Difference between Nosworthy and McCleary?

Let us continue along your theme,expectation.The players should fulfill the expectations,and isn't it a given that the inclusion of a player is to increase our chances?So Sterling inclusion ...
    Yep,we have a dysfunctional JFf and that is most costly but nevertheless we will always welcome good developments in other areas despite.
    There isn't anything Jamaica can do to lessen the prestige of playing for the great England hence it has more to do with player being a proud Jamaican.
    Maybe the tender age he left,other than that there is no excusing his refusal.He has to be thinking "him" over Jamaica,flawed on the field;player over team.

Rocky the guy has every right to make whatever decision is in his best interest... what's the big deal?

Mek im gwaan duh im ting

He has to be thinking "him" over Jamaica,flawed on the field;player over team.
        So are you going to pay his mortgage for him when a decision he makes doesn't work out? If not, then don't presume that you can make his life decisions for him.

There isn't anything Jamaica can do to lessen the prestige of playing for the great England hence it has more to do with player being a proud Jamaican.
          Why would you think a decision to not represent Jamaica at football = not being a proud Jamaican?

Well considering the opportunity cost that has to be the impetus.
            If only they were Karl.

Could it be the possibility of becoming a national icon in one of the world's most powerful & influential national brands??

That's done wonders for quite a few sports persons, musicians etc from Jamaica

In contrast John Barnes did well for England...today he is a somewhat blighted shell... not given much regard by the powers that be in that country
              I thought that X and Jangle were the local resident comedians! LOL!!! "one of the world's most powerful & influential national brands?" Really? John Barnes must be kicking himself! Too funny...

Paul you clearly need an eyeopener on this Jamaican issue...

I thought that X and Jangle were the local resident comedians! LOL!!! "one of the world's most powerful & influential national brands?" Really? John Barnes must be kicking himself! Too funny...
                ... Luckily I'm here to assist.

FYI Jamaica undoubtedly has global recognition as a very powerful country brand. With the only indigenous pop music with global appeal outside the music of USA & UK, icons of music, sports & politics... Jamaica's brand identity is beyond outstanding

There is a mutually reinforcing reason explaining why Bob's image is probably THE most recognizable worldwide... why Bolt is probably THE most popular athlete globally... why Marcus is probably THE most influential Black leader & philosopher of the 20th century and why Rastafari has global appeal as the only certified religion originating in the 20th century

The reason centers around their place of origin

Fortunately you don't have to take my word for it since people measure these hard to fathom "image issues" ... e.g. CNN people.. http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...-country---cnn

If one wishes a more academic marker of Jamaica's brand power... http://www.academia.edu/3665458/Jama...l_Sports_Brand

In short the question of whether or not Jamaican brand power is a global phenomenon with tremendous influence...is rhetorical

As to John Barnes I doubt he has time to kick himself at the moment...he's too busy trying to address English racism directed at Black players & coaches...and probably trying to find a job himself http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...me-Russia.html
                Last edited by Don1; November 28, 2013, 12:16 AM.

... Luckily I'm here to assist.

FYI Jamaica undoubtedly has global recognition as a very powerful country brand. With the only indigenous pop music with global appeal outside the music of USA & UK, icons of music, sports & politics... Jamaica's brand identity is beyond outstanding

There is a mutually reinforcing reason explaining why Bob's image is probably THE most recognizable worldwide... why Bolt is probably THE most popular athlete globally... why Marcus is probably THE most influential Black leader & philosopher of the 20th century and why Rastafari has global appeal as the only certified religion originating in the 20th century

The reason centers around their place of origin

Fortunately you don't have to take my word for it since people measure these hard to fathom "image issues" ... e.g. CNN people.. http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...-country---cnn

If one wishes a more academic marker of Jamaica's brand power... http://www.academia.edu/3665458/Jama...l_Sports_Brand

In short the question of whether or not Jamaican brand power is a global phenomenon with tremendous influence...is rhetorical

As to John Barnes I doubt he has time to kick himself at the moment...he's too busy trying to address English racism directed at Black players & coaches...and probably trying to find a job himself http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...me-Russia.html
                  D1 - the appeal of Jamaica as a brand is not relevant to a football player. That's why it's comical. The player operates in his own best interest and Jamaica at the moment can do very little for professional footballers. There are many other countries that have their brand power strengths. India for example has a long cultural history, great cricketers, thriving movie industry etc. (but I admit, nowhere near as "cool" as Jamaica, no offense to India). However, just like a standout Jamaican footballer, a standout Indian footballer faced with the choice of playing for India or England would be brain dead to play for India where there is little chance of them ever achieving anything in football in the near future. This is the case with every Jamaican footballer of any standing - sturridge, sterling, etc. It would make ZERO sense for them to play for us if they have options to play for a powerhouse. And YES, that is them acting in their own best interest which is EXACTLY what they should do. In my opinion, we are focusing on the "wrong end of the horse". Fix the stupid JFF, build a proper program, and the players will come. Stop blaming the players for something they have no control over. Am I wrong?

the funny thing is every player who come to play for Jamaica is either "rux" before them come, or "Rux" after playing two games.

