Creating more channels

• Creating more channels

On the subject of development, I know some of us forumites don’t even comment much on it because some of us have seen the opportunities come and go while some people talk for argument sake. Opportunities go a begging. In my opinion, if we want to develop our young players in the short term we have to get them in decent program and give them chance to execute their skills on a weekly basis while learning more about the game and what is demanded of them.

Take a look at college soccer as an example. Most of the recruits in colleges are not our very best youth players. Some maybe ranked aspretty good players but most haven’t been leading their groups. I can remember a few years after some decent transfer out of Jamaica; many of the Jamaican clubs didn’t even want their players talking to any colleges. Now look at the results of these college players from Omar Cummings, Damani Ralph, Obrien white, Dane Richards, Ryan Thompson, Khari Stephenson Daren Mattocks and Deshorn Brown amongst others who have been able to develop in good players in 2-4 years in college. I use this as a measuring stick to say if we get our best players in good programs we can get good results.

I know a few of my fellow forumites from time to time help by getting and giving info to a coach or two, do some background check. This however I find very frustrating as in most cases the players may have a few O Level and no SAT scores, No video or very poor video, No paper clipping or write up by local newspaper and if you even call the coach, club or school, onlything you hear is “yeah man the youth can play ball, and mi have too more too” and if you ask about SAT score if they know what it is they tell you “him just went in and took it and never study for it”.Granted there are few other options to get players but if prepared it is easier to get them into a good program. This end up been futile, because unless acoach thinks you are a super player he is not going take his scholarship money and wait for two years. I know others must find it frustrating because you are trying to help and if the schools, Minister of Education, ISSA, Some Old Boys association and others take this serious we can double the about of players coming to college in as short as two years.

I remember when my friend took Birmingham City Team toJamaica and try to get something going and try to get youngsters up on cultural exchange. He was pointed in insport and as a man who was involved in politicsand knew many of his peers, he told me he was surprised how they never followed up. I cringed and keep my mouth shut when I saw the some English agent came to Jamaica and took a kid who said his goal was to go to college and play soccer and took him to a big English club that he had no chance to make since he had no cap, and is not a citizen of Britain and another going for a trail, withoutbeen properly advised and then trying to get into college. The least we can do is educate the youths and let them make sensible decision because that English club move was unwise as he had no chance at 19 year old to get a work permit.

A few years ago two College coaches told me they were takinga vacation, my hometown friend told me he had a few players who would be college ready in a few years. I asked that a game be organized for these coaches and arrange for them to be treated well. Only after making the trip tomy hometown, the kids were there but the field wasn’t marked. Can you imagine how embarrassed I felt? I could explain just about anything else but not thatone.

I am not advocating our best players go to college but whatI am saying some Division 1 American college has developed a good amount ofsecond tier players and also showed us what can be done with our players in the right environment. If we are not prepared our talent will die. If we can’t dothe little thing to develop ourselves and force others to take note we will getnowhere. It makes it very hard for people who want to help. Now if someone callsme and tells me about their kid and getting them in college if they don’t havewhat is desired I may as well hang up my phone. It is a different world and ifwe want to achieve more we have to use modern technique and plan how we are going to achieve this, improve on this as time goes along and show people weare serious, not wishing and hoping and this goes for other areas of development in Jamaica as well. I know some people may feel the same way but want to keep it inside but sorry it gets tiresome.
    Last edited by Assasin; November 5, 2013, 01:06 AM.

Talk di tings, Sass!

excellent points Mr Sass. Preparing kids for US colleges has been done for years in T&F. it can be done for football on a bigger scale. time to start showing more respect to American football (soccer)
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

A you finally broke the camel's back. When you said you didn't understand what I was trying to say about our football development a few days ago and I said I couldn't explain properly in a few words.

US colleges is one option that should always be there, but getting some to Europe is the other option that we need to improve upon.

We should be using all the options. Places like Austrailia, and Japan can Japan can also be looked at as an option for some too.

But if we continue to "wing it" it is not possible.

