Karl, question for you or anyone else?

• Karl, question for you or anyone else?

What is it that Mesut Ozil is doing when he sets up shop on the corner of either side of the 18 yard box in attack and the players seem to keep passing the ball to him repeatedly, seems unusual, have you noticed that.

I would imagine they are setting up for something but I just have not really seen the link between the positioning in that space and the ultimate payoff, all I have seen is potentially it allows for longer, easier possession in that space and biding time for the attack, hmmm maybe that's the answer!!!

you do that often? ask a quaestion and in the same train of thought recognise the answer?

has he been effective (however it is that he playes)? my final question, does he inspre confidence in his teammates for them to pass the ball to him in the those circumstances?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      What is it that Mesut Ozil is doing when he sets up shop on the corner of either side of the 18 yard box in attack and the players seem to keep passing the ball to him repeatedly, seems unusual, have you noticed that.

I would imagine they are setting up for something but I just have not really seen the link between the positioning in that space and the ultimate payoff, all I have seen is potentially it allows for longer, easier possession in that space and biding time for the attack, hmmm maybe that's the answer!!!
      First: You are correct it is a "set-up"...as he causes "set-up" of other of his fellow attackers frequently.

a) He forces the defenders of the opposing team to never "set-up"(on defense) as they have to be constantly shifting as the ball 'wizzes' around and constantly presents differing points of (possible) attack.

I can just picture him having a quiet word with Giroud on being more sensible on the ball as he plays an edited video on the numerous times Giroud gave away the ball in our last match - Dortmund v their GUNNERS.

Ozil by himself could be said to be creating the problems and often the final killer pass...but while he has added great creativity with his fantastic 'football brain' and his technical ability...it would be missing the complete picture if he got all the credit. His TEAM-mates provide tremendous input.

b) As always happens Ozil appears to have been born with this GUNNERS aggregation in mind. He is always moving...even when totally exhausted he sides around into space (attack and defence) unceasingly. Hope you notice he flits around - in and around the Penalty-Area on attack. He does not take up a stationary position on one side of the field or the other.

c) In one sense he is the focal point of our attack...either as decoy or actually involved. As previously said, often he ends up being the one making that final 'killer pass' (assist).

NB: Every single player on our starting X1 has raised game 'miles' above last season...and, remember we are talking The GUNNERS here - a passing and moving/moving and passing TEAM -, as TEAM we are playing as UNIT (one mind and heart...musketeers style: sensible one for all, all for one) far better than last season.

Granted this is what Arsene Wenger always wants and works with his players for...but the person (player) I think who raised TEAM consciousness most Mathieu Flamini. In our first set of matches...after than early loss...he demanded by work ethic and acted out (screaming at his TEAM-mates to go here, go there, pass here or there...) as commander that greater thought and effort be put into personal acts and TEAM acts.

His behaviour can be compared to my screams and acting out on the TEAM...in TEAM game...after screaming and acting out on it for awhile it sinks in and you can back off somewhat on that screaming. Flamini is out=he has been forced to back off i.e. he is not on he field...yet his message has sunk in...the effort being given in matches by those he gave his message shows it is still being acting on.

I think Flamini has had tremendous effect on TEAM. ...but hey! Hey! Hey! ...GUNNERS is one unit=TEAM!

I only hope those watching from the side-lines - they must come in at some time as players have to be rested and injuries always occur - get the message and come in without missing a beat.
      Last edited by Karl; November 8, 2013, 12:29 PM.

definition of team: wi win ... TEAM .... wi lose ANTI-TEAM!!!

There are still anti-TEAM plays in this great win. Did you notice the number of times Giroud literally gave away the ball=gave the ball to Dortmund (when he could have passed to a TEAM-mate)?

...and yes the better you execute on TEAM-play...as TEAM the more often you are to win. But it is being blind to 'numbers'...the math that would have anyone equating loses and wins solely to whether or not a group of on-field players played as TEAM.

A poor TEAM can at times win games. I am dead sure we all can think on situations where that can happen.

I know you put a smiley face at the end of your post...but I have responded as if you made 'dead serious' attempt at misstatement on fact and concept.

I could have guessed...

Seeitdeh.

Sorry Gamma, yuh know how it guh, reasoning and then seasoning.

What I find incredible about Ozil is the calmness over the ball and yet the quickness of decision and transfer of that into action and passes. All the players on attack are seeking him, he s the fulcrum point in the attack and much of the time it is just nothing passes. I think I have to watch him more and see what the other attackers are really doing at the same time, are they trying to create space in a certain area or trying to deliver a certain combination in a certain space, also interesting to see more on defender movement and what triggers the move into attack based on defender spacing.

Must say I loved the match versus Liverpool last week, I felt like it was a chess match.

Fascinating player.
                    Already this season we have been treated to some class GUNNERS matches.