It is either we are damn bad football critics or just love to hate.

=Paul Marin;455677]D1 - the appeal of Jamaica as a brand is not relevant to a football player. That's why it's comical.
                      Paul you appeared to scoff of the very idea of Jamaica's global brand power...now that I've established the fact of that power you raise the idea of relevance. This is a technical point on marketing science

Jamaican football is a product...ALL products have positive, negative or neutral brand appeal. If Jamaica were say... Kazakhstan .. I doubt that any decent international footballer would waste his time playing for the country.... given that it has low football pedigree and ZERO brand appeal.

Since Jamaica is...Jamaica... its global brand appeal would generally have a positive but not decisive impact on players assessing their prospects in playing for us. Of course what they decide is ruled ultimately by their personal interest
                      The player operates in his own best interest and Jamaica at the moment can do very little for professional footballers.
                      This is of course incorrect. Professional footballers do in fact show interest and do in fact play for Jamaica now.... so clearly Jamaica has something to offer

There are many other countries that have their brand power strengths. India for example has a long cultural history, great cricketers, thriving movie industry etc. (but I admit, nowhere near as "cool" as Jamaica, no offense to India). However, just like a standout Jamaican footballer, a standout Indian footballer faced with the choice of playing for India or England would be brain dead to play for India where there is little chance of them ever achieving anything in football in the near future. This is the case with every Jamaican footballer of any standing - sturridge, sterling, etc. It would make ZERO sense for them to play for us if they have options to play for a powerhouse. And YES, that is them acting in their own best interest which is EXACTLY what they should do.
                      I agree with this. However since it was never my belief that any particular foreign player "should" play for Jamaica... this point is not relevant to my argument. Perhaps this is for Rocky's consumption

In my opinion, we are focusing on the "wrong end of the horse". Fix the stupid JFF, build a proper program, and the players will come. Stop blaming the players for something they have no control over. Am I wrong?
                      You are wrong in believing that the focus of criticism is on players (speaking for D1)

My focus is on the bckward policy of the JFF which only prevails because many Jamaicans share the JFF's backward outlook.
                      So when I refer to "Snow Ballas" it is the policy of recruiting the mediocre Englishmen to which I refer...in fact I would be ultimately opposed to this backward policy even if so called
                      Jamaican footballers of any standing - sturridge, sterling, etc
                      were to be called to appear for Jamaica in the massive numbers we saw in the past WCQ

This stupid policy supported by Jamaicans allows the JFF to ignore its true mission of developing the game at home to create a football industry...while foolishly chasing the Fool's Gold of appearing in a World Cup final competition so persons can engage in chest-thumping

That policy of short term folly is a result of the hurry-come-up outlook of most Jamaicans, not just the JFF. If rich, advanced countries like Belgium can put aside the instant gratification of trying EVERYTHING merely to appear in the next WC competition but instead focus on organic development for a while.... why can't Jamaica??

That's because Jamaica has too many Gladdis
                      Last edited by Don1; November 28, 2013, 10:41 AM.

Last night I was watching a video of Christiano Ronaldo and some guy name Usain Bolt.What jumped out at me was when the narrator said this is CR,one of the best footballers in the World,this is Bolt,fastest man in the World(really the fastest ever).
                        The reason the world is stealing our patois is Jamaica is already a World brand.Maybe being the first country to boycott aparthied(still a relevant topic today) South Africa,the first to hold an international council on Human Rights(still relevant today),now clearly the list goes on....
                        Would you say USA is gifted regarding goalkeepers,is Jamaica a brand name regarding Concacaf?Europe,South America etc.
                        Were the players from the Negro Leagues name brand before allowed to play in the NFL?Isn't it just playing in the NFL that made them name brands because they already had sufficient quality to be name brands?
                        Putting the cart before the horse,development on several fronts are needed,the inclusion of those Bigger than Jamaica is not being disputed,the timing is,the timing is irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.
                        Last edited by Rockman; November 28, 2013, 10:43 AM.

The timing is irrelevant....because an attractive team can lead to desired changes;more sponsors,stadium jammed,and the JFF to be forced to play its part.
                          The fight is already on,players are already representing Yard.

The transfer of of that Gobal Brand appeal...

...should not have astonished me in 1998, but it did when I realized it had attached itself=been transferred to and surrounded our Reggae Boyz!!!!

Good shot, Don1

...should not have astonished me in 1998, but it did when I realized it had attached itself=been transferred to and surrounded our Reggae Boyz!!!!

Good shot, Don1
                              Resistance is futile GrassHoppa

DonUno...let me make this SIMPLE...the BRAND MEANS NOTHING TO PLAYERS IF THE PROGRAM CAN'T DELIVER. Until then, it is STUPID for a TOP Jamaican player (i.e. not just any professional, e.g. a 28 y.o. uncapped professional) to choose Jamaica over an established football country. It is that simple. We had our chance in1998 and flubbed it. Like many things, the people that get you "there" are not necessarily the people to "keep you" there...you live and learn.