• A bitter Pill to swallow...Develop a Jamaican system of Ball

'A bitter pill to swallow'
    Technical committee chairman bemoans unimpressive performance of Young Reggae Boyz
    BY ANDREW HANCEL Observer staff reporter hancela@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, May 08, 2007

ANDREW Price, technical committee chairman of the national football programme, has found the national under-17 team's failure to qualify for the FIFA Under-17 World Cup a 'bitter pill to swallow'. "The Federation has invested million of dollars in this particular squad... and we are really disappointed that we did not qualify for Korea," Price told the Observer last night.

HUNT...tendered his resignation with immediate effect (Photo: Garfield Robinson)

"At some stages we looked a bit wanting. I believed that we were lethargic throughout the tournament...
    "Tactically, we left ourselves open, especially down the flanks," Price added.
    Price's comments came in the wake of the national youth team's failed bid to secure a berth in this summer's FIFA Under-17 World Cup in South Korea.

In a must-win game with Caribbean neighbours Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday, Jamaica lost 0-1, as the Trinis joined the United States and Costa Rica as qualifiers from Group B of the final round in CONCACAF.

Haiti and Honduras, from Group A, are the other teams from CONCACAF that will make the trip to the World Cup.
    At the beginning of the five-team tournament here in Kingston, Jamaica lost 0-3 to Canada and 0-1 to Costa Rica, before scoring a shock, yet historic 3-2 victory over the United States.

After the elimination, national Under-17 head coach, David Hunt, announced his resignation with immediate effect.
    "Before the tournament started, I said that if the team did not qualify I would step down and I will be sticking to that," declared Hunt during the post-match press conference .
    However, up to press time, Hunt's resignation had yet to be confirmed by the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).

The win over the US gave Hunt and his troops the desperate lift they were searching for up to that point. But as soon as Kevin Molino put the twin-island Republic in front in the 13th minute, the young Reggae Boyz panicked, though they created enough goalscoring opportunities as they dominated possession of the ball.

National Under-17 head coach David Hunt (right) is a picture of dejection as he leaves the field with players Christopher Waugh (left) and Yannick Salmon at the end of their disappointing World Cup Qualifying Series campaign at the National Stadium on Sunday night. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    "I thought the team played very well, as the Trinidadian coach said, they defended for long periods. We attacked from the first whistle, we got a number of opportunities, but unfortunately we have not been scoring goals throughout this tournament," stressed Hunt.

He added: "I know the team is disappointed. I'm disappointed. I know the entire Jamaica is disappointed, but I think the players gave it their all today and it was just unfortunate that we did not get a goal."
    After much investment by the JFF in this set of Under-17 players, they failed miserably at qualifying for yet another major FIFA world tournament.

When asked if he was satisfied with his achievement with the Under-17s, Hunt, response was: "Clearly not. The team did not qualify for the World Cup, that was our major objective... and unfortunately I was not able to do that."
    "The record is there for everybody to see," said the technical committee chairman. "The team underachieved throughout the tournament and the one game they won, the team put up a gutsy performance in the last few minutes.

"We got numerous chances and we didn't put them away. Opportunities were there, but they went abegging, but I still believe we conceded too many goals."
    Jamaica's first and only appearance at a FIFA Under-17 World Cup was in 1999 in New Zealand. And despite yet another unsuccessful attempt, Price said the federation will also look at some of the positives in moving the programme forward.

He said: "... we should not look at it as money wasted in investment because I'm sure out of that squad of about 30 players a lot of them will make themselves available for the national programme."

Develop a Jamaican system of football, pleads Bucknor

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, May 08, 2007

MONTEGO BAY, St James - The Jamaican football programme is "suffering from the legacy of two Brazilian coaches" and it is time the Jamaican football authorities look to developing a "Jamaican system", argues former FIFA referee Steve Bucknor.

Former Cornwall College daCosta Cup winning coach and current ICC elite cricket umpire thinks that while one of the two Brazilian coaches, Rene Simoes, had some success in taking the Reggae Boyz to the FIFA World Cup Finals in France in 1998, the Brazilian football philosophy has failed Jamaican football.

Former FIFA referee Steve Bucknor as he addresses yesterday's launch of the St James Football Association's Guardian Life Division Two competition in Mobay. (Photo: Paul Reid)

Bucknor was the guest speaker at yesterday's launch of the St James Football Association's Guardian Life Division Two competition and said with so many of our local players blessed with natural speed, maybe it is time for us to develop our own style of football.

"What is wrong with being Jamaican?" asked Bucknor, who went on to say that Jamaicans had succeeded in just about every facet of life globally, singling out the current men's 100m World Record holder Asafa Powell for special mention.

