• Phillips: T&T team well prepared

Phillips: T&T team well prepared

Kern De Freitas

Tuesday, May 8th 2007

TWO years ago, Trinidad and Tobago had only one World Football Championship qualification under their belts. Now that number has tripled, with the Under-17 national team making the journey to Korea for the World Under-17 Championship in August, in the wake of the senior team's debut at the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

The Young Soca Warriors booked their place with a 1-0 victory over hosts Jamaica at the National Stadium in Kingston on Sunday night in the second match of a double-header in CONCACAF qualifying.

Lincoln "Tiger" Phillips, former national goalkeeper and technical director of the T&T Football Federation, is singing the youngsters' praises and is citing preparation as the key to their success.

"The team that went over there, mentally they were well prepared...physically the team was well prepared."

The Young Warriors, despite losing 2-0 and 3-0 to Costa Rica and USA, respectively, in their opening games, defeated Canada 2-1 on Friday to remain in with a chance to qualify, before they edged the Jamaicans to make it certain.

"...I don't think the odds were against us," Phillips told the Express yesterday. "I thought we had a very good chance of qualifying."

Phillips revealed that in planning for the CONCACAF qualifying tournament, they had targeted the matches against Canada and Jamaica as must-win to get one of the three spots on offer from their group.

"It's difficult to beat them (Costa Rica and USA). We felt that these two teams (Canada and Jamaica) were beatable," Phillips explained. "We felt that we had to win these two games."

He added that helped the players to focus, even after losing their first two games.

"I don't think they were down. They recognised their chances of qualifying laid with the two last teams."

Phillips also felt the fact that the team have been together for the last two years was "a huge factor" in their qualification.

"The team was the best prepared team that we have ever had in a long time," he stated.

He also pointed out that the CFU Under-15 tournament, which this same squad competed in, was useful in helping them get international experience.

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Roger Boynes also extended congratulations to the young players on their achievement.

"I am sure that these young players will continue to do full justice to all of the investments made in them and which they have made in themselves," Boynes said in a release from the Ministry yesterday. "As an association that overseas the world's most popular sport, the T&TFF has succeed once again in exhibiting our sporting prowess on a world stage.

"Every citizen of Trinidad and Tobago must be proud of this achievement and should be spurred on by our youth footballers to excellence in all endeavours."

And T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner also commended the team for qualifying for the World Championship.

"...while my confidence in our team never waned, the odds had become overwhelmingly acute as the elimination stage advanced," Warner said yesterday, "forcing our Young Soca Warriors into a crucial corner from first whistle in Sunday's game against Jamaica, but the combination of prayer and performance clearly triumphed."

Re: Phillips: T&T team well prepared

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
    Phillips: T&T team well prepared

Kern De Freitas

Tuesday, May 8th 2007

Lincoln "Tiger" Phillips, former national goalkeeper and technical director of the T&T Football Federation, is singing the youngsters' praises and is citing preparation as the key to their success.

"The team that went over there, mentally they were well prepared...physically the team was well prepared."

The Young Warriors, despite losing 2-0 and 3-0 to Costa Rica and USA, respectively, in their opening games, defeated Canada 2-1 on Friday to remain in with a chance to qualify, before they edged the Jamaicans to make it certain.

"...I don't think the odds were against us," Phillips told the Express yesterday. "I thought we had a very good chance of qualifying."

Phillips revealed that in planning for the CONCACAF qualifying tournament, they had targeted the matches against Canada and Jamaica as must-win to get one of the three spots on offer from their group.

"It's difficult to beat them (Costa Rica and USA). We felt that these two teams (Canada and Jamaica) were beatable," Phillips explained. "We felt that we had to win these two games."

He added that helped the players to focus, even after losing their first two games.

"I don't think they were down. They recognised their chances of qualifying laid with the two last teams."

Phillips also felt the fact that the team have been together for the last two years was "a huge factor" in their qualification.

"The team was the best prepared team that we have ever had in a long time," he stated.

He also pointed out that the CFU Under-15 tournament, which this same squad competed in, was useful in helping them get international experience.

Boxhill claimed our U-17s were also together for two years. Was that really true?

Let me look at a mythical "two years together." - The team is assembled in say, May 2006. There are practise sessions for two weeks. The boys are then sent to their various homes.

Two months after walking about getting back to 'previous to assemble state' of not being fit...and, we must recognise that there was no TEAM before the coming together in May 2006...and, no fitness, no good mental strength, no understanding of the level of skill, technical prowess, tactical understanding and level of play needed ('type' of reaction time, pace across ground, etc., etc.)...the squad is once more assembled.

Two more weeks of what is euphemistically called training...one or two matches against our fourth rate local teams...Yup! You guessed it!...the squad is disbanded once more - sent home!

...and, so it goes on, with one or two matches against second rate or even good international opponents...no steady continuous preparation and diet of matches against quality international opponents...just the nonsensical start-stop-start-stop-start-stop joke...up until we are at the CONCACAF Group B Final rounds.

You tell me - has the above described squad been together for two years?! ...oooh, has the squad described above gone through two years of well planned preparation?!

...or, put another way, were they prepared to get the just reward of FAILURE?!

I think boxhill means Karl that the players came through from the under 15 team in 2005 to the under 17 team in 2005
      The same thing with our team the under 15 to the under 17 when lincoln said together for two year he does not mean training and livning etc he means the core of players was kept together . from since 2005 ... seriour training began in Jan

Karl! On a sports program last night two sports journalists whom had been observing the team said it was a matter of over-training, the selection of about 10 players from Meadhaven High School and Coach Hunt winning a lot of school trophies not from starting with a grass-roots programme, but from taking potential football players from other schools.
        Several high school coaches even agree after the Canada match that Coach Hunt shouldn't have taken the job since his style of coaching was only suit for local high school and not international standards. Also there was not much support from the JFF in securing proper international preparations before and after the Mexico matches.

On T'dad and Tobago Naminirt said:

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
          seriour training began in Jan
          Well could you tell us - detail - the serious training your T'dad & Tobago team went through?

Thanks!

Geoffrey Maxwell has repeated on more than one occasion that you can't take a high school coach and place him in an international coaching position for two basic reasons - the biases that are almost inevitable and int'l ball is way different from high school football.

Is he right, or just badmind?

ask Bucknor that question

Gosh man Karl i tell yuh already man check the other threAd i told yuh that yesterday. Plus your boyz was triaing real hard to also