Weak goal setting equals weak players!!

• Weak goal setting equals weak players!!

If NPL standard is weak then you produce what your process is geared to deliver.
    Our best players as forward can barely get into mid teens on goals for the season across 38 games in the npl, if you can't do it there how can you do it anywhere else.

If a league doesn't even measure assists then how can you measure who has the best potential to be a good midfielder and build midfielder that understand that the fundamentals of creating or assisting on goals, as goals win games.

Thus again our best midfielders are not measured on assists or completed passes they are measured on being able to look pretty while passing or to create one incredible pass per game. Look at Ozil he spends a ton f time passing the ball with no return except possession, but looking to create the mismatch and waiting for the opportunity, ultimately he is measured on number of assists and goals scored. A Ronaldo s not created by talent alone it is by setting high goal targets and working methodically on making them happen, we are totally missing this strong goal setting process, measurement of actual reality and trying to close the gap between the two. We are satisfied with complacent goals thus we are always struggling to make the grade and thus have to reach for diaspora players. Will we ever see a npl player pass twenty five or get close to thirty goals for a season out of thirty eight games, or see a midfielder get twenty assists in a season, why not?..

...forwards...good forwards also have high assists.
    ...must also be good movers and passers/passers and movers. ...then there is the matter of technical skills?

Aside: Thomas Muller is also excellent defender!

Yes Karl, the goal setting starts the entire process, also let's you understand where you are relative to goals.

Thus Ronaldo at one point was a ten to fifteen goal scorer per season then they radically reviewed expectations and goals and said what needs to happen to get him to twenty per season, work on the skills to get that improvement, positioning in box, receiving ball in box etc etc work on that, get to eighteen etc or twenty then review process again how to squeeze another round of improvement, look at what side of body to receive ball on, look at positioning of defenders in the box, look at reading defenders positioning and how to adjust your position to obtain maximum opportunity to strike, reset goal at thirty and circle again, process starts over. Ronaldo actually describes that process of improvement over the years and you see it, he is literally unparalleled in the way he plays football, we have never seen a guy with the combination f skills he has, move that fast with that much ball control, that much striking ability at speed or dead ball. He is the best player in the world and where you really see it is his impact on his team at the international level, he makes a radical difference for his team.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...ulensteen.html

Look on the points especially about attitude and about satisfaction about doing 'enough' we are not challenging these guys and pushing them hard enough. Our football program needs to be a Dutchy pot cauldron bubbling with serious heat only the best physically and mentally can escape the pot, we have all kinds of weak mental and physical players escaping the pot and cannot survive the heat of the pro game, the challenge or the intensity of hazardous conditions in the upper leagues like ice and sleet, not to mention snow!

Thought I read this already - or rather pretty near same thing - on Ronaldo of Brazil!!!! ...think 'assists' was also included.

Good post!

Yes I posted it before, but it is worth posting almost every other month, we need to understand the problem solving and improvement process and apply to jamaican football, we think it is an art when it is a straight up science thing.

Excellent post sir!!!
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yup!