Brazil venues struggle to meet World Cup deadline

Brazil's frantic eleventh hour World Cup preparations

Later this week Brazil's President, Dilma Rousseff is scheduled to declare the new Itaquerao football stadium in Sao Paulo officially open.

A few days later the same upbeat scene will be repeated at the Arena da Baixada in the southern city of Curitiba. And so, perhaps while acknowledging things have been a little bit late (because that's how things work here in South America) all will be judged to have been a great success.

The opening match, on 12 June, between Brazil and Croatia will go ahead in a festival atmosphere and all of the doubters who questioned Brazil's ability to organise, finance and deliver such a big global event will have been proved wrong.

(continue)

Brazilian officials are giving up on some unfinished World Cup projects

The six-story metal skeleton jutting out from the World Cup soccer stadium here was to be the international media center. But when the games start next month, the world’s journalists will be housed in tents in the parking lot beside it.

“FIFA had a plan B,” said Reginaldo Cordeiro, the city hall official in charge of Curitiba’s World Cup preparations. “The building will not need to be utilized.”

Brazil is scaling back its World Cup ambitions and reining in expectations as officials concede they are running out of time. Curitiba’s media center is the latest casualty, but numerous projects will be left half-finished, delayed until after the tournament or simply abandoned.

(continue)

Stadium roof won't be finished for WCup opener

The roof of the stadium hosting the World Cup opener in a few weeks will not be fully finished in time for the tournament, constructors said Friday.

Construction company Odebrecht confirmed that a part of the roof at the Itaquerao will only be completed after the World Cup.

There was not enough time to install the glass covers that were supposed to be added to the stadium's roofing structure, so Odebrecht and local organizers decided to postpone the work until after the tournament.

(continue)

Zeppo, i am beginning not to regret canceling my plans to attend these games. I closed my ticket lottery application ( to see all the USA games) 2 days before the drawing!! The total package that I was offered [hotel accommodation and transfers] was $10K.

Apart from the building behind schedule...I pray that the local violent demonstrations does not affect the thousands of fans expected to attend.

BTW, I watched quite few reports that substantiated you post.
          Last edited by HL; May 17, 2014, 11:38 AM.

Zeppo, are you going to Brazil for the WC?

You juss mek sure you take care of yourself while you are there.

The reports on Brazil makes S. Africa looks benign in terms of safety and stability.

Zeppo, are you going to Brazil for the WC?
                No, I'll be watching it on TV.

Hope the roof over your TV (viewing) room is in good order...

Thanks, HL! Will be more cautious than I was in SA.

Hope the roof over your TV (viewing) room is in good order...
                        I hope so too, since I've already lent my hard hat to Mo!

Brazil to stage key stadium tests for World Cup

Brazil arrives at a crucial moment in its preparations for the World Cup as two of its most troubled stadiums stage major test events on Sunday.

With FIFA closely monitoring, local organizers will host Brazilian league matches at the Arena Pantanal in the western city of Cuiaba and at the Itaquerao, Sao Paulo's much-delayed stadium where the World Cup opener will be played in a few weeks.

Although there will still be work left at the venues no matter what happens on Sunday, successful tests could help alleviate concerns about the country's readiness for the event.

(continue)

Do you know which games you are going to see yet?

I already have a ticket for the Switzerland vs Ecuador match. I hope to get one for Spain-Chile and Portugal-USA.

I know, I'll try and get the last one changed.

Will you be in Brazil?

I see in another report that England is being asked to host the 2016 Olympics as a backup to Brazil. I don't know why England is being asked over the great USA. They should have taken the WC from Brazil two years ago. The WC needs to come to the mighty USA.
                                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015