• Woozencroft, Lawrence for MLS Combine

Woozencroft, Lawrence for MLS Combine

Friday, November 29, 2013

MIDFIELDER Jermaine Woozencroft and defender Kemar Lawrence have been selected by the JFF to participate in the first-ever MLS Caribbean Combine, which aims to give regional players a chance to be assessed by scouts to determine if they have what it takes to play in the US professional leagues, like the MLS.

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) recently announced a partnership with US Major League Soccer (MLS) to create a stage where young, aspiring regional players will have the chance to parade their skills with a view to moving into the North American league.

Jermaine Woozencroft

MLS, in seeking to achieve its goal of being among the best leagues in the world by 2022, has selected the Caribbean region as one of its sources of the next generation of MLS stars.

This initiative is being called the "MLS Caribbean Combine" and will take place in Antigua & Barbuda from January 2-5, 2014.

Consequently, the CFU invited the JFF along with other member associations in the region to identify and submit the names of two players between the ages of 18 and 22 years.

One of the critieria is that the players recommended must be part of the JFF's elite player programme and must be national players.

An independent technical team will review all submissions and select the best 24 players to travel to Antigua for the inaugural MLS Caribbean Combine.

The selected players will compete in front of professional scouts for an opportunity to earn an invitation to the annual Adidas MLS Player Combine in Fort Lauderdale, Florida later in January 2014.

The format for the MLS Caribbean Combine will include training sessions and games against local clubs.

Biography
    Name: Jermaine Woozencroft
    Date of Birth: August 19, 1992
    Position: Midfielder
    Address: St James, Jamaica
    Goal: To play high-level international and club football.

Capped at the Under-17 level for Jamaica in 2008 at the CFU Youth Cup, Woozencroft made his senior team debut against Trinidad & Tobago, November 2013. Woozencroft attended Rusea's High School where his team won the DaCosta Cup (premier competition for rural schools) in 2010.

As a schoolboy, he represented Village United FC at the National Premier League.

Operating both on the right and central positions of midfield, he is deceptively quick, silky smooth with a searing pace, a good passer of the ball, a good reader of the game and does not back out of any challenge.

CLUB CAREER

* 2010-present- Montego Bay United
    * 2008-2010- Village United
    * 2006-2010- Rusea's High

Name: Kemar Lawrence
    Date of Birth: September 17, 1992
    Position: Defender/ midfielder
    Address: Kingston, Jamaica

Lawrence is capped at the Under-17, Under-20 and senior levels for Jamaica.

He was a member of the Under-20 national team competing at the CONCACAF Championships in Guatemala in 2011. In 2009 after returning from the CFU Youth Cup in Trinidad & Tobago, he was engaged by the Vancouver Whitecaps Youth Residency Programme for six months.

Lawrence is a very pacy and diligent fullback who brings spark and excitement to football. He plays locally for Harbour View FC contributing significantly to their most recent successes.

CLUB CAREER

* 2007-present- Harbour View Football Club
    * 2003-2007- Rae Town FC
    * 2006-2010- Donald Quarrie High School

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2m3Fj5K4p

The big pressure point!

Clash of players and local clubs needs and hopes with professional clubs business objectives!

Players and foreign professional clubs immediate needs vs Free transfers or forward looking financial incentives for our local clubs, now...or putting faith in 'better deal in the future'?

Name: Kemar Lawrence
      Date of Birth: September 17, 1992
      Position: Defender/ midfielder
      Address: Kingston, Jamaica

Lawrence is capped at the Under-17, Under-20 and senior levels for Jamaica.

He was a member of the Under-20 national team competing at the CONCACAF Championships in Guatemala in 2011. In 2009 after returning from the CFU Youth Cup in Trinidad & Tobago, he was engaged by the Vancouver Whitecaps Youth Residency Programme for six months.

Lawrence is a very pacy and diligent fullback who brings spark and excitement to football. He plays locally for Harbour View FC contributing significantly to their most recent successes.

CLUB CAREER

* 2007-present- Harbour View Football Club
      * 2003-2007- Rae Town FC
      * 2006-2010- Donald Quarrie High School

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz2m3Fj5K4p
      WoW!

I spy anedda lowly NPL defenda ready fi buss!! Noice!!!!!

you notice the term? "ready fi buss".

mi think them did buss already.

Him play in di NPL. How him fi buss arready?

But mi think we did have defenders who could replace Mapp, Jermaine Taylor and Mapp in the past world cup qualifers.

My argument was 'currently" but ofcourse you and Don1 choose to ignore that but have unnu laugh.

I can only wish the youth all the best in his Bush league hunt.

you notice the term? "ready fi buss".

mi think them did buss already.
              Of course I noticed it. I posted it didn't I

Possibly im wudda buss aredy if the JFF & Jamaicans weren't afflicted by Snow Mania Syndrome
              Last edited by Don1; November 29, 2013, 04:49 PM.

Question is how did these two get chosen, what does that process look like. If it is not transparent then how do you motivate and keep the rest of the players laser focused to continue to improve every aspect of their game and maintain superior fitness.

Right now we have a lack of transparency that breeds a slothful like response which manifests itself in exaggerated sense of capabilities, woeful fitness levels and weak emotional intelligence skills.

Set the bar high so these guys can know what they must do to get a shot at whatever the Jff is offering, especially as it relates to a shot at opportunities like this and chances to play for any national team are all earned. By emerging from the top of the competing group pile and not because somebody like them or know them or them connected correctly etc.

Did the Jff selection process mirror what is being done at the Cfu level with an independent technical review team, that would be a step in the right direction.
                Last edited by Stonigut; November 29, 2013, 05:09 PM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Question is how did these two get chosen, what does that process look like. If it is not transparent then how do you motivate and keep the rest of the players laser focused to continue to improve every aspect of their game and maintain superior fitness.

Right now we have a lack of transparency that breeds a slothful like response which manifests itself in exaggerated sense of capabilities, woeful fitness levels and weak emotional intelligence skills.

Set the bar high so these guys can know what they must do to get a shot at whatever the Jff is offering, especially as it relates to a shot at opportunities like this and chances to play for any national team are all earned. By emerging from the top of the competing group pile and not because somebody like them or know them or them connected correctly etc.

Did the Jff selection process mirror what is being done at the Cfu level with an independent technical review team, that would be a step in the right direction.
                  Time fi roll out yuh esoteric Statistical Matrix

Yes, absolutely. Can you imagine if we actually use stats like in track and field.

Ignore what? We did not ignore anything. You were making pronouncements having never seen an NPL match in decades, if ever!

So what do you want the JFF to do? Produce some kind of Opta index to prove these guys are the most worthy ones?!?

Ignore what? We did not ignore anything. You were making pronouncements having never seen an NPL match in decades, if ever!
                          lol

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                            Yes, absolutely. Can you imagine if we actually use stats like in track and field.
                            Yes... we end up with an insipid team of largely foreign robots as we had in the Hex

Talking about robots, I hear the victorious JC team was quite robotic. Any reason why this could be the case?