Look at it in super-slo MO! It nuh name after mi fi nutten!
GUNNERS v Everton
Originally posted by Jangle View PostThe English -bred managers lack creativity in the players that they buy and how they approach the game."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Paul Marin View PostI don't know if that is entirely true but I can see why you would say it. When you look at how both Everton and Arsenal played today, you saw midfield mastery at its finest, from both clubs. Everton really moved the ball well, with some unfortunate lack of killer instinct in the final third. However, I think the big problem that the "british" managers have is not "how they approach the game", but rather, thinking that the players they buy can execute the game they want to play. That's Liverpool and Manu**'s problem right now - okay ideas, wrong personnel. Liverpool has no midfield whatsoever beyond Gerrard and neither does Manu**...neither team has a better midfield than Everton and certainly not Arsenal.
Mertesacker's lack of pace was well covered by the other 3 at the back. They are...those 3...each quick...very quick and protected him well when necessary. The back 4 as unit was magnificent...save Gibbs' one lapse - not being tight enough on the goal-scorer and allowing his wonderful strike.
...so I would not say Everton lacked the killer instinct but rather, the GUNNERS defended magnificently!
This Everton team shall score many goals...never fear.
Talking football!
Liverpool: Saw it as a mistake selling Jon-Jo Shelby. In this player "Talent abounds" (HL, where are you?) needing only good teacher for his development.
At Swansea he has found such a teacher/coach/manager. He is a tremendous force. If the England manager uses him on a regular basis he could be one of the Brazil World Cup's revelations.Last edited by Karl; December 8, 2013, 04:43 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I am not one who is in love with pretty moves like some on this board but I must say Ozil efficiency in movement is amazing, he has this thing down to a science minimum number of moves, patience and the guts just back off. Like Teacha Hyde back in the days, ties shoes lace business and nobody move. His brain to body connection is just incredible, very sublime!
He is silky smooth. Pretty moves? More than anyone else? Naw! Just efficient. Still think he's overrated.
I have found on some occasions that he fails to connect with his teammates when it seems the easiest, on a fast break with few defenders around. Just when you expect him to make that "killer ball", he flubs it!
Get off it Karl. Reading your post one would think merge sacked is a liability ... He is not! Far from it and if after 15 games you still make those inane comments, to quote unior walker and the all stars, "what does it take?" .
Originally posted by Karl View PostThought so myself...then I saw the replay!
Walcott pulled away and moved goal-side while the ball was in the air i.e. after the ball was played.
Good legit goal!
...Giroud's mis-kick was perhaps a blessing in disguise. It put Howard off-balance (he may have saved a Giroud kick) and made it easy for Ozil!
I would give Walcott the benefit of the doubt."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I agree with you Mo, but I am willing to give him more time to adapt to the English game before I come to my final conclusion.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Well how can we expect the blind to see.
The only thing wrong with Ozil is lack of strength!
We have watched him at work in the EPL for games...and 90+% of the time he is on song! ...and it is not only memory that tells the tale.
The stats also back him up -
Further Analysis on Creativity – Clear Cut Chances
For the rest of this article we’re going to need your interaction to view the stats. By using the table below you can click on the column headings to sort the statistics (if you wish to use these else where please do credit this website & article with a link). If you click on the Mins Per Clear-Cut column this will shows us which players are creating clear-cut chances the most frequently.
So what is a clear cut chance?
A situation where a player should reasonably be expected to score usually in a one-on-one scenario or from very close range.I’d like to call them “sitters” because it’s an easier way of describing it to the football fan out there. A free header, a one-on-one, a penalty – basically any free shot on goal for a player who is un-marked and only has the keeper to beat.
Ok so if you’ve clicked on that column below you’ll see that Luis Suarez is creating clear-cut chances the most frequently this season – one every 180 mins so one every two games which is very impressive. Sergio Aguero, Christian Eriksen, James Ward-Prowse and Adam Johnson make up the top five all creating as frequently as every 217 mins.
So why do these stats matter a little more? A clear-cut chances is a chance of a much higher quality than the normal chance created therefore these frequency of creating a clear-cut chance should also be taken into consideration when talking about the most creative threats in the Premier League. Steven Gerrard and David Silva come in 6th and 8th place respectively in this category.
NameTotal ChancesClear-CutMins Per Clear-CutPasses Per ChanceAccurate Passes Per ChanceSteven Gerrard294240.826.022.6David Silva272289.519.617.3Mesut O zil241698.023.019.9Robert Snodgrass241756.014.310.9Samir Nasri240N/A22.320.2Tom Huddlestone231931.024.018.7Eden Hazard222441.021.117.4James Ward-Prowse223216.018.515.9Mark Noble223323.728.824.0
--------------
The past is just that, the past!
...but is he living up to his past record?
German playmaker Mesut Ozil joined the Gunners from Real Madrid in a club record deal on September 2, 2013.
Widely regarded as one of the world’s finest midfielders, the gifted left-footer spent three years in Madrid, making 159 appearances and scoring 27 goals. While at the Bernabeu, he won the league title in 2012 and was a runner-up twice – also picking up a Copa del Rey winner’s medal in 2011.
Mesut Ozil Profile
Born October 15, 1988
Gelsenkirchen, Germany Position:MidfielderSquad Number:11Previous Club(s)
Schalke, Werder Bremen, Real Madrid
Before moving to Spain, Mesut was with Werder Bremen for two years and was a UEFA Cup runner-up in 2009. He began his career at hometown club Schalke, making his senior debut in 2006/07, and helping them finish as Bundesliga runners-up that year.
A creative force blessed with good acceleration and an eye for a killer pass, Mesut has made more assists – 72 – than any other player in Europe’s top five leagues during the last half-decade. He has also created more chances from open play – 353 – than anyone else during that time.
A full Germany international with a scoring record of almost one in three, he made his debut, aged 20, against Norway in 2009. Mesut, who is of Turkish descent, then starred at the 2010 World Cup and was among the nominees for the Golden Ball award.
Two years later he was named in the Euro 2012 Team of the Tournament, after helping Germany to the semi finals. He first came to international attention when impressing for his country in their successful 2009 UEFA Under-21 Championship campaign, being named Man of the Match in the 4-0 victory over England in the final.
http://www.arsenal.com/first-team/players/mesut-ozil"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."