On the issue of what playing for lowly Jamaica...

Most High Schools in the US would make their Jamaican counterpart look poor by comparison.

You have to be proficient in the basics in order to win. Football skill in Jamaica is about being a "twinkle-toe".
    You are correct on this.
    In the US the Junior Varsity and Senior Varsity teams are taught to adhere to TEAM structure and movement and passing/passing and movement is drilled.

The bruks if not downright frowned on is /cussed out on player losing the ball. The player is more...much more likely in the US to be asked; how giving away the ball...holding onto the ball for prolonged period on the one hand helps 'the team' or on the other hurts 'the team'?

In the JA I know, as it pertains to football, coaches/teachers do not challenge the players to think on such.

One other thing, Jamaica has a 365 day growing season. It beats me why much of the playing surface does not reflect this 'gift'. Apart from poor upkeep--football pitches in Jamaica need lots of improvement. The ball must roll--not bounce.
    This is a mystery....only if we do not acknowledge our people at home fear of any other person being created for advancing worth-while projects. If it were not so - why would a the just installed JCA president state policy/action of 'taking careof administrative things before getting to cricket'? ...or...some on this board opposing the teaching/coaching of 'best playing practices' for football when there is a vested interest in creating and running an academy? ...and the most 'in your face' examples: i) the head teacher/principal brooking no input from his staff; the pastor & wife lording it over the congregation; the GOJ = ministers, department heads, etc. all being bogged down on and also in 'Yes, Minister' - (anyone remembers the TV series) - mode?

Wonder how many primary, preparatory, secondary high schools and tertiary colleges are in JA and how many have 'billard table' fields?

You are right, HL...considering when we gained independence - some 50+ years past -, our climate and the number of these institutions with adequate space to lay out these 'billard tables we should have had 90+% in play.

It is a damn shame we have just about zilch such fields!

I don't believe the standard of high school soccer is high. You have some very good schools and good players but there is countless teams. Some good and some very bad.

Also remember that currently the US Federation is developing academies and if you are playing for an academy you can't play high school soccer. So many of the better players will not play for their high schools.

You have some very good coaches but not enough. I would look more for the academies for the higher standards. If you look throughout Atlanta for example you will find more than 20 pretty decent U8 academies with more than 2000 kids that have to try out and make the team. On top of that you have the recreational soccer which may have more than 50,000 kids playing.

Yuh talking nonsense, HL!

When last yuh see a schoolboy game in Jamaica, HL?
        Yuh affi si wid HL... he's both ignorant of the technical aspects of football and a US "soccer" fanboy

Dat name double jeopardy

I don't believe the standard of high school soccer is high. You have some very good schools and good players but there is countless teams. Some good and some very bad.

Also remember that currently the US Federation is developing academies and if you are playing for an academy you can't play high school soccer. So many of the better players will not play for their high schools.

You have some very good coaches but not enough. I would look more for the academies for the higher standards. If you look throughout Atlanta for example you will find more than 20 pretty decent U8 academies with more than 2000 kids that have to try out and make the team. On top of that you have the recreational soccer which may have more than 50,000 kids playing.
          In the US...after many years it is now being stipulated that Academy students not play High School soccer (football).

How many Academies do you find in each area the size of Jamaica? ...or within easy reach such that 'the best can and do play against the best'?

...and in Jamaica?

We, Jamaicans have to work with what we currently have. Improve on it. ...and eventually we shall have 'new - (How long 'new'?) - improved'!

Let us improve the quality teachers of football! ---> ...school football? --->...Parish teams, Confed Teams, NPL teams, national TEAMs!!!

Yuh talking nonsense, HL!

When last yuh see a schoolboy game in Jamaica, HL?
            well I amwatching STETS gainst Garvey (somethin' another). The field is a bit better that the Walkers cup game field.

Extremely slight improvement over that game. Your average US High schools would beat either team...using basic football skills.

I agree, i need to watch much more...but I am merely commenting on what I have seen.

BTW: the local commentatoirs and camera men need training.

Karl, high school football is 3 or maybe 4 month of the year. For some schools it is a little over a month and a half.

PE teachers can't prepare top students and that is what the US realized.

At best high school can only be supplementary to growth and now where the real growth will take place. Talented players are placed in clubs at early ages and at 16 or 17 have to be in fulltime soccer program not part time stuff.

Karl, high school football is 3 or maybe 4 month of the year. For some schools it is a little over a month and a half.

PE teachers can't prepare top students and that is what the US realized.

At best high school can only be supplementary to growth and now where the real growth will take place. Talented players are placed in clubs at early ages and at 16 or 17 have to be in fulltime soccer program not part time stuff.
                Well Sass, I have observed some of the well trained full time students and there appears to be many high school and playground players with greater technical ability.

These latter may not be as fit as the 'full time' students...and often get their 'behinds' handed to them late in matches and tournaments. You can draw your conclusions from this...as, based on your posts over the years, it appears you have been to many a tournament and watched many 'playground' kickabouts.

...or it could be you have not had the experiences I have had?

Last edited by Karl; December 1, 2013, 09:37 PM.