The matter of pace - speed over ground?

• The matter of pace - speed over ground?

There is a match currently ongoing between Dortmund and Arsenal in the Champions League were the importance of having superior pace is on show.

No Dortmund is not attacking Per Mertesacker as I think could be a ploy...but is attacking all over the pitch. Arsenal is being shown up as in all areas too slow. My GUNNERS have been ripped apart 3 times and on each occasion escaped being scored on.

Both teams appear as good as each other in all areas save on pace - speed across ground.

Interesting that the faster team, Dortmund, has had 3 good look-in at goal.

Things to watch:
    a) More interesting will be seeing if the GUNNERS who to me appear scampering around at full blast can keep up...keep up with the frenetic pace of Dortmund come second half.

b) ...mmmm? Does Wenger have an ace up his sleeve?
    The speedy Theo Walcott? ...or The Ox?

c) Can the GUNNERS keep their 11 the entire game? Arteta is walking a thin line and could a fall off in endurance by his TEAMmates - Hey...the entire set of out fielders, save Mertesacker, who recognizing the fact of opposition pace facing him from every point has virtually sat in 'keeper Wojciech Szczesny's front pocket - result in a tired rash tackle and a sending off?

d) Or will my GUNNERS move the ball (release passes) even faster and thus negate Dortmund's advantage on pace?

e) Will Dortmund's pace fall off (fat chance?) and the pace of the match therefore then becomes more comfortable for my GUNNERS?

The good news - Score 0 - 0!
    Last edited by Karl; November 6, 2013, 04:41 PM.

2 more gilt-edged chances to Dortmund...built

with superior pace.
    It is only 53rd minute.

GUNNERS push defensive line higher - Playing "The Off-Side Trap".

Bwoy...Giroud slow bad!
      ...his lack of pace is causing him to lose the ball a lot...and prevents him from catching up with what could be excellent attacking balls

Our TEAM defense is doing great!

GOAL! GUNNERS goal! Ramsey! Ramsey! Ramsey!
      TEAM goal all the way!!!
      Our first shot on goal?

I cannot remember another.

...but let us be real - Dortmund has had about 6 good look-ins. Gods on our side? Hope so (Where is the fingers crossed emoticon)

Damn? We could have had 2! (Ramsey!)

Minute 67!
        Pace of game has dropped!
        ...now if our endurance stays up we could.... (fingers crossed)

72 minute GUNNERS going for it. Dortmund appear stunned...

...and amazingly slowed...tired.

75 minute - Dortmund goes for fresh foot...and Wenger goes

for freshness and 'steel'/defensive strengthen.

80 minute - Could have been an Arsenal Penalty.

Appears to me that the Dortmund 'keeper never attempted to play the ball but ran through Laurent Koscielny

90 minute - bendtner for the GUNNERS.

Giroud off!

Giroud had assist on Ramsey's goal. Held off his man and headed to Ramsey!!!

90 minute - bendtner for the GUNNERS.

Giroud off!

Giroud had assist on Ramsey's goal. Held off his man and headed to Ramsey!!!

This was a very, very, very, very....interesting match!

Mission accomplished against one of Europe's very best of TEAM's!!!!
                    ...in their backyard.

Great win!!!
                    Outplayed for 50 -60 minutes.
                    Fought from 1st whistle...through to very end.
                    ...came back exceedingly strong in the last 15 minutes.

Showed excellent TEAM (...particular TEAM spirit=right attitude) and strong character!!!!
                    Go GUNNERS!
                    FORWARD!

Karl can i jump on your personal thread? BFG a di wickedest centre half memba mi tell you, the man is a proper leader top top class.

Sigh

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                          Karl can i jump on your personal thread? BFG a di wickedest centre half memba mi tell you, the man is a proper leader top top class.
                          Dunny, today I have not a minus to say - (Tomorrow? Maybe!) He is absolutely brilliant at what he does! ...on one occasion he stuck out a foot at a very crucial time and swept the ball to (Arteta?) a teammate. We were on the back foot and Dortmund was bearing down... Couple headers were also vital.

Right up there with my 'most enjoyable of matches'!!!
                            Suspense! Drama! Courage! TEAM! ...good game! Victory!
                            One of those matches after which the spectators physically feel as if played in!!!

I ran with my boys. Made tackles. Covered... screamed for passes... You name it I was emotionally and physically involved.

Cannot watch it again too soon. Perhaps next Monday.

Haha funny stuff, almost feel as if I was there after reading your posts.