other things from other systems thus creating your own. There is only one Brazil and we are not going to play the Brazilian game. The sooner we recognize this the better it will be for us. . .
      Last edited by Tilla; May 8, 2007, 02:28 PM.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
        Sorry mosiah, if we had left Carl Brown, we would not even have won that game in El Salvador 3-0. Recall that Haiti ran us ragged in Miami in the earlier rounds under CB. Carl would have suffered the same fate as Hunt did recently with the under-17s

Its no co-incidence that we cannot qualify a team for a world cup using local coaches. The under-17, under-20 and snior teams all achivede qualification under the guidance of the Brazilians.

Its funny that Bucknor is calling for the development of a "Jamaican style" in our football. The Jamaican style that he is talking about failed to qualify for the Caribbean Cup (local coach, local players), they failed to make the under-20 world cup, they just failed to qualify for the under-17s.
        Bucknor is saying we have never used a "Jamaican style" pattern of play as it relates to utilising our speed across ground. On the matter of "Jamaican style" he said nothing more than that.

On that matter of utilising our quickness over ground, he has a point.

Additionally on the point of successes gained - His take that Penna, Simoes and other Brazilians failed us is not without merit if taken in context of where we would have liked to go. Now if qualifying for FIFA World Championships finals is the sum total of our aim...definition of success...then one could take issue with Bucknor.

Somehow I get the feeling that Bucknor does not consider merely taking part in FIFA World Championships Finals as, by and of itself, the heights of success. Bucknor, I think...like myself...expects and wants more!
        Last edited by Karl; May 8, 2007, 02:51 PM.

Forget it Karl. Bucknor is also saying that our diet should be ackee, dasheen and pot water.

Funnnnnnnneeeeeeeeeeeee!
            ...but, I do not think so.

Aside: I do know your comment was tongue in cheek...but, I had to answer as I did because some may take you literally. suh jus cool!
            Last edited by Karl; May 8, 2007, 02:56 PM.

Tilla what are you talking about?
              Can't you see by the facts that the WC is a difficult tropy to win? It's an elite few with titles (Brasil always leading ofcourse) Look at thte other countries then tell me about their drought (these are nations with established leagues). Brasil is the only nation to win back to back titles, Brasil has won on FOUR continents (with Europe included) since 94 Brasil played the final games until 06. Which nation on this planet can compare to brasil's achievment in football. Tilla you are a mad man. Ah for man that deals with science;I'm surprised that you are here to say the one Brasil argument. Are you saying that there is some special water that the players drink in Brasil? Where did they get Robinho from? The street ball so was Romario and Ronaldo (king of indoor ball at youth) What they did was take these youngsters and taught them the proper techniques and discipline to succeed. What you must ask is this: Does JA has the people to identify a talent such as Roninho? Do we have the staff to coach and mentor at the youth level. Our culture in football don't even care about a good first touch, passing and vision of the field, how a player thinks and solves problems on the pitch, running with the ball exploiting space and last but not least the science of the ball (what to do with the ball in varied circumstances due to its physics) This is just technical we haven't touched the psychological, nutrition, hygiene and other aspects of the game. It was given to us and we are just not ready. BTW to close and prove my point: How many times has Hooland won the WC? thanks.
              I am sure if you read what the man said again, you will see that this is not what he said.

Moreover Jawge, you know that Brazil with all its five World Cup victories and immense talent has failed more than it has won the Cup? When you look at the periods 1930-1954, brazil failed. THey had another long drought between 1970 and 1994 when they eventually won again. This I am sure is telling you something that although they are good, they are not all time conquerers.

1930 Uruguay
              1934 Italy
              1938 Italy
              1950 Uruguay
              1954 West Germany
              1958 Brazil
              1962 Brazil
              1966 England
              1970 Brazil
              1974 West Germany
              1978 Argentina
              1982 Italy
              1986 Argentina
              1990 West Germany
              1994 Brazil
              1998 France
              2002 Brazil
              2006 Italy

I have been following World Cup Football before you Jawge (yes, yuh jus start wha day yah), and I have been always dissapointed with Brazil over the years. Yes they are my team, but I am not as fanatical like you where the truth stares me in the face and I try to ignore it.

I agree with Steve Bucknor. Do not buy into the Brazilian system. Boirrow the things which are good from that system and incorporate it with other things from other systems thus creating your own. There is only one Brazil and we are not going to play the Brazilian game. The sooner we recognize this the better it will be for us. . .

If it is as you say Buknor has a point about the Brazillians failing us from a footballing developent point of view , he is dead wrong .

1st who's responsibility is that ? 2nd wasnt Simoes laying the foundation for a national program under or with guidance/assisatnce from the JFF and corporate Jamaica and was sabotaged by Burell (no support) , so he walked.

3rd Qualifying for various football tournaments is a part of development and the Brazillinas did that on a consistent level.The rewards of such qualification were visibility on the world stage , contracts and contacts for our development , respect locally and internationally and of course marketability.

So please spare me.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

For sure, Brazilian football has not failed us. It is not the only thing we can practice, but to say it has failed us - DEAD wrong!

then, you say --->

So Carl Brown put together the best player pool ever? The play of the TEAM, particularly in away games showed you ....us that?

...and, you then attack CB on his player pool strategy?
                    The Striker and goal scoring player selection for the squad was weak relative to the available pool. The process also appeared experimental in terms of the bench.

Jamaiica VS USA

Damani Ralph, Marlon King (start)
                    Fuller, Lisbie, Burton (Bench)

Jamaica VS Panama

King, Fuller (start)
                    Burton, Ralph (Bench)

Jamaica VS El Salvador (El Salvador)

King, Fuller (start)
                    Burton, Davis (bench)

Jamaica VS Panama (Panama)

King, Fuller (start)
                    Burton, Fabian Davis (Bench)

Jamaica VS El Salvador (Jamaica)

King, Fuller (start)
                    Burton, Davis (bench)

Jamaica VS USA (USA)

Ralph, Fuller (start)
                    King, Davis (Bench)

Goals:

King (2), Fuller (0), Ralph (1), Burton (0), Davis (0), Lisbie (0) (1 game on bench)

Whitmore (1), Hyde (1), Goodison (1), Williams (1)

Some say if Nandi never tried to moonlight he could have made the difference with his free kick scoring ability and his tenacity and size advantage VS the Central Americans.

If so then I guess we should blame him.

If the blame game is going to be played there a few levels before you get to Lazaroni and they pass through the TD.

Lazronii clearly raised the level of play and tactical organization of the team that he was given. For maximum results (if we want to play hindsight) he should have been brought in earlier to also determine the best/right players from the eligiible pool and be in full control of the programme.. maybe then Lisbie woulda get a game for example...

Arguing that Carl Brown would have qualified us is assinine unless backed up with sound reasoning describing why he is a better coach than Lazaroni and his team and explaining his inability to influence as TD.