With the vast numbers of speedy players in the island, maybe it was time for the football coaches to start looking in that direction.
    Bucknor recalled the time in the early 1980s when he led Cornwall College to several football titles, that he used a number of athletes from the track team as they brought with them speed and stamina needed for the game.
    Jamaicans, he said, have challenged the best in the world at every level and succeeded and it is time the Jamaican football authorities started to think along that line.

Bucknor, who recently stood in a record fifth ICC Cricket World Cup final, said he hoped present coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic had more success than Simoes ever did.
    Jorge Pena, the first Brazilian to coach a Jamaican national football team, also failed, Bucknor pointed out. He said: "One of the biggest rubbish" (in our football) was the belief in the system that Simoes had implemented and the continued hiring of coaches from the South American country.

He said there were many weaknesses in the Brazilian philosophy and while there were strengths as well, the coaches who came here did not point out the deficiencies.
    Bucknor challenged the various Football Associations to develop better coaches, who will in turn challenge the players. Too many of the coaches, Bucknor said, were not certified and they need to be "re-educated and recertified".

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Re: A bitter Pill to swallow...Develop a Jamaican system of

Jorge Pena, the first Brazilian to coach a Jamaican national football team, also failed, Bucknor pointed out. He said: "One of the biggest rubbish" (in our football) was the belief in the system that Simoes had implemented and the continued hiring of coaches from the South American country.
    Jawge will not like the above statement. It is true however, Bucknor hits the nail on the head.

Bucknor challenged the various Football Associations to develop better coaches, who will in turn challenge the players. Too many of the coaches, Bucknor said, were not certified and they need to be "re-educated and recertified".
    Anoter good point by Bucknor.

Sometimes failure is a good thing. Now we will have a chance to reevaluate the state of our game and come again. We made the mistake of thinking that the qualifications we made under Simoes signaled our arrival. With this and all the other failures under Boxhill and Burrell since 1998, it shows we still have work to do.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have always advocated our Football drawing from our strength of track and field , its nothing new , we have coaches who practice in both fields in Jamaica.

When we see G.ried darting down the left back , Fuller Or J.J bursting down the wings or Onandi running at defenders when left alone up front its raw speed mixed with football athleticism.

To play with that pace for 90min would be terrifying for any opposing team.I remember in my Manning cup days we had an abundance on wingers and left backs who enjoyed exploiting the wings .

I dont see it as much as I would like in our national teams , they play a mostly direct route through the middle ,which is painfull to watch because when that breaks down we see the good old air ball from goal keeper to the forwards which 90% of the time end up in the opposition sphere of control.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All them had to do was hire Lennie Taylor fi set up an all island coaching system.

We make it seem so hard to do as we expect miracles from people and then cuss them that them nuh set up a system. Now TD can't be in control of all the teams, setting up games, fighting the media, setting policies and All island training. We need somebody to do that.

I'll tell you this much - we were the most static side when we attacked. It was clear we had the speed when we had to defend, but in attack, we wanted the ball at our feet.

Pass ball into space? Wha dat?!?!

Of course, there were times when we did play the ball into space for someone to run on to, but too few times did it happen.

Anyway, who is this Bucknor guy to tell people that we can coach ourselves? Look like one cricket ball ******************** him inna di World Cup di odda day!

I have always advocated our Football drawing from our strength of track and field , its nothing new , we have coaches who practice in both fields in Jamaica.

When we see G.ried darting down the left back , Fuller Or J.J bursting down the wings or Onandi running at defenders when left alone up front its raw speed mixed with football athleticism.

To play with that pace for 90min would be terrifying for any opposing team.I remember in my Manning cup days we had an abundance on wingers and left backs who enjoyed exploiting the wings .

I dont see it as much as I would like in our national teams , they play a mostly direct route through the middle ,which is painfull to watch because when that breaks down we see the good old air ball from goal keeper to the forwards which 90% of the time end up in the opposition sphere of control.
            I recently watched a movie about this LA yute that get a chance to buss for New Castle United.

In one scene he dribbled through bout 4 players displaying blazing speed...

The German Coach pulled him aside after practise and told him to run towards the goal from about 40 yards out.. the Coach then lobbed a ball towards the goal.. of course the player was unable to get to the ball before it went in..

The coach did it about 4 times then asked the player what he learned ?

The players said..'That you can score from the half-way line ?'

The coach said no.. 'That as fast as the player was he was no-where near as fast as a pass..'

Our football does not suffer due to lack of speed or guile.. is continues to suffer because we see those things as paramount, when in actuality they are simply a CRUTCH because our FUNDAMENTALS are POOR !!

Eddiat ah chat bout Brazil system fail us, and we need to adopt a JAMAICA style.. I have never heard such RUBBISH in my life.. I mean I can understand having national pride... but let us not get profound.. International Football biggah dan us and BIGGAH teams dan us adopt styles which have been proven.. wi ah try re-invent di wheel because wi have success in Track and Field.. once again trying to be profound before even starting to mek basic sense..