Maybe TSA and Butler can team up. I see that him bring down Ajax.

A Japanese club was interested in Jorginho James from H. View, but it sounds like things went very messy. Not sure what level fallout it would have and if it goes beyond that one club.

Maybe...

Going to a US college is a welcome option that many take advantage of currently... no doubt that process can be improved

However as track has shown us... it's FAR more important & sustainable to have organic, structured development at home. After that players will have FAR more options, including possibly going to college or pro club abroad... or staying at home and improving the local quality of play in your favored NPL

Structured local development is JOB #1... ALL else is secondary

NPL will not be on standard with the MLS, Japan or any decent league in the next 10 years. Any real talented 20 year Jamaican player shouldn't be playing NPL at this point. Yes we need a lot more development at home but we there is a lot more needs to be done.

Maybe 3 or 4 teams in NPL is structured to develop any talent in a decent way. If Belgium, France, Brazil, and others currently develop players and ssend they abroad, who are we?

=Assasin;452696]NPL will not be on standard with the MLS, Japan or any decent league in the next 10 years. Any real talented 20 year Jamaican player shouldn't be playing NPL at this point. Yes we need a lot more development at home but we there is a lot more needs to be done.
                        Local development is THE KEY MISSION.... PERIOD

After that players may go where the market and their wishes dictate... whether abroad or at home. It is not for any 3rd party to determine where players choose to play

Maybe 3 or 4 teams in NPL is structured to develop any talent in a decent way. If Belgium, France, Brazil, and others currently develop players and ssend they abroad, who are we?
                        We are Jamaica

Take care of the development business at home FIRST and the benefits will manifest

Local development is THE KEY MISSION.... PERIOD

After that players may go where the market and their wishes dictate... whether abroad or at home. It is not for any 3rd party to determine where players choose to play
                          3rd party...like agents?!

Where have we not said development at home is key. The fact is we have the capacity to develop youth players but we have no environment to develop 17 year olds and older to their full potential in Jamaica.

A 17/18 year old, NPL might be a challenge for real talented ones playing NPL at 20 is a waste.

Our biggest challenge is to develop the youths. When a player like "Tuffy" wasted about 14 years in NPL and all people do is talk how "him a nuh international baller". He couldn't even make a squad of all NPL players in about 10 years. At 34 him a try out for MLS team(what a waste). He was no worst than Dane Richards or the US striker Cunningham. Give the same chance as Mattocks and he may have been a top MLS striker or in Europe by now.

"Take care of the development business at home FIRST and the benefits will manifest "

you just a talk right? How can you have development and have no video, no player bio or at least a scrap book??? How can you take development serious and you don't educate your players about the game and movement etc?

Gwaan Joke yourself

=Assasin;452700]Where have we not said development at home is key. The fact is we have the capacity to develop youth players but we have no environment to develop 17 year olds and older to their full potential in Jamaica.

A 17/18 year old, NPL might be a challenge for real talented ones playing NPL at 20 is a waste.
                              If that is the case the NPL/RSPL needs to be improved with more investment... including more quality players

If players choose to go abroad or stay home that is their right

Our biggest challenge is to develop the youths. When a player like "Tuffy" wasted about 14 years in NPL and all people do is talk how "him a nuh international baller". He couldn't even make a squad of all NPL players in about 10 years. At 34 him a try out for MLS team(what a waste). He was no worst than Dane Richards or the US striker Cunningham. Give the same chance as Mattocks and he may have been a top MLS striker or in Europe by now.
                              Take care of the development business at home FIRST and the benefits will manifest

you just a talk right? How can you have development and have no video, no player bio or at least a scrap book??? How can you take development serious and you don't educate your players about the game and movement etc?

Gwaan Joke yourself[
                              We're ALL just talking. What are you doing... yappin'???

FYI those things you mention are all part of the development process... nothing groundbreaking there

Mi dun outline how we can both get technical assistance from abroad using our sporting leverage...and how we can EASILY establish a youth development system using all stakeholders

Mi nuh juss inna di yappin sitten