• Mattocks cusses & causes ruckus

President of Vancover Whitecaps responds to Mattocks
    5:06 pm, Fri November 8, 2013

Darren Mattocks' criticism of the Vancouver Whitecaps on local TV has drawn a response from the club president, Bob Lenarduzzi.

In a television interview on Tuesday, Mattocks voiced displeasure at being forced to sit on the bench much of the season by former coach Martin Rennie.

“When Darren lead (the) team as a rookie, Vancouver made the playoffs, right?,” Mattocks told TV host.. . “So you read between the lines.”

He also added: “If I can be successful in my first season, and in my second season you try to jeopardize my career, I’m not naive and I’m not going to stay.

“Every other team in MLS wants me. There was a team in MLS – I’m not going to name the team – offered $1.2 million for buying me from Vancouver and Vancouver turned it down.”

Mattocks started just eight games for Vancouver this season, and scored three times in 20 appearances overall.

In his rookie season, he had seven goals in 21 games.

In responding to Mattocks' statement, the Vancouver Whitecaps president admitted the player was a special talent, but pointed out that he is prone to making comments or sometimes look in games like he's disinterested.

He also mentioned that Mattocks met with him and other senior members of the club on the previous Friday, and Mattocks made no mention of these issues.

Lenarduzzi said this type of behaviour is not accepted by the club.

Hehehe! Steady implosion!

dat nuh funny

I think Mattocks wants to reunite with his college coach in Portland. Wonder how much time he has left on his contract with Vancouver.

Love the ambition

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

the man just want to play. The former coach screw up the team bigtime. The youth is frustrated, and they either trade him or get a decent coach.

You can't have the youth a sit on bench all season. Same thing he did to Carmillo last year. Mattock nuh say nothing most of the fans don't know.

That is just the typical Mattocks behaviour. He has a huge ego, loves to talk about himself in third person, likes to brush off people and does things on his own time.

He better produce this coming year because you can only get away with that personality when you are a big time player.

maybe so but the coach screw up the team bigtime though.

Yes the coach screwed up the team, but Mattocks wasn't the screw up. He was changing tactics around and around, but the team actually got more points and goals than last season, despite his madness.

He started the season leading the line and was horrible. Poor finishing, poor touches and laziness. The coaching staff and his fellow players have been complaining about him and his lack of effort in training. The national staff has had many problems with him. The ownership at Vancouver even acknowledges that there are certain things that come with him. The man need to get his act together.

Allow our fellow posters to blame others and excuse everything Mattocks does. I won't. Is not yesterday this started!

I don't know if Mattocks is the one to talk but the coach screw him as well, same way he screwed Carmillo last season. He has to choose players and system he believes in. Mattocks may have started the season bad but he had 3 goals and part of the reason is because of the amount of change he had on the frontline and he choose not to play Mattocks a lot in preseason. One of the worst move he made was to bring in Reo Cooker to almost take over the team.

Mattocks was a starter preseason and scoring and that is why he started the regular season. He started off the regular season and was looking horrible, but instead he says they didn't want to trade him and "him and the coach couldnt gree" cause the man stifling him career.

Now we are hearing the senior players wanted to have a go at him many times and Rennie and the GM tell them to ease off cause him is them golden boy. He is reminding me of Eddie Johnson, especially in his Dallas days.

He got two early pre-season and then was rested for most and that is why he may have looked so rusty. The fact is that coach always full up his team of strikers and that going to happen. He must pick the strikers he believes in and go. It make no sense to have 6 and 7 strikers.

Maybe they should have let the senior team members have a go at him, how does shielding him help? The senior team members should be their to guide him and from early in the season you saw how Reo Cooker who was new behaved towards Mattocks.

I could say more, but out of respect for some of his management team, I shan't.

Respect for him yankee management? free up the forum. Is not like Damani in him camp anymore.