What failed the Reggae Youths was poor first touch, innacurate passing in our 3rd, poor tactical discipline in defense and loss of composure in front of goal (MENTAL).. wi coulda fast like Asafa.. the pass will always be faster and speed of thought the fastest...

"What failed the Reggae Youths was poor first touch, innacurate passing in our 3rd, poor tactical discipline in defense and loss of composure in front of goal (MENTAL).. wi coulda fast like Asafa.. the pass will always be faster and speed of thought the fastest..."

That really sums it up! But I do agree with Bucknor in so far as the idea that Jamaicans can become great coaches. We will have to agree to disagree there.

Any ideas as to why we dominated possession in virtually all our matches, apart form the USA match?

"What failed the Reggae Youths was poor first touch, innacurate passing in our 3rd, poor tactical discipline in defense and loss of composure in front of goal (MENTAL).. wi coulda fast like Asafa.. the pass will always be faster and speed of thought the fastest..."

That really sums it up! But I do agree with Bucknor in so far as the idea that Jamaicans can become great coaches. We will have to agree to disagree there.

Any ideas as to why we dominated possession in virtually all our matches, apart form the USA match?
                One interesting observation is that we did dominate possession in most of our matches.. We had about 12 corners to Trinidad 1... so we are doing SOMETHING right. because even with us giving the ball away with some innacurate passing we still had the lions share of possession AND attempts on goal.

The breakdown occurs when we reach within 25 yards of the opponents goal where MOVEMENT, accuracy and composure becomes paramount.. the other teams.. without exception were superior to us in this department.. even Trinidad, then again our defense was extremely generous to other teams making it easy for them to find the spacing and angles of attack..

I saw more than one sequence where our forwards were stepping on each other toes 18 YARDS from the goal.. it appears that we may not be tactically reactive enough when space is reduced.. we are ok with the rote build up approach when there is yards of space and the opponent is willing to allow you to build up as they arrange themselves to defend.. our build up pace maybe be technically correct but just SLOW so we make all the passes and progress forward but the opponent has enough time to marshall a defense..

There must be a way to develop tactical composure and creation of angles and spacing in the final 3rd so as to create more 1 on situations with the goal keeper and then create the appropriate angles to shoot at goal.. I remember one sequence where a player broke free from the right flank and had an opportunity to dribble laterally and create more angles for shooting yet opted for route 1 towards the goalkeeper HELPING to cut of his angle...

I totally agree.

But one thing to note, even when we gave the other teams time to defend, we still managed to get into shooting positions on account of our tenacity in front of the goal. Our shooting was just dirt poor!

But let's examine the 13 minutes of perfect football played by the Boyz when they were down 2-0 to the USA. There was movement, one and two touch passing, passing and running (sprinting even!) into space, one time crossing, one time shooting, smart heading back to the danger area when crosses might be too long - just about everything clicked!

Was that just a big anomaly? Yes, it appears so, because our other 347 minutes for the tournament was exactly as you described.

Ben I have to hand it to you: you
                    are right on target. How can we begin to question the Brasilian game, when our players lack the fundamentals? Passing, good first touch and shooting.The record shows that under Prof.Rene Simoes JA has achieved lofty heights. Ja qualified for the WC at senoir and junior levels (with countries like T&T looking on as minnows) We played back to back games and still held a well rested Mexico for a 110 mins. The US had to cheat us in RFK. Clearly Steve Bucknor has no undertsanding of International football and this is the attitude that is destroying the game in JA. Had it not beeen for the question of taxes (which I think we could have worked around) our youth teams would be the best in Concacaf (under the Brasilians). The writing was on the wall; the brasilians caught our young and was correcting the mistakes that plaughed us over the years. I can't believe that someone would call qualifying for all levels at the WC a failure. Pray tell Mr.Bucknor, what would you call success?

This comes about from poor coaching at the
                      youth level. Prof.Simoes was implementing system where every team plays the same formation (at the national) Why? Because this is how Brasil does it and stay viable: Brasil can pull a squad at a momnet s notice and doesn't have to worry because the system of play all through out the clubs are basically the same. Play with some Brasilians in a pick up game and see how they attack the final third. We are yet grasp the concept of attacking in numbers. The closest we came was the U20, whom I witnessed picked apart the canadian defence with passes. Since then NOTHING! It's ridiculous that after so many years; we are trying to blame Prof.Simoes for our incompetences and failures.

Some very valifd arguments there Ben. Haffi agree wid yuh.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I Really cannot understand Buknors disregard of the Brazillinas , he has a point when he says we have certain natural assests that we could play to our advantage, but disregarding the Brazillian influence is nonsense.

Its not coincidence our zenith has been under Brazilinas and our staganat best has been under local coaches ..that is the bitter pill that Jamaica must swalllow.
                          Last edited by Sir X; May 8, 2007, 03:53 